We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must when visiting St Martin”
Review of Tropicana

Tropicana
Ranked #1 of 91 Restaurants in Marigot
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Farmingdale, New York
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A must when visiting St Martin”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

The food was amazing! Definately have the Escargot in the puff pastry is a must! The staff was extremely friendly & helpful. We did make a reservation because we were a party of 8.

The only downfall is no kids menu. We traveled with a 7 year old who is a finicky eater (her 10 year old brother is a foodie and will eat and try anything) so she had to make due with lobster bisque and bread.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

938 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    704
    178
    29
    17
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moorestown, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Treated like family!”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Great food. Despite arriving when they were starting to shut down on a holiday, they rolled out the welcome carpet for our party of 7. Great service, great food, and great deserts!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank AndrewRfromNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe NM
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Tropicana - Our Go To restaurant in SXM”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We go to marigot every Friday, when we are at our home on Anguilla.
We grocery shop at Simply in Sandy Ground and then we head to Tropicana for a wonderful lunch.
The mussels and sole are excellent. The wines are well priced and very good.
The desserts are sublime, epically the Chaud - Froid, molten chocolate cake.
The dish is not only delicious, but it is beautiful presented too.

Christophe is charming, courtesy and a friend to all who enter.
I recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IrisSantaFeNM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What a great place!”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

This was our second trip to St. Maarten via cruise ship. First time around we stayed on the Phillipsburg side of the island. This time we figure we would spend some time on the French side and what better way than to have lunch at Le Tropicana!
We arrived just after 12 noon to find that it was filling up fast (good sign). The menu can be overwhelming because everything looks and sounds fantastic. One thing to point out is that some items were listed as “Appetizer – Entrée”. When I inquired if the dishes under this heading were more of an appetizer or entrée, the waitress told us “appetizer”. So being at a French restaurant we are thinking small plates. I opted for the pan seared Scallops and Froie Gras for an appetizer and the Turbot fillet for my entrée. My wife had the Red Snapper Carpaccio appetizer and the carrot soup.
When the appetizers arrived we were blown away! They were larger portions than we anticipated (which we are not complaining by any means). The scallops and froie gras were outstanding. What a fantastic dish! I almost wanted to order another one. The Red Snapper Carpaccio was refreshing and extremely fresh. The sautéed Turbot fillet was also fresh and full of flavor and the carrot soup was the best we’ve ever had.
If you are ever on St. Maarten it is definitely worth heading over to Marigot to dine at Le Tropicana.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“excellent steak and lamb”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

we were a bit tired of seafood after a week so went here and were not dissapointed. the Lamb, steak and wine were perfectly matched. service was excellent, very nice setting that you can spend some time shopping before or after dinner.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank SlipperyJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tropicana also viewed

Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 
Baie Nettle, Saint-Martin
Marigot, Saint-Martin
 
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 

Been to Tropicana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing