We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would rather starve to death”
Review of Bistro de la Mer

Bistro de la Mer
Ranked #25 of 91 Restaurants in Marigot
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole
Restaurant details
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Would rather starve to death”
Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

The food was outrageously expensive for what we got. A burger patty on a bun with limp fries and no lettuce or tomato was $14. A small diet soda was $5. The server was more concerned to prevent non customers using the bathroom than attending to us. I would walk on by next time. There are nicer places on the beach front

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TonySt999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    64
    23
    16
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lousy service”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Our waiter wouldn't let us sit together even though the place was nearly empty - instead, he split us up into several tables of 2-3 scattered throughout the patio. Felt like the staff thought we were inconveniencing them by being there. Very overpriced food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice choice to share good times and good food in outside seating”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We went for dinner and ask for escargots and a caesar salad it was really good,as main dish we share a lobster with delicious vegetables, Vikhy the server was very kind with us. Next time we will visit again this restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PerriBerto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercer County NJ
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Better than lobster”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We brought our six companions for the grilled Ouassous (river shrimp) and the consensus was exactly what we expected: "better than lobster" . They have other, less expensive, entrees, which we have never sampled. But this treat -- not generally seen in the states-- is not to be missed if you love shellfish. The bistro, located near the Marigot port, offers great informal fun with close parking.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bikenkayak_Al
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rainbow City, Alabama United States
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Stay away”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

What crummy, overpriced food. $36 for two really poor cheeseburgers with cold, limp fries and two cokes. Ugh! Worst meal we had in two weeks on the island. Don't go near this place. Watch out for this place.... It's right on the square in downtown Marigot.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro de la Mer also viewed

Marigot, Saint-Martin
Marigot, Basse-Terre Island
 
Marigot, Saint-Martin
Marigot, Saint-Martin
 

Been to Bistro de la Mer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing