We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect spot, good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Le France - CLOSED

Le France
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $48
Cuisines: French, Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Quebec
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Perfect spot, good food”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Nice view on the water, the marina and the nightlife; staff very friendly who offered us a free glass of mousseux and drank with us a b52; the Caribbean signer was surprisingly talented; nice traditional French cuisine : melted Brie with apples, duck en aiguillette, steak, lobster, etc. Comforting, nicely done but no wow effect. I would recommend for a night out with a few friends.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank QuebecDeltaLima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    15
    5
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great surprise.....great food....great fun...”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This restaurant was a big surprise....the service was both fun, as well as being attentive and the food was very good. We booked for 'Music Thursday' and there was a slight delay getting out table....but made up for by complementary drinks. Stephan, the waiter, was hilarious and energetic. We had a very good evening indeed.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mervyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McHenry, Illinois
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“The worst experience ever”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We had a party of five, service was terrible, waited and waited for service. The appetizer (some kind of melted cheese) was like eating a corroded battery. One of the five of the meals ordered was never served, four entee's were served, the fifth we kept on saying it was coming, after everyone finished their meal the fifth entree was "still on the way".

Manager said he would make it up to us (we never received the last entree) when we received the bill, they did not take off anything for the terrible experience. The wait staff was rude, embarrased, and after a while we were just plainly ignored.

With all the great places to eat at the marina, this place should be the last on the list, I would give it a negative rating if I could.

Horrible, Horrible, Horrible (did I make my point?)

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DLAS567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great Food and Service”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

I have been here many times and have not had one bad meal. My husband ordered the beef tenderloin with foie gras and the taste was spectacular. All the entrees were delicious. The service and ambiance were wonderful. I look forward to returning here again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelerMom09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food, great atmosphere”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

I cannot believe the last two bad reviews are not 'malicious', because I can hardly fault this place (sister restaurant to " La Main a Pate" I think, which also also has great reviews).

We chose it because the head waiter / manager is a real character, a crazy/friendly guy (but no way would I say "rude" like a previous reviewer). And we were delighted by the food too - top quality at a good price compared with others in St Martin (and we ate at plenty). Service for us was quick, though they did get very busy later in the evening (always a good sign), which might have slowed things for late-comers.

Overall, highly recommended.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank markmathsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le France also viewed

Marigot, Saint-Martin
Marigot, Saint-Martin
 
Marigot, Saint-Martin
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing