We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice staff, good location, poor value” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Le Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Marigot
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“nice staff, good location, poor value”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

Hotel Beach Plaza is at a nice location but I believe the stay will be A LOT more pleasant for its guests after a full renovation. Thank goodness we brought our camping flash lights due to the many yet unforeseen power outages which ocurred during our stay. With lights out, so was the AC and the telephone. There were also problems with the room safe not working. The breakfast was wonderful, however too many ants around. Also watch out for the birds, if you leave to go out for seconds on your meal, you may return to find yourself in company with a hungry flock. Since the hotel is somewhat open the birds fly in and out at will looking for food.

Room Tip: The bartender Marie is a gem. Be sure to catch a drink at her bar and she will inform you of all the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thoughts_of_mine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    205
    88
    32
    19
See reviews for
43
216
26
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

but try to get a room on the beach side as the traffic can be noisy at times on the roadside.
Pool is also in the shade for half the day...but great for car rental and walking to Marigot and Ferry. This is a 3 Star property... NOT 4 star....

Room Tip: also the rooms have fridges and microwaves...very handy..
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank worldtraveller100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aruba
Level Contributor
132 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

Hotel Beach Plaza is situated next to Marigot. It's not even a 5 minute drive to town. It's right at the beach which makes it perfect for a relaxing short trip. The hotel itself is good. Bathroom was just redone and had a nice bath. Bed was good.
It's what you expect for this price. Good, comfortable and friendly staff.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ndwaua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

check in was fast. staff at desk are freindly. wifi is terrible had to stand in hall to get signal and then it would drop constantly too.beach is okay kind of rocky. close to grocery store to walk for staples. breakfast buffet is basic but quick. rooms are spacious get very few english channels. walk to marigot for shopping market can be busy on cruise days. no night entertain for a night life need to go to dutch side.

Room Tip: pick room on ocean side other is on a main busy road
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sunsandlover77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
from Newmarket
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

We stayed for one week at this Hotel. Yes it does need some work, paint, upgrading, but overall very clean and the service was excellent. Check-in was quick and anytime we needed anything at the front desk, e.g. towels, directions, advice, staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel restaurant is quite expensive, but there are several restaurants within walking distance to choose from. There is also a US Grocery Store right next store. Better to purchase an Oceanview room. There is lots of construction at Islandview. Noisy and lots of traffic. Oceanview you can see to Anguilla. It is quiet with beautiful sunsets. Beach is tiny but we had lovely swims and never had a problem getting a chair or umbrella. Breakfast was outstanding! Bacon & eggs, pancakes, breads, fruit, yogurt, hard-boiled eggs, meats and cheese. Lots to choose from. Breakfast was served between 7 a.m. and 11 a.m. We took the ferry to Anguilla which has awesome beaches. It's only a 15 minute ride for $40. Worth it. Also took the ferry to St. Barth's. This is 1 1/2 hr. ride but it was a great day. Book in advance and you will get it for $50 euro. We much prefer the French side of St. Martin. It is quieter, restaurants are awesome and it is very European. Also very safe. Visit the Marina for the fine French restaurants there. Hotel had a nice pool which was kept immaculate and a nice sundeck. There was a pool bar and a piano bar. There was supposed to be a piano player three nights but we only saw him one night. Would definitely go back!

Room Tip: Pay the extra to get an Oceanview room. Beautiful view of the Bay and you can see to Anguilla.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TheBoothsDandB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

We booked via priceline and were pleasantly surprised that the hotel provided us with early check-in and a roll-away bed at no extra cost. The room was very clean but did look worn. Unfortunately, we had almost no hot water in the shower. The toilet was prone to running continuously or not flushing at all. We stopped using the bathroom lock after I almost couldn't get out of the bathroom because the lock stuck. As for the view, the island view is a view of the parking lot. The wifi at the hotel was infuriating. It worked for a minute or two and then kicked you off.

The pluses of the hotel were its location on the water with an easy walk to Marigot, the included breakfast, the generally friendly service and a bar that mixed good mojitos. I wouldn't rule out staying again but it wouldn't be my first choice.

Room Tip: The island view is a parking lot view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EatSantaBarbarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

This is a shabby and worn-out hotel that is nowhere near average, let alone classy by any standard - European, American or Caribbean. The appearnce is very disappointing. The only upside is that guests can walk to Marina Royal in Marigot for dinner, and the free breakfast is good. When I stayed there for a couple of days, I had to pay taxis or take the ferry during the day just to have a decent place to hang out in. When you factor that cost in, I may as well have stayed somewhere else. If the hotel would stop advertising itself as 4-star and advertise itself clsoer to what it really is, then the hotel would at least meet customer expectations.

Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank momwithteenagers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Marigot hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marigot
4.0 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
4.5 of 5 stars 1,602 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mercure Saint-Martin Marina & Spa
4.8 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#1 of 7 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 stars 665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
3.8 mi away
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
2.7 mi away
Sonesta Ocean Point Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Beach Hotel

Property: Le Beach Hotel
Address: Baie de Marigot, Marigot 97150, St. Maarten-St. Martin (Formerly Hotel Beach Plaza)
Location: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Saint-Martin > Marigot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Marigot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach Hotel is ideally located in front of the Caribbean sea, on a small beach of fine, golden sand at the heart of the Marigot Bay. The area offers a shopping mall, fine restaurants and a variety of nightlife entertainment. All 144 rooms and suites are spacious and fully equipped, with views of Marigot and the mountains, or sea views. Enjoy our restaurant/bar located by the swimming pool and facing the Caribbean sea.. Get ready for the perfect holiday with our dedicated activity desk, musical animation, beach bar, beach and pool entertainment, and solarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Fastbooking, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Le Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Plaza Hotel
Beach Plaza Marigot
Le Beach Hotel St. Maarten-St. Martin/Marigot

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing