We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 stars to Roger and Co. at Le Galion”

Le Galion Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 90 Restaurants in Marigot
Price range: $10 - $39
Cuisines: French, International
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“5 stars to Roger and Co. at Le Galion”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

If you are in St Martin, and especially if you're looking for a restaurant in Marigot, the answer is Le Galion.
The service is outstanding, the food is delicious, and the setting on the dock of the marina is superb.
My wife and I we're in Marigot for a week during our honeymoon and we had dinner here twice, and came by a different evening for a drink (Roger the server is also a mixologist and can make some excellent drinks).
First night we came, Roger was very friendly, funny, and accommodating. He explains the menu and specials very well and really sells you on what to eat. We had a fantastic dinner and made sure to come back!
The second time we came for diner we had some different items, and everything was delicious. The owner is very active in the restaurant, and between Roger, Attila the owner, and the rest of the crew they make a fun, comfortable, and delicious diner experience.

This is a perfect restaurant for a fancy lunch, a romantic dinner, or even just a relaxing drink.

I would say that the restaurant isn't cheap, but it's not over priced either. I think you should be prepared to spend some money, but it's very fair.

If it's not to crowded, or you make a reservation ask for a seat by the water. It's most relaxing there.

Again, we loved it, and a huge part of that was Roger, so big shout out to Roger. You we're one of the best characters of our honeymoon.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    225
    88
    20
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fresh seafood, great wine selection, excellent hospitality!”
Reviewed June 24, 2014

My husband and I spend our honeymoon in St. Maarten and during our stay; we explored different places for dinner. One of those evenings we decided to go to Marina Royale. As we walked around, browsing through menus, we were stopped by a friendly server, Roger. He thoroughly explained the specials for the evening and we were "IN"! We shared the tuna tartar appetizer and fish platter entree for two, while sipping on a crisp rose wine, recommended by the owner Attila. All was fresh and delicious.

The staff at the restaurant was great, very friendly, welcoming and knowledgeable. Our evening was perfect, from the atmosphere to the many laughs we shared as we closed down the restaurant. It was an evening we will never forget, THANK YOU Attila, Christina and Roger!!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RexiTnT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Overpriced - Good service, decent food, but way overpriced”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Entrees were in the $40 range and apps around $15. So, our meal came up to be pretty high for 6 people for lunch. It wasn't exactly the easiest place to find either.

The service was good, the staff was attentive and friendly. They don't like to give much ice for drinks apparently, considering it was so hot, I was surprised, but maybe that's what they do in St. Martin.

The fish platter for two was fresh and tasted good. Overall it was a decent lunch, but the pricing was way more than what it should have been. If you want a decent little spot looking at boats then this is a nice place. If you want value, then go elsewhere. You will overpay.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Hyun Jin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, Missouri
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great food.”
Reviewed June 21, 2014

Great food and atmosphere. The restaurant is located right on the water by several boats. The waiters were friendly and made the lunch a fun experience.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sdegroot2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“AVERAGE”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

We decided to have dinner in this restaurant due to his good tripadvisor rating. Even though the german waiter made some offensive comments, which were supposed to be funny, we decided to stay. We never do starters, so we only ordered 2 main courses. I ordered my meat medium-rare; but wat I got was more than well done. Both main courses were kind of small, so we also ordered dessert, which was very good, apart from the brownie, which should be melting in the inside, but it was not. The free cocktail was ‘drinkable’, nothing more, nothing less. The food was not bad, but from the 2nd best restaurant in town and the price we expected much more than this. Won’t be back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank bes o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Galion Restaurant also viewed

Marigot, Saint-Martin
Marigot, Saint-Martin
 
Marigot, Saint-Martin
Marigot, Saint-Martin
 

Been to Le Galion Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing