We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and basic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Le Flamboyant Hotel and Resort
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Baie Nettle
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Stayed at Le Flamboyant for one night before catching a flight. There is no reception desk but rather a room behind a frosted glass door where you check in...very odd. The room was basic but very large and had an outdoor kitchen. The hotel is not on the sea side but overlooks the lagoon. It had a nice beach and two pools that were quite well maintained. This hotel is nothing fancy and some units are nicer than others...due to owner-operated format. There are shops within walking distance but I would recommend getting a car.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cdnhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (283)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 283 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

On my first trip to St. Martin, I stayed at the Le Flamboyant Hotel in Nettle Bay courtesy of Salome L.

The efficiency unit was ground floor and comfortable. It was clean with basic modern appliances and a/c. The owner, Salome L., was very gracious in accommodating every need that was requested.

The resort itself is not very fancy nor upscale. If you're looking for a resort with pampering accommodations, Le Flamboyant is not for you. But if you're looking for basic lodging to use as a platform for your adventurous vacation, for the money, this is the place to be.

A car is a definite necessity in St. Martin. There is an abundance of beautiful beaches and small villages to see. My favorite beach is Friars Bay Beach (the Roots Beach Cafe is the best). Calm, serene waters with a wide beach front.
Grand Case has a little taste of New Orleans. If you catch it on the right night, it proves to be very eclectic.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
5  Thank derrickanthony1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

The website makes it look way better than reality
they have not had a fitness center for 5 years
the Food and Beverage facility is a snack bar at the beach ...very basic and dirty
the grounds are in bad shape
the staff is rude and don't care
there is only WiFi in the lobby; not rooms or in restaurant / bar as advertised
stay away ....RUN !!!
the value is very poor ; there are many more options that are better...
service is not even in their vocabulary so don't expect anything ....
would never go back

Room Tip: don't go ....so somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank andy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

The room was nothing fancy at all, clean, comfortable. The island itself was so so bumper to bumper traffic, the Hotel was not easy to find, we had to ask for directions. Nice little bakery at the corner. Limited activities.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ladydi456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Had read some very critical reviews, but made reservation anyway. For the price it is a great deal. We truly enjoyed ourselves. Yes it is a little dated, but it was clean and everything was in working order. The location is great and the beach/pool area was quite nice. Had a minor problem with the power in the room, but when I reported it they took care of it right away. We had a view of Nettle bay - we were on the top floor. Language was not a problem. It is centrally located, close to Marigot and the airport. We were happy with our choice and plan on retuning.

Room Tip: Top floor in any of the units is best. No elevator though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vabucki1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

We did not have much expectations. We read all those negative reviews here and thought this is going to be something bad. Never the less the rate was so attractive that we decided to book this hotel and in the worst case we will spend our days on the beach and stay in the hotel the minimum possible. Was it really bad??? The contrary!!! This is a nice property at a very competitive rate. We stayed in a one bedroom apartment overlooking the lagoon. The apartment was spacious with a nice bedroom and a living room the best thing was the balcony with a kitchenette wall, this is the most convenient solution we have ever seen.... we could use the fridge, make tea, etc.... simply great. Instead of running to the reception or the restaurant for free wifi, we purchased the wifi for the entire stay and it did work without any problem. I know that not speaking French in this resort could be a problem, but we are from Europe and we do speak some French, so we did not experience any problem at the reception or during the stay. Would reccommend this hotel to anyone who is seeking an affordable, but good accommodation in St Martin.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank vizslabp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

It’s a big resort with 2 swimming pools, tennis courts, boat rentals, restaurant and bar, car rental and many other things. They have a beautiful beach which we really enjoyed, it’s good for sunbathing and water sports, but unfortunately has very poor swimming conditions due to its depth and the amount of seaweed. We loved our room, it was big, comfortable and nicely decorated, and the most outstanding part of it was the kitchen, located outside on the balcony. Marigot is less then 10 min to drive and a very good French supermarket is on your way there. We enjoyed eating cheese platters, different kinds of pate, French baguette and wine while we were relaxing on the balcony. All international alcoholic drinks are not expensive at the store. Famous Maho Bay is 20 min to drive and many other great sandy beaches are around. This resort is a good, safe and not expensive choice for exploring an island.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Volynskaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baie Nettle
0.2 mi away
Mercure Saint-Martin Marina & Spa
1.4 mi away
Le Beach Hotel
Le Beach Hotel
#1 of 7 in Marigot
523 reviews
5.1 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#2 of 8 in Grand Case
1,816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
4.5 mi away
LOVE
LOVE
#4 of 8 in Grand Case
302 reviews
4.5 mi away
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Flamboyant Hotel and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Flamboyant Hotel and Resort

Address: Route des Terres Basses, Baie Nettle 97150, St Martin / St Maarten
Location: Caribbean > St Martin / St Maarten > Saint-Martin > Baie Nettle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Baie Nettle
Price Range: $116 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Flamboyant Hotel and Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three-story Beachfront Hotel set on Simson Bay, 5 miles from Juliana Int'l Airport, St. Maarten. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Flamboyant Hotel and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Flamboyant Hotel Baie Nettle
Le Flamboyant Resort All Inclusive
Le Flamboyant Hotel And Resort St Martin / St Maarten/Baie Nettle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing