We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Panoramic ocean view and Marigot bay”
Review of Fort Louis

Fort Louis
Book on TripAdvisor
More Info
$75.00*
and up
St Maarten Sightseeing Tour by Bike
Ranked #1 of 25 things to do in Marigot
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
83 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Panoramic ocean view and Marigot bay”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Strolling around the market in Marigot we saw the flag up the hill and decided to climb up. The slope was rather steep, but after a short effort we enjoyed an unexpected nice view. ( no entrance fee) We saw the tourist buses stopping on the hillside in order to see some view on the way coming to Marigot, but the view from Fort Saint Louis was simply superb.
Although this fort is just a ruin with a few old cannons and 2 wooden benches, it is worth to climb up.

From Philipsburg we took a public bus to Marigot; US $2/p one way.
A public bus to Marigot stops on the road along the Salt Pond.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank gataki46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    262
    343
    99
    14
    3
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jumpin' all over the world
Level Contributor
188 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Great views, interesting place”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We enjoyed the little hike up to Fort Saint Louis at the top of a hill (we needed something to help us work off all the croissants we'd been eating), and the view along the way and at the top can't be beat. The historical information provided on sign boards is interesting -- the French saved the beans in the great coffee clash of 1808 against the marauding British! There was some unfortunate litter scattered around, but other than that it was a nice place to visit.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank RachelinKabul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
porto alegre
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“do not miss it!”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

from downtown Marigot you´ll see the first steps to go to the fort. It is not so difficult to get there but go slow. 5 minutes, maybe. Great viewsto take photos, and to visit the jail in which the French military put english pirates . You can view Anguilla very easily, but also Saba, that seems a volcano, far away in the sea

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank CesarBimbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good to kill a few hours at most”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

The view is phenomenal. It is a nice hike up to the fort. There is not much to do besides enjoy the view, but it was worth it.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington Dc, District Of Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“It's a fort...”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

My boyfriend loves to check out every fort or historical site whenever we're traveling so it was mandatory that we checked out this one... What can I say? It's a ruin of a fort. Lots and lots of steps to get up to it but the view from the top is very pretty. You can see the ocean and all the town below. Not much to read beside a few panels of historical explanation and not much left of the fort except a few rusted cannons and the crumbling walls. The view is worth it if you're in decent shape.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank JB_WorldTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Louis also viewed

Saint-Martin, St. Maarten-St. Martin
 
Philipsburg, Sint Maarten
Saint-Martin, St. Maarten-St. Martin
 

Been to Fort Louis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing