We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great fun!”
Review of Tropicana

Tropicana
Ranked #1 of 91 Restaurants in Marigot
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great food, great fun!”
Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

We were warmly welcomed by the owner and the servers were all very friendly and provided great service. Nice complimentary banana rum drink to finish our evening. All of our meals were delicious. Caesar salad to start was very good and the mains were outstanding. Our group had lobster, grouper, artichoke stuffed with crab and penne with scallops, lobster and shrimp in a bisque sauce.
The tables are outside with a lovely view of the marina. A must to dine when in Marigot.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Connie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

938 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    704
    178
    29
    17
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Good”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

A restaurant in a nice location by the water in Port La Royale, Marigot.
It was obvious that everyone was having a great time there....quite noisy inside, but there are a few tables outside along the waterfront that would be much quieter.
Staff very friendly and helpful and the food was great.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EvergreenCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philipsburg, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“my favorite on St Maarten”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

The place where i want to go to treat myself, the food is excelent, the deserts to die for and the service friendly, a place where you feel at home .

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Binkievan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great evening out”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Friendly service and good food. Loved the homemade banana/vanilla rum. Desserts were beautifully presented. Fish dishes were good. The only thing we didn't like was the burnt french onion soup.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 31dw2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Not to be missed!”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We went to Tropicana on our last night on St Maarten, mainly because it was close to our villa in Terres Basses. We are so glad we ate dinner there, as it was a wonderful way to end our holiday vacation. The meal was amazing - from the service to the food, it was really excellent!

Our server, Melanie, was French, but spoke quite good English, so communication was not much of a problem. She was very personable, and helped make our meal enjoyable. She even suggested that if we wanted to try their Grand Marnier Souffle for dessert, she would put in our order early so the wait would not be so long.

The food was excellent, and the chef obviously takes great pride in his presentation. Everything was as lovely to look at, as it was delicious to eat.

The location is on the marina in Marigot. The restaurant is totally open to the outside, so it really doesn't matter if you are seated indoors or outside along the water's edge.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EastCoastNewbie50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tropicana also viewed

Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 
Baie Nettle, Saint-Martin
Marigot, Saint-Martin
 
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 

Been to Tropicana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing