We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Dinner”
Review of Tropicana

Tropicana
Ranked #1 of 88 Restaurants in Marigot
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Fort Mill, South Carolina
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Dinner”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

All Good and worth the money.. Wow great Chef. We had the "Daily Special" perfect. The Desert was a combo of samples and a Shot of Banana Infused rum...

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rod0530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

917 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    687
    174
    29
    17
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
amsterdam
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“great lunch spot”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

a bit on the pricey side for lunch but never disappointed in the quality of food here. Make reservation because they are usually full as its not a very big place

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank bikeamsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great spot in Marigot!”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

This is a wonderful restaurant located right on the water in the Marigot marina. (It's next door to the La Casa del Habano cigar shop if you're looking for a genuine Cuban cigar, although the shop closes quite early- 1400 when we were there.) It was raining on the day we visited the Tropicana, so there was very little foot traffic at the marina. We arrived at 1830 and were one of two couples- but the restaurant filled up quickly while we ate. We sat on the porch under an awning and watched the rain. The service was attentive and both the server and the manager were friendly and charming. The food was absolutely delicious- from the appetizer to the dessert. The check was similar to one you'd get up the road in Grand Case, but I think the food is at the same level as the restaurants we visited there. It was a great meal and a great experience- we would definitely come back!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, NC
Level Contributor
85 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“tres Bon”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

We learned of this fine restaurant on this site. We were celebrating a special occasion and favor big lunches over big dinners. We were thrilled totally with the service (owner/manager?), our lunch choices. Mine was the Seafood Taboule special of the day. The presentation was lovely, the portion large and the taste wonderful. There was a special desert offered, but I opted for the Creme brûlée. The creme itself was outstanding, but the sculptured burned sugar pastry addition was fantastic. We will return every time we are on the island.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank M H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
77 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice Surprise!”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

We used to go to Tropicana for dinner each trip to SXM. Had such a disappointing experience 4 years ago that we had not been since. Decided to try again this year and are so very glad we did. The food was delicious. More importantly, the staff was inviting and the service to us Americans was warm. We will go back.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank May Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tropicana also viewed

Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 
Marigot, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 

Been to Tropicana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing