We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A paella to avoid”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of La Main a la Pate

La Main a la Pate
Ranked #8 of 88 Restaurants in Marigot
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $60
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A paella to avoid”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Went to the restaurant on April 7th. Since the promised 'mussels and frites' were not served as promised a day earlier, a business associate and me both selected the paella. It arrived cold! After the complaint we received it 10 minutes later and it was blasted in a microware. The shrimp (when are the French going to learn that is not shrimps!?) was like rubber, the few mussels had shrunk to chewy balls and the chicked was overcooked. The calamari had shrunk to thin threads that were inedible. Our complaint was met with the excuse that it was a day old and the fact that the waiter had told us that 'Yes, they still had paella' we had been notified. Fortunately speaking French fluently, I complained about the promised mussels. Only Wednesdays and Fridays we were told. However they had them on Saturday, the day before. We left with the waiters compliment that my command of the French language was great. In summary I will avoid this place in the future as I travel to the island often..

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hugoke_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    93
    27
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant On The Island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

This is a very popular restaurant with both tourists and locals. The food is superb, large tasty portions which I found to be not expensive. We ate at this restaurant every night while on the island. The owners, Roger and Pascal, are fantastic hosts who make everyone feel welcome. One of the servers, Ricaldau, is very friendly and attentive and makes your dining experience even more enjoyable, he is very professional and a definite asset to this establishment. Do yourself a favour and make sure you get this restaurant which is at the marina in Marigot and treat yourself to an awesome meal. Make sure you try a pizza....best on the island!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank RikkiSaskatoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Dining Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

We ate here quite often in our week stay in St. Martin. I found the staff very friendly, the food was great. I enjoyed every meal I had and always tried something different. Ricardo was my favorite waiter as he was always upbeat and made us feel at home. I highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BevP534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roslyn, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful Marigot so so meal.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Marigot by the marina is lovely. We needed a place to eat for 12 of us after seeing that one of our fav's, Le Chanteclair was no longer open. We had no problem getting in and it was a warm evening to sit in the back of the restaurant. Everyone seemed pleased with their meal when it finally came but truthfully, I felt it was very average. The service was terrible and we were sitting for a good 20 min before the waiter came over to take a drink order. Not one of our best especially since there are so many amazing restaurants there.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank steph444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groomsport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Over rated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

Very busy and popular restaurant on the marina. Food expensive, as it is everywhere on the island and service was hit and miss. They do a paella one night a week for €20 and we both chose it. Pretty awful stuff. Was told there was a large selection of seafood/shellfish in it, but all it was was a lot of bits of chicken leg meat. If that's a paella, then I'm a circus clown. Winelist expensive, but a good selection. Service was non existent for us a large table with a very loud American family were the main focus of the staff. I had to get I for my bill, as we're abandoned. I left no tip as they really didn't deserve one. Not a good night, other than the wine.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank postcode70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Main a la Pate also viewed

Marigot, Saint-Martin
 
Marigot, Saint-Martin
Marigot, Saint-Martin
 
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 

Been to La Main a la Pate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing