We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Indian cuisine” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pride of India - CLOSED

Pride of India
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Indian cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

Having had great Indian food in NY and NJ (and not great in Florida)... We have high expectations... Our first visit to Pride of India was top notch.

The excellent:
-- vegetable samosas
-- chicken tikka masala
-- Channa masala
-- palak corn (not on the menu, they custom made it for us)
-- butter naan and garlic naan

The average
-- tikka corn appetizer
-- potato naan

It's sort of difficult to see from the road, so make sure you map it ahead of time. We are staying on the Dutch side and the drive is worth it!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    4
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Hands Down the best Indian Restaurant in St. Maarten”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

If you want to absolutely authentic & healthy Indian food, then Pride of India it is.
We had a couple of customers who were down for a visit. One of them can’t handle spicy food, due his medication. Though my husband & I always go there, still, we were a little skeptical to go, considering our customer cannot handle spicy food.
We requested the hostess to serve the food, mildly spicy. You wont believe the food was aptly prepared. Our friend was raving constantly with every morsel he consumed. He even said he would go back again.
I am so glad we were able to please our customer. Thank you Pride, keep up the good work

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ajita W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philipsburg, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Indian food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

We have visited Pride of India a number of times with friends, family and customers and have always been very satisfied with their food, quality and service. They can even make your dish mild and still have the same great flavor. Highly recommended if you are looking for the best Indian food on the island.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank ShoppersHaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlestown, Nevis
Level Contributor
61 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great food and great ambiance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

I had dinner at Pride of India in Marigot, Saint Martin on Saturday night and had a great meal and a great time, for the best Indian food in the Caribbean, I recommend a visit with a view of the Saint Martin-Anguilla ferry.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mihajlovic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

Two weeks ago we had the wonderful pleasure of our first visit to Pride of India in Marigot St Martin. It was so wonderful, that we returned this Saturday with another group of friends and again it was wonderful!! Pride of India is on the second floor in a building next to the West Indies Mall in Marigot. The atmosphere is modern and sleek. The wait staff very friendly as are your hosts Vicki and Dimple -husband and wife owners. Though I do not remember all the names of the dishes, I do recall that we started with appetizers of Samosa a light puff pastry filled with vegetables and my personal favorite Hara Bara Kebobs which are vegetable patties. We also had "fried" cottage cheese which were slightly spicy just enough to waken your taste buds. As we were with a group of friends there were several delicious dishes that we shared; cocoanut shrimp, a chicken dish, lamb stew, vegetable and rice, Raita ( a sour cream/ cucumber dish), mango chutney and of course garlic and butter Naan (Indian bread). We selected mild to medium spiciness and found that it was very comfortable in taste. If you have any question regarding the menu choices or the degree of "spiciness" the staff is very willing to guide you.There will definitely be return trips to this wonderful restaurant.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LesChat3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pride of India also viewed

Marigot, Saint-Martin
Marigot, Saint-Martin
 
Marigot, Saint-Martin
Marigot, Saint-Martin
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing