We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Needs Remodel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Le Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Marigot
Level Contributor
124 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Needs Remodel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

Chose this hotel purely for the location to the ferry docks. For one night, the hotel is fine but very tired. The rooms are more 70's style motel than beach resort and there are plans for a major remodel, but there are constant delays. The area is good with lots of shops and dining nearby, but I would not want to stay more than a day or so in its current condition.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Jimed323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    208
    89
    32
    19
See reviews for
44
216
26
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
265 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We were very pleased with this hotel. The staff was friendly and helpful. The AC worked great and the bed was comfortable. The room was very clean and we had a great view of the beach and it was really nice. The buffet breakfast was very good and we enjoyed the bar. Overall the hotel is a bit old and tired, but I would recommend it without hesitation. The Wi-Fi worked very well.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank WileyPost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swinoujscie, Poland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I've stayed a few times in this hotel. The hotel is located in walking distance from center of Marigot and marinas. the building is a little bit "tired" , but is already under renovation.
Nice staff, swimming pool, good food. I can recommend Beach Plaza for everyone.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Rysio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

The location is great! walking distance to the Pier, mall and ferries to other Islands. The breakfast is good and more than enough though it could have better if it offers different dishes everyday. The Ocean Front is perfect and price is very reasonble. My room has very nice view with balcony and you can hear the waves that is so relaxing. The hotel is walking distance to all and you can spend a day of shopping around the area and there are lots of good local restaurants around this place and safe to walk even at night. The Pier have lots of ferries going to other Islands and a lot of Tour offered in which i will highly recommend St Barts Island.

Room Tip: You can walk to the pier and book a trip to different Island Tours 1 day for each Island, Book the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MARLENNY5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

This was the 2nd time I have stayed at this hotel and would recommend it to anyone. Although the hotel is in the process of renovations, it is still up and running smoothly without disruption to any of the guests. I found the hotel to be well maintained and very clean. I was travelling with a friend however we both had our own rooms. I was very impressed with the hotel security and felt very safe and secure at all times.
The staff, cleaning, serving, maintenance, and front desk were all very professional and friendly and went out of their way to ensure any needs were met. In particular, Joseane at the front desk, was so very helpful in answering any questions I had and was quick to respond to any request.
As this trip was a celebration of my recent retirement I would like to thank the hotel manager and all the staff for making this trip a memorable one. I will be returning to the Beach Plaza again next year.
I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL TO ANYONE!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RikkiSaskatoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Just returned from another great week at this hotel. Went last year and enjoyed it so much I decided to break my travel rule and not only return to St. Martin but also stay at the same accomodation. After having experienced several different Caribbean islands over the years and the massive all inclusive-activity packed resorts, finding the quieter (and very safe) French St Martin and the Hotel Beach Plaza was a relief. Yes the hotel and its rooms could do with a bit of updating BUT they are very large rooms and super clean each and every day. Wifi on the entire island can be a bit iffy. At the hotel itself, wifi has improved since last year (for those who want to bring tablets or whatever). You can now get a signal on the beach and in your room most of the time tho signal strength can fluctuate by the minute sometimes. Last year, the signal was limited to the hotel lobby. The beds are on the firm side but not uncomfortable at all. I highly recommend paying extra for the ocean view. The bathroom is very European in style. Air con is a bit noisy but its worth shutting off at night (or turning down low) and opening your balcony doors to fall asleep to the waves of the ocean instead). There are plans to temporarily close the hotel to renovate but we heard this has been delayed now (possibly even to next year). Nothing beats having morning coffee every morn on the balcony looking over at Anguilla in the distance and all the beautiful catamarans in the harbour. Since last year, the breakfast included in the rate has been scaled back (you have to order and pay separately now for eggs and bacon) but what you still get, is sufficient to start your day (super fresh breads, pastries, yogurt, cheeses, juices, coffees, fresh fruit---and some canned fruit too but that's typical of European type continental breakfasts). And when you need a change, the BEST bakeries are a 5 min walk away. The beach is small but its certainly adequate and never crowded to the point where you are fighting for a spot or a chair. On windy days tho, the current can be very strong so kids and weak swimmers need to be careful. When the winds are calm tho....its like glass and great for the novice snorkeller. Clientele is the 30-ish to 60-ish range on average (no university crowd and young families are rare) The staff was always friendly and polite but can come across as shy. I've seen reviews calling the staff rude but i totally disagree. If you greet them with a smile and a hello or good morning they are more than eager to help out when needed. I also ran into other tourists complaining about the tiny tvs!!!! Who the heck goes to the Caribbean and wastes their time (and money) staying in their room watching tv anyway?! As far as hotel location goes....you can't beat it. You are within walking distance to the best restaurants anywhere (Marina Royal across the street), 10 min walk to Marigot shops and more eateries, 2 min walk to grocery store/convenience stores, 15 min taxi or publlic bus ride to Grand Case, 20 mins to the glitz and glamour of the Dutch side St Maarten if you want a night of excitement. And if you need some touristy type help, the Tourist Bureau is right across the street too. There is a car rental rep at the hotel most mornings (or you can rent scooters across the street). Last year, there was a rep who would help you with booking offsite activities (like jet ski rentals, dinner cruises etc or snorkelling tours) but it looks like noone does that anymore tho the brochures are there. I found the Tourist Bureau across the street will help you with this instead now. If you are looking for a quieter locale on an island where you feel safe and noone hassles you to sell you cheap trinkets or braid your hair every 5 mins, where you can drink the water and eat excellent food day after day without worries of getting sick....trust me.....go to St. Martin.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a 2nd floor ocean view overlooking the beach if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Marigot26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Canada
Level Contributor
206 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Indeed the hotel might be getting a mite tired around the edges, but it is ideally located to enjoy Marigot by foot and offers an old-world charm that the modern chains just can't match. The hotel was immaculate clean, our room was charming, service was friendly, the view is to die for, breakfast was more than adequate and the beach was small, but better than nothing. The street noise mentioned in other reviews was a non-issue and neither was security. Bluntly, the naysayers who complain about this place need remember that standards vary around the world and one of the reasons that most people travel is to experience different cultures and experiences. All-in-all, great value for the price. Yes, a major renovation is scheduled, but don't hold your breath as the financing is not in place. As such, there is still an opportunity to snatch up this bargain.

Room Tip: Street side has more sun and a nice mountain view, Ocean side has a great view of the marina but vir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank QCern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marigot
1.5 mi away
Mercure Saint-Martin Marina & Spa
4.0 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
4.5 of 5 stars 1,616 reviews
0.0 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#1 of 7 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 stars 670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
3.8 mi away
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
2.7 mi away
Sonesta Ocean Point Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Beach Hotel

Property: Le Beach Hotel
Address: Baie de Marigot, Marigot 97150, St. Maarten-St. Martin (Formerly Hotel Beach Plaza)
Location: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Saint-Martin > Marigot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Marigot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach Hotel is ideally located in front of the Caribbean sea, on a small beach of fine, golden sand at the heart of the Marigot Bay. The area offers a shopping mall, fine restaurants and a variety of nightlife entertainment. All 144 rooms and suites are spacious and fully equipped, with views of Marigot and the mountains, or sea views. Enjoy our restaurant/bar located by the swimming pool and facing the Caribbean sea.. Get ready for the perfect holiday with our dedicated activity desk, musical animation, beach bar, beach and pool entertainment, and solarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Fastbooking, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Le Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Plaza Hotel
Beach Plaza Marigot
Le Beach Hotel St. Maarten-St. Martin/Marigot

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing