We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth the challenge to get a table & every penny!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tropicana

Tropicana
Ranked #1 of 87 Restaurants in Marigot
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
205 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Worth the challenge to get a table & every penny!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

With 6 people it seems difficult often to please everyone but at Tropicana NO PROBLEM!
The food is great consistently, we have been going there for years, and have yet to have a disappointing meal. We are never hungry for and yet can't pass up dessert, it is that good.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jane3505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

897 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    673
    170
    28
    16
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level Contributor
62 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Food was excellent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

This place is a little tricky to find, especially at night. It's on the marina and the best tables are right by the water. The restaurant interior is modest and usually packed so you might feel slightly cramped. But the food was incredible. We had Brie and escargots to start and then grouper, chicken and another fish dish. Everything was good. The staff was nice and it's obvious this place is quite popular.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NJ_Family_Team
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Longmeadow, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
113 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Terrible service marred a delicious meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

We have been going to Tropicana for ten years and have never been disappointed. The food is excellent---truly interesting and tasty. The host and hostess are friendly, warm and helpful. Unfortunately this year we had a very rude server. She was curt and unhelpful when we were ordering. Then when we asked for a few minutes to finish our wine before ordering dessert, she told us that they needed the table in 20 minutes and we needed to order dessert now. We had an 8:00 reservation, and since it was at that point 8:55, we were stunned. For the price, to be rushed out after an hour seemed unreasonable. After complaining, the hostess apologized and said we could stay as long as wanted. The waitress never apologized, just blamed the management.

We will go back for the food, but will avoid the surly server, if she is still employed there next year. I hope not.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
178 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Our Favourite spot!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

There are lots of choices in the marina in Marigot, but you will always see the tables filled at Tropicana and it's because the food is so good. We enjoyed Dover sole, lobster salad, fresh fish, decadent dessert and delicious wine during our two visits this year. The service is very friendly and helpful. You are warmly welcomed whether it's your first or twentieth visit. This is where the locals eats. The views are glorious. If you're coming by taxi ask them to call a cab which will come to the street behind the restaurant and you'll avoid having to walk back to the taxi stand by the mall. We have eaten at other restaurants in the marina which are also quite good, but Tropicana is special. Make a reservation to avoid disappointment or a long wait.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Take my word for it...
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“French food at its best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

We always plan our trips based on the Trip advisor. So this time the island is St. Maarten and we love it here. We are staying at a private villa in the Simpson Bay Area. We have a deal at Pelican resort where we can use their beach. But every night we are exploring some of the best restaurants in the island. Our experience so far has been satisfied and then some in the restaurant, "Tropicana". Loved it. We were a party of 12 and everyone ordered different appetizers food and desserts and one was better than the other. From the creamy Saffron soup, to the frog legs, (d-boned may I add), to the amazing tuna and jumbo shrimp on a bed of yummy mash potato, with a side of mash sweet potatoe and finished with a yummy creamy sauce. The swan maringue was a nice dessert to round up this amazing experience and finally a shot of banana rum on the house. Wow. The owner was one of the waiters. There was also a nice French lady who took care of our table. She was hilarious. When she asked my brother in law about the appetizers and if we enjoyed them, my brother in law jokingly said not really. She raised her shoulder and said, "oh well". Then a minute later she came back with two huge knives from the kitchen and said, "now, did you like the appetizers or not?" Great food. great experience. I hope you enjoy it as much as we did.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sepideh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tropicana also viewed

Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 
Marigot, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 

Been to Tropicana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing