We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We won't be going back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Flamboyant Hotel and Resort
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Baie Nettle
NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We won't be going back”
Reviewed January 4, 2010

We stayed in a clean 2 story 2 bedroom suite .with a lagoon view. 3rd story - no elevators. The balcony was private and huge. There were no complaints about the maid service.

They allow pets, and have no pooper scooper rules, so you must watch your step on the beach.

We definitely prefer the water and sand on the ocean, and never went in the lagoon other than on a jetski. The one pool we used was nice, and the other also looked nice.

The food: Nothing to write home about. Although 2 restaurants are advertised; only 1 is open at a time, and the food selection was limited. Breakfast was only available 7-10am at 1 restaurant. The breakfast buffet hot food was lukewarm; we never had lunch there; the dinners were bland, although some of the salad type food was interesting. We more enjoyed going to the local store and bringing wine, cheese, french bread and desserts back to our suite. Some of the restaurant staff was friendly - others aloof.

Entertainment: none to speak of other than 1-2 singers during dinner.

Activities: Can rent jet skis, and there are free paddle boats, kayaks, snorkel equipment. They offer assistance in planning excursions. There are no real resort planned activities. There WAS a ping pong table and a volleyball net on the beach.

Although US cable was advertised, there was only 1 English news channel - everything else was in French.

The only internet available was in the open air lobby, and you had to wait in line at the front desk for them to manually enter the password. This was a 2-3 block walk from our room.

Service was slow at the front desk and staff was a bit reserved.

The closest town was Sandy Ground, and it is depressing and run down looking, so we didn't bother to try to shop or eat there.

We ARE going back to St Martin next year, but not to the Flamboyant.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NotMartha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    104
    66
    37
    35
See reviews for
60
119
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2009

As many do, let me start by saying my standards are not that high, and having stayed at the Mercure next door previously I was not looking for 4 or 5 star amenities. The hotel is clean, basic, and a great location for exploring the beaches of St. Martin. The service, it can only be described as bad, just plain bad. The front desk staff need to be in another business, they are rude, rude, rude. It is though they got the short end of the job stick and let you know it EVERY time you approach the front desk. The manager does lie about room availability, as other posters have commented. The room we were assigned was clean but as far as one could get from the main areas and over looking the garbage dumpsters. We asked to look at another room that didn't have these drawbacks, the resort was full was the answer, but we could look at an upgraded room for 250 euros, they never have open rooms but can ALWAYS upgrade you for a hefty fee. We took the upgrade at a slightly negocited rate and the room and location was great. Cleaning staff very friendly and did a great job every day.

Bar staff - The guys did a great job, busy and friendly. The 2 woman they often had working, one from the dining area and the large, tall woman were among the worst service industry people I have ever seen, they really did put a damper on an otherwise excellent vacation. You can stand at the bar during happy hour or meal service for 20-30 minutes and they ignore you, often cutting up fruit to look busy. They are the slowest bar staff I have ever seen, and only after asking a Manager for help (which he had to get the drinks himself as she was a handful to him as well). Again, the guys at the bar were friendly and knew how to move drinks when things got busy.

Breakfast - OK. Same each day but fresh and lots to eat. Often tables were not cleaned until 10 when service was done, so you had to clean your own table for one with a water view or sit near the food tables.

Did not eat lunch or dinner here. The local places in Marigot or Maho were good, maybe a little pricy. Seems the hayday for 'great' food might have passed in St. Martin.

Shopping - Seems the vendors do not want your business as much as even last year. Very much an "I don't care" attitude. Used a few cameras and watches as a benchmark and NA pricing was much much cheaper. My guess is with so many cruise passengers they can wait for a higher margin sale to someone who does't know it's $100 cheaper in the US.

Beaches - Fanatastic.

Best Option - try for the Mercure next door. Can't see how there is a 1 star difference between the 2 properties and the staff there was great last year, although a little rushed all the time. Food was excellent as well and for the price, it would be a no brainer.

Would not stay at Le Flamboyant again unless it was a selloff and would not take the all inclusive option. For what they charge you can eat very well almost any where in Marigot and the qulaity is superior.

St. Martin is a great place, Le Flamboyant, due largely to ignorant staff, is not.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Looking4Sunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Baie Nettle hotels

Bayfield, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2009

We spent five nights at Le Flamboyant. They upgraded us to a poolside room, which was clean and spacious. The breakfast was good and it was served in a nice area with a view of the beach. We enjoyed the bar in the evenings, especially the live music two nights. Nearby we ate lunch at two great beach bars: Layla's and Ma Ti - beautiful ambiance and wonderful food.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sallyandbillh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fourlegsspencer
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 8, 2009

We have stayed at Le Flamboyant four times now for many different reasons.I have read a lot of the reviews and a lot of them are true,it depends what you want from your vacation.We like the location,it's nice early in the morning and at night looking over the lagoon.The rooms are clean and basic.We go out every day to a different beach and at night we like to try a new resturant.I think Le Flamboyant is a resort and not a hotel.If you are looking for a hotel to look after your every need this is not the place for you.But if you are out and about the island every day and want a clean safe place to sleep maybe have a drink at the pool bar this place works.The room rate is very good compared to other hotels on the island.
The resort could do with a coat of paint and fix some of the lounge chairs at pool side ect ect The staff can at time seem a little cold,but remember your in a different country and a different culture,so this would not put us off at all.
So to finish up this is not a bad place by any standards you get what you pay for,but if you want the best service and world class food my advise is book some where else, but you will pay a lot more money.I do agree that if you have not been to St Maarten before the star rating may make you think you are going to arrive at a more up class of hotel.But after been on the island you see the rating is right for the area.We have stayed on the Dutch side the French side is so much better.Rent a car at the airport it's worth it and they are cheap.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fourlegsspencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2009

Stayed here for 3 nights. Quiet location with nice beach. Staff very friendly, clean rooms but not the type of rooms where you want to spend more time than necessary (garden view room). Breakfast is excellent, lunch and dinner ok. I recommend hiring a water scooter and drive around some of the island with a guide. Awesome! Bar serves good drinks. Hotel is good if you are a family with kids.

  • Stayed March 2007
    • Value
Helpful?
Thank db05292014i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed February 1, 2009

Our main purpose for staying here was that it was within a reasonable distance to where my brother lives on the island.

We found the room very spacious and well appointed. The breakfast had plenty of choice and it was very pleasant to sit with a view of the bay.

The Hotel is situated directly on the lagoon beach and had its own jetty which made it easy for my brother to pick us up in his boat. The hotel staff were very pleasant and friendly, the main nationality in the hotel seemed to be French, but with our pigeon French we managed to have the odd conversation. The beach was very quiet when we were there and there was always plenty of free beds either on the beach or by the pretty pool

We ate at the hotel most nights because there were not many places near by to go to, the food was OK, but a bit "samey". There is a super place to eat about half a mile away called MaTi restaurant, its set right on the beach and the food is excellent.

Our main problem with the hotel was that it was too far to walk to anywhere, so we ended up feeling stranded in the hotel with the only entertainment being a very strange singer. We did taxi into Marigot one evening, but couldnt seem to find anywhere open after about 10pm!

We stayed for a week here and then moved to Barbados which is a lot livelier. We enjoyed our stay because we spent time with family and days out at some of the lovliest beaches I have ever been to, but if you are looking for lively evenings, this isnt the place.

  • Liked — Beachfront location
  • Disliked — Too far out from main town
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank GirlieshirlUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 14, 2009

We have been going to St. Marrten for over 20 years. Have always stayed at the La Flamboyant. FRIENDLY STAFF and relaxed atmosphere. Close to everything. a great place to get out of the cold winter weather for a week or two.

  • Liked — Staff
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RalphJackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baie Nettle
0.1 mi away
Mercure Saint-Martin Marina & Spa
5.1 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
1,783 reviews
1.4 mi away
Le Beach Hotel
Le Beach Hotel
#1 of 7 in Marigot
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
1.5 mi away
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
4.5 mi away
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Flamboyant Hotel and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Flamboyant Hotel and Resort

Property: Le Flamboyant Hotel and Resort
Address: Route des Terres Basses, Baie Nettle 97150, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Location: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Saint-Martin > Baie Nettle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Baie Nettle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Flamboyant Hotel and Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three-story Beachfront Hotel set on Simson Bay, 5 miles from Juliana Int'l Airport, St. Maarten. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Flamboyant Hotel and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Flamboyant Hotel Baie Nettle
Le Flamboyant Resort All Inclusive
Le Flamboyant Hotel And Resort St. Maarten-St. Martin/Baie Nettle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing