We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Sunday”

La Cigale Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 10 Restaurants in Baie Nettle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $35 - $100
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: For the last 17 years, owner Stephane has welcomed you to the palm groves of the lagoon at Nettle Bay where, watching the sunset over the lagoon, you can enjoy the gastronomic, gourmet cuisine in an idyllic setting. Chef Malory Leroux offers daily specials sourced from the market's daily offerings, without forgetting the signature dishes: foie gras in truffle oil, lobster raviolis, Wild French sera bass. Mathieu Maini, the pastry chef, is constantly searching for new creations, such as the already famous strawberry macaroon. La Cigale brings a touch of delicacy which rounds off your meal with finesse. The wine menu, without doubt one of the richest on the island, will undoubtedly seduce you. If reservations are encouraged, it is because this corner of paradise, very busy during the season, is the ideal spot for a romantic dinner. (gift certificate - honey moon - weddings - Private Diner)
Reviewed July 22, 2018 via mobile

One of the best services we have experienced in a long time. Highly professional and friendly staff . You could see and taste that the chef had very high ambitions. Service and food like in a Michelin star restaurant.
We cannot wait until the next time we have the chance to return.
Thanks for making our day into something special!

Date of visit: July 2018
3  Thank Micael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (555)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 555 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2017 via mobile

Had dinner and speaking with one of the owners was very open about provenance of food , no lying about it being local , he told us that they received fish 3 times a week from Paris in fact they had mussels from New Zealand (delicious)and on menu it was clearly stated unlike other places.very interesting menu, good service and very tasty

Date of visit: August 2017
3  Thank everhopeful2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Cigale s, Directeur général at La Cigale Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2017

Thank you very much for your kind review, we were happy to host you at la cigale. We hope to see you next time,

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2017 via mobile

Cutest waitstaff... yummy food, great service and absolutely beautiful, quaint atmosphere. Would love to go again!

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank takemiaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Cigale s, Directeur général at La Cigale Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2017

Thank you so much for your lovely review. It's important for us to have also the great feeling and not only the bad one.

We were very happy to host you, say hello to Charleston!

You can follow us on instagram!
Kind regards
La cigale team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2017

Booked this restaurant for our last night in St Martin 8/8/17 - was highly rated AND recommended by friends that had visited previously. Saw the 8/6 review stating they ordered room service after their visit and became nervous. The setting is nice and the meals looked fantastic when served. I had the sea bass and I would rate below average. My wife had the lobster and it was by far the worst lobster we had on the trip. It was difficult to cut with a knife. This was our only negative meal on our visit. I do believe something has changed as La Cigale has great reviews AND it was highly recommended from friends who have visited previously. Hate to be negative....The wine was good :).

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank 387jasonc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Cigale s, Directeur général at La Cigale Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2017

Dear Jason, we are very sorry to read that you had a bad experience with us. We really don't understand this two very bad reviews on few days. We don't have this type of rate and complains during all the year with thousand customers who came to La Cigale?
So.... if something has changed, it could be also from the people who visit us... Something strange is happening.

It is the same chef since many years, with the same products, with the same service team, with the same owner.....

We will be most attentive to everything. We apologize again, regards.

La cigale team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2017 via mobile

The setting here is above compare tables right in the beach under canopies strung from palm trees with a view of the boats in the lagoon and distant lights as the sun sets. The food however was really average . My foie gras appetizer was surprisingly bland --foie gras floating in a foie gras emulsion--too one note no bright or citrus counterpoint. My wife's pork filet mignon tasted too much like sweet and sour pork, and my daughters stuffed chicken was really average. I also had to get up and pour my own champagne twice even though we were one of only 2 tables dining. When we returned to our hotel all 5 of us ordered room service--a true testament to the food here. I don't get all the 5 star ratings, I live in suburban Connecticut and I can get better French food at 3 or 4 places within a 10 minute drive.

Date of visit: July 2017
2  Thank Sak3md
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Cigale s, Directeur général at La Cigale Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2017

Dear Customers,

We are very sad to read that your experience with us wasnt as good as you expected. However, let me answer you about your food complains:

The foie gras is not "floating" as you mentioned. It's the first time that someone is not happy with this appetizer. it's just our chef signature since 18 years. We prepare a foie gras and truffle emulsion soup, with a piece of sired foie gras in, sauted on truffles. 99,99% of our customers said that is spectacular.

The Pork Mignon filet is SWEET AND SOUR, because the chef prepare this dish on this way, so it's just normal..... if it's sweet and sour!

The "Chicken" you mentionned is not a chicken but a Capon! Average?
We just receive fresh and entire capons 3 times per week from paris, Rungis market. It's the biggest market of fresh products in Europe, you can go to check by yourself in internet!

For sure, this high quality of tastes are not familiar to you. There are products of exceptions.... unfortunately for you, its impossible to compare with a crispy and delightful chicken wings from Mc donald.

You can just read the other comments, and you'll see that 99,99% of our customers really appreciate good and fresh food we prepare.

La Cigale Team


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cigale Restaurant also viewed

Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 
Maho, Sint Maarten
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 

Been to La Cigale Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing