We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing Day”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Random Wind

Random Wind
Book In Advance
More Info
$108.99*
and up
Small-Group Day Sail in St Maarten
Ranked #5 of 39 Tours in Simpson Bay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The best day for sure. Sailing on a comfortable, fully cushioned sailboat, snorkeling, mud bath, stand up paddle board, great lunch cooked in the ship's galley, fishing off the stern and best of all - the famous, all ages Tarzan Swing! You will be well looked after by your experienced crew! All included in price - no hidden costs. Photos of your day are FREE online! Free tshirts also for honeymooners and others - just ask how you can get a free tshirt.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
CA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Relaxing Day”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

If you want to have a relaxing day in a beautiful area and have owner Diane tend to all of your food and beverage needs, this is the trip to go on. The boat is a beautiful 54' sailboat with room to spread out. Diane is truly an excellent host and will do whatever she can to make your journey enjoyable. We were tight for time at the end of the day so she offered to pick us up at a different location from the normal meeting place to save us time getting back to our hotel at the end of the day. However we were disappointed with a couple of items. The snorkeling is weak at best. They only cruise along the Simpson Bay coast and the captain admitted there are rarely any fish to see. Also there were a few younger adults who were never taught the concept of manners and sharing. They refused to move from the more comfortable chaise lounges on the boat. I felt either Diane or the captain should have made an effort to move people around so others could put their feet up or be in the shade.
The Tarzan swing was certainly fun for many on board and provided some entertainment for others just wanting to watch, including special entertainment by Diane and the captain.
Overall an enjoyable day worth the money, especially for those that drink.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank msf007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    663
    43
    10
    7
    9
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“GREAT TRIP AAAA++++”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

This is the second time we have booked a trip on the Random Wind. Di and Trevor are excellent hosts. The original date was cancelled due to weather ( I would rather be safe than sorry) and Di made sure we got out on the next available charter. I would highly recommend this operation to anyone. Just a great overall experience, there are not enough superlatives to descibe the fun!!! Al and Robin

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank al m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Half Moon Bay, California
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Diane and Captain Gorgeous are the best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

Just got back from our trip and wanted to say thank you to Diane and Trevor for making our excursion one of the best and memorable ones our family has done. They are both great and very attentive to our needs. We had 5 kids ranging from 3-10 yrs old and adults from 26-64 adn everyone had a blast and a turn on the tarzan swing. Highly recommend this as an excursion and will definitely be back next time.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Bettina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millis, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lots of fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

Random Wind was the first activity we booked for our week in St. Maarten and we were so glad we did. Everyone had a great time on the boat--the kids especially loved the Tarzan swing and we loved Diane's cooking! Diane runs a classy operation that's relaxed, professional and a lot of fun. She's very attentive to her passengers and makes a point to getting to know everyone on the boat. She makes it easy to do business with her and I'd recommend booking a trip on Random Wind to anyone going to St. Maarten--it's no hassles and lots of fun!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank JSurely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The Perfect Way to Find the Hidden Beaches”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

We have made a day of chartering Random Wind on one day of our vacation for the past four years. Trevor and Di are incredibly welcoming hosts.

We did the private full day charter - and it's a great way to spend the day - snorkeling, fishing, sailing and floating around deserted beaches.

What we like about Random Wind is that it isn't a typical booze/party cruise - alcohol is readily available, but the focus is on the experience.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Vehorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Random Wind also viewed

Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 

Been to Random Wind? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing