We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Le Flamboyant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Le Flamboyant Hotel and Resort
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Baie Nettle
Reviewed December 7, 2007

We have been to the Le Flamboyant 6 times for up to 3 weeks and have never been disappointed.
Everyday is a Happy day at Le Flamboyant. When you enter the open air lobby with it's friendly staff, you begin to feel that wonderful process of "unwinding". The clean rooms with their outdoor kitchenette is perfect for preparing a light meal or snack or just enjoying the view.The gentle balmy air invites you to leave your worries behind, which happens quite easily in this place.
It is centrally located to points of interest such as their famous French cuisine and breathtaking beaches. Waking up each morning to the quietness of Baie Nettle and the palm trees by the pool emphasises the beauty in simplicity. Aren't we all looking to return to a more simple way of living where the beauty of nature is embraced! Come and taste and restore yourselves at Le Flamboyant.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TheGeehans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (284)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 284 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2007

I traveled with my boyfriend for his birthday in April. We were given an upgraded room bythe travel agent. The room set-up was odd and located in the back of the hotel. The entrance to the bedroom was through a door cut off from the rest of the living quarters. We asked to see another type of room and selected a lower priced room with a better layout close to the front of the hotel. The happy hour was the best and everyone is so friendly. Claude and the other front desk staff is so helpful. They called a driver for us every night that went to the Dutch side. The front desk are very good guide to tell you where to go and how to get around. The beach barbcue was wonderful and the lobster dinner is good. Everyone speaks some english and french at the hotel.

When I go back I will stay on the Dutch side since the dollar exchange is really low compared to the Euro. The take American $ on the dutch side and the value does not decrease.

The bad: The rooms are very basic and the electricity went out a few times. The beds are really low to the ground. Me and my boyfreind got sick the last 2 days but we think it was from the ice from a restaurant on the Dutch side. The cabs charge a different rate everytime..no standard rate/fee. If you expect a 3 1/2 star this is more like a 2 star.

Ask for Claude when you go and he will make sure you have a good time.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank dj_5952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2007

My husband and I have had the pleasure of staying at La Flamboyant the past two years. We are looking forward to our next visit. The staff is professional and friendly. The rooms are spacious
and clean. We spend a lot of time on the balcony enjoying the view. The grounds are well maintained. It's easy to find a couple of chairs in a quiet location to take in the view of the lagoon. Don't miss the pool bar at happy hour to listen to music go for a swim and enjoy a drink or two. The staff will make it a lot of fun. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank bea1NewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2007

My husband and I have been going to Saint Martin every year for 2 weeks since 1981. With the exception of the first 2 years staying at Mullet Bay we have since preferred the quietness of the French side of the Island. For the past 5 years we have found the Le Flamboyant to be our hotel of choice. After having the opportunity to experience a variety of hotels on the French side the La Flamboyant has all the offerings to suite our needs.

The Hotel is located in the Nettle Bay area which is quite and very convenient being only a short drive from Marigot. The rooms are spacious and nicely appointed with a Caribbean flare. The over all décor is bright and upbeat in it’s’ color schemes. I found the rooms to have good lighting and well stocked bath amenities. I especially like the fact that there is a safe in each room. There is an outside patio offers not only a lovely sitting area over looking the bay but also has a functional kitchen the nicely serves our needs.

There are 2 large pool areas on the grounds (we usually stay by the quite pool) each one of them maintained beautifully. The pool is always sparkling clean and the lounge areas around each of the pools always have an ample number of lounge chairs to accommodate the patrons. There is never a need to worry about getting a lounge chair. The second pool is livelier since it is situated directly next to the pool side bar and one of the restaurants.

The grounds are well maintained kept very clean. I’m an early bird even while on vacation - so every morning as I am walking the beach I see the hotel staffers comb the beach area keeping it free of any debris.

The house keeping staff is meticulous in maintaining the rooms as well as diligently making sure the rooms is supplied daily with more then ample clean towels and amenities. I like the fact that even though there are only 2 of us in the rooms they always provide an additional set of bath towels. I also appreciate the fact that after spending our mornings at a near by beach it’s nice to walk into the room (many times before noon time) and the room already be cleaned.

The reception area has an inviting feel to it - with its open air layout and marbled floor. The teak furnishings and lush surrounding plantation provide the backdrop for an efficient welcoming and gathering area. The front desk staff could not be more accommodating. They are friendly; always address any needs that we may have - including making restaurant recommendations and reservations. It’s really nice to return each year and not only have the staff remembered you by name – but seeing the same staff year after year.

The property has 2 restaurants each proving sustenance and social focus. We mostly frequent the Pavilion restaurant since we always take advantage of the buffet breakfast. The breakfast offers a wide variety of choices both hot and cold. My husband especially likes the fact that there is a chef available to cook eggs “His way”…. The pools side restaurant has a nice menu with a variety of choices – I especially like that it offers a “lighter side” option. The food is well prepared and the staff is extremely efficient and prompt.

Every year we look forward to our trip to St. Martin and the Le Flamboyant has now become our home away from home.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Leelucio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2007

DATE 07/20/2007

My wife and I just returned from another wonderful stay at the Le Flamboyant hotel.
Located on the French side of the beatuiful caribbean island of St. Martin.

Our contact at the hotel is Emmanuelle.
[--]

We have stayed at the Le Flamboyant many times in the last [5] years.

The staff are very helpful and english speaking.

The beach is very nice with plenty of chairs, umbrellas even
water sports. It is located on the lagoon. The pool is very large
and clean and located near the beach.

There is plenty of parking, rental vehicles are avaliable as are
day trips.

The hotel is located very close to Marigot and not far from Grand Case. Which are the two main French cities on the island.

The hotel really gives you the feel of Europe and the caribbean at the same time.

We have traveled all over the caribbean and Mexico. This hotel
really gives you fantastic service in a great location for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank POLLYSXM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2007

My last stay at this hotel was perfect. Their attention to our requests was overwhelming. The hotel is well maintained and at each visit has been a pleasure. Nice people, very enjoyable environment.

I would recommend this hotel to all my friends without any hesitation.

Regards,
Aldo Bensadoun

Stayed: May 2007
Thank mseg31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2007

This was our eighth trip to St. Martin and our third stay at the Le Flamboyant resort. We stayed for 10 days from May 20 through May 30. We typically purchase our vacations as package deals (air and hotel) and Le Flamboyant is one of the more economical packages from our area to St. Martin. The resort provides a very good value for your money.

Amenities - The resort grounds contains two nice size pools, and a cold water Jacuzzi. The rooms are not extravagant, but the air conditioning worked fine, and the water pressure and temperature were excellent in our shower. The king size bed was comfortable. There is an outside kitchenette including a range and refrigerator that we did not use. The cable TV included only one English speaking channel and that was a European News channel.

The best thing we like about Le Flamboyant is its location. You have four beaches within a 10 minute drive (Plum, Baie Rouge, Long Bay, and Mullet) Mullet Bay is one of our favorites and includes two excellent local beach grills. You have easy access to the fine and economical restaurants of Simpson Bay (Peglegs is number one on our list). Or if you prefer French restaurants, Marigot is less than a five minute drive from the resort. While traffic is typically heavy on the main road of the island, the location of Le Flamboyant allows you access to all of these attractions via Terres Basses which does not have the traffic jams that can plague the main road.

Dislikes - The resort is located not on the Caribbean Sea but on Simpson Lagoon. The beach sand is hard pack and the water is weedy. I have never seen anyone in the water on our three stays at the resort.

I recommend the resort if you looking for a low frill resort which you plan to use as a home base to explore the island.. You will need to rent a car to enjoy all of the beaches and restaurants that the island has to offer.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DePere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baie Nettle
0.2 mi away
Mercure Saint-Martin Marina & Spa
1.5 mi away
Mary's Boon Beach Hotel and Spa
2.4 mi away
The Villas at Simpson Bay Beach Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#2 of 8 in Grand Case
1,822 reviews
1.6 mi away
Azure Hotel & Art Studio
Azure Hotel & Art Studio
#1 of 7 in Simpson Bay
410 reviews
4.5 mi away
LOVE
LOVE
#4 of 8 in Grand Case
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Flamboyant Hotel and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Flamboyant Hotel and Resort

Address: Route des Terres Basses, Baie Nettle 97150, St Martin / St Maarten
Location: Caribbean > St Martin / St Maarten > Saint-Martin > Baie Nettle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Baie Nettle
Price Range: $150 - $430 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Flamboyant Hotel and Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three-story Beachfront Hotel set on Simson Bay, 5 miles from Juliana Int'l Airport, St. Maarten. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Le Flamboyant Hotel and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Flamboyant Hotel Baie Nettle
Le Flamboyant Resort All Inclusive
Le Flamboyant Hotel And Resort St Martin / St Maarten/Baie Nettle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing