We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect, local French bakery”
Review of Sarafina

Sarafina
Ranked #1 of 6 Dessert in Marigot
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Takeout
Cupecoy Bay, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect, local French bakery”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Perfect for picking up a baguette or croissant, crepe for brunch or even a late lunch! And if you have a sweet tooth, don't miss out on the amazing tarts and desserts!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Britta H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

952 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    550
    277
    81
    30
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ogden, Utah
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A Must Stop for Anyone!”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We found this great pastry shop by asking our server at Orange Fever at Orient Bay where the best French Pastries were on the island. It cost as any extra $2 for our taxi driver to take us there on the way back to the cruise ship and knowing what I know now I would have paid him $10 extra dollars.
This place was amazing, they have every type of pastry you could ask for, my wife and I ended up spending $24 in pastries and took them back to the cruise ship with us. They were all excellent, we got donuts, cakes, torts and more.
If you are into pastries, you must make the stop here, everything is in Euros but they also accept USD and will do the conversion for you. Oh the Macaroons were amazing and huge! Stop here and you will be very happy you did!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank food-snob-ogden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“YOU MUST GO!!!”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

I might have gone here every day if given the chance. As it was, I got a box full of pastries to take back to our condo and we enjoyed them all week (they all kept well!). I especially recommend the ham and cheese quiche, the ham and cheese croissant and the almond/chocolate croissant. We also loved the crepes with cheese and egg - very hearty!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank kerrybmcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“I never got past the pastries!”
Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

Every time I go to SXM I make sure to frequent this wonderful French pattiserie. There are so many pastry options that I never got to the food. In addition, I had made it a habit to walk into downtown Marigot in the morning when Sarafina's opened to have breakfast the European way. I love this place! If you love pastries, you will love this place also. Don't miss spending time at this restaurant. You won't regret it!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank msmwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickory, North Carolina
Level Contributor
70 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Best Pastries on the Island!”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Been to St Martin 6-8 times and tried pastry shops all over island. This one is the best! Many others are good but we drive from Simpson Bay to Marigot to go here. The Almond Croissants and Almond&Chocolate croissants are excellent! Many of the dark chocolate covered desserts are wonderfull. The raspberry merengues are great! Everything $2-3 each which about normal. Many different types of bread too.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mstahura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sarafina also viewed

Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Marigot, Saint-Martin
 
Philipsburg, Sint Maarten
Marigot, Saint-Martin
 
Marigot, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 

Been to Sarafina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing