We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful Tropicana”
Review of Tropicana

Tropicana
Ranked #2 of 95 Restaurants in Marigot
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed January 21, 2020

We visit the island every year (except after the hurricane) and eat at Tropicana multiple times during our stay. Our first meal this year exceeded my expectations. I even ordered the same seafood salad I always get but it tasted better than ever. My husband had the mussels, a weekly delight, and they were great. Do not miss dessert. Thanks to Nadege and Audrey for the first of many great meals at Tropicana in 2020.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank martian2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,064)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 1,064 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2020 via mobile

We had an excellent dinner at Tropicana. The setting is very pretty on the harbor, the food was excellent, and the staff and owner were delightful. We had shared a fois gras appetizer and a salad and had Dover Sole Meuniere as a main course. The meal was as good as dinners we had in France and reasonably priced. The bread was also wonderful.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank NHSandman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2020 via mobile

We went to this restaurant based on all the positive reviews but were disappointed. The food was horrible and service lacking. We ordered an appetizer, the fish special and a pasta dish. The appetizer was ok, the pasta dish came out of a box and the fish special had a spinach side that clearly was frozen. To make matters worse, they served us their home made hummus (nothing great) served with a slice of toasted white bread. They could not even provide us with slices of baguette. We waited so long for our meals that they gave us some bread buns and we were almost done with our wine. When we refused dessert and coffee, they made us wait 20 minutes for our bill. Overpriced ‘French’ restaurant.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank sophiacrg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2020

So in reviewing past reviews of this place, we seem to have had a rare experience??
We’ve been in Saint Marten/Sint Maarten for 6 days and we we were hoping to have a nice dinner for our last night and went to Tropicana based on the positive reviews but overall this was the worst meal we had on the island.
We arrived at 6:05pm, 5 minutes after the restaurant opened and were the first to arrive with the next couple arriving 15 minutes later followed by a table of 6 adults 20 minutes later.
We ordered promptly (apps/main/bottled water and a bottled wine) prior to anyone else arriving. The staff were pleasant, water/wine and then bread arrived eventually. The initial bread and hummus arrived, the bread being a single thin slice of ‘normal’ bread cut diagonally, we guess to have the appearance of ‘exotic’; the hummus was good and tasty.
As we waited for our apps, we noted that the other two tables that arrived after us got their apps. The staff I guess noted our curiosity in this and brought a basket of normal bread buns for us. When we noticed the other couple getting their main course we spoke to a server and ask about our apps (3 spring rolls) and she went off to check. She came back and said the spring rolls would be out soon and were taking longer b/c they were handmade.
We finally got our apps (which was nice) but we were done our wine by the time our main dishes arrived by 715pm. One main was seafood pasta (penne), the seafood literally consisted of 2 shrimp/2 scallops/1-2 clams (no shell), the other main was red snapper & rice. The penne was out of a box, and the spinach that accompanied the snapper was obviously frozen package type.
They asked us if we wanted desert and we said no thank you, they then offered us a complementary drink and we declined. We asked for the bill, which took 20 min to produce.
We left and had desert/coffee across the way at another restaurant.
Just to note, we are not foodies or food snobs, and take into account that we are in another country, but we have both travelled extensively worldwide and have work in the food service industry.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sophiagra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2020

Fantastic service, food and is very special and EXCELLENT- we have been going there for years, especially love the Dover Sole, the specials are insanely great and for desert the profiterals are out of this world with their special chocolate sauce poured over those yummy balls of goodness. I am so glad they are still there with the problems in Marigo after Irma, the marina used to be so busy and busseling but hope that eventually it will bounce back. Highly recommend Tropicana as one the the finest restaurants on the island and hope they are still there for another 20+ years. Well worth the price and the trip.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BarbaraS5572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tropicana also viewed

Marigot, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 

Been to Tropicana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing