We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“service and location good but the hotel is dated” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Le Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Marigot
Level Contributor
69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“service and location good but the hotel is dated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2012

We booked via priceline and were pleasantly surprised that the hotel provided us with early check-in and a roll-away bed at no extra cost. The room was very clean but did look worn. Unfortunately, we had almost no hot water in the shower. The toilet was prone to running continuously or not flushing at all. We stopped using the bathroom lock after I almost couldn't get out of the bathroom because the lock stuck. As for the view, the island view is a view of the parking lot. The wifi at the hotel was infuriating. It worked for a minute or two and then kicked you off.

The pluses of the hotel were its location on the water with an easy walk to Marigot, the included breakfast, the generally friendly service and a bar that mixed good mojitos. I wouldn't rule out staying again but it wouldn't be my first choice.

Room Tip: The island view is a parking lot view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EatSantaBarbarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    214
    91
    32
    20
See reviews for
47
220
26
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2012

This is a shabby and worn-out hotel that is nowhere near average, let alone classy by any standard - European, American or Caribbean. The appearnce is very disappointing. The only upside is that guests can walk to Marina Royal in Marigot for dinner, and the free breakfast is good. When I stayed there for a couple of days, I had to pay taxis or take the ferry during the day just to have a decent place to hang out in. When you factor that cost in, I may as well have stayed somewhere else. If the hotel would stop advertising itself as 4-star and advertise itself clsoer to what it really is, then the hotel would at least meet customer expectations.

Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank momwithteenagers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Marigot hotels

virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012

We returned from a cruise and stayed over a night. This hotel was part of the 'stay and cruise' that our cruise ship offered (although we booked separately), so we thought it would be a nice place. WRONG!!! We booked several months before we arrived (arrived on 3/17) and also confirmed 2 weeks prior. Good thing we did...they had us reserved for only 1 room when we had reserved---and prepaid--for 2. Our rooms were oceanfront. They had a decent balcony that is in serious need of rehabbing. We arrived at hotel around 9:30 a.m. or so..checked in and they said rooms was not ready--check back around 2:30. Around 2:30 we did, room not ready and we got in around 3:30. Our friends, who arrived at the same time we did, got in their room at 4:30. Extremely poor...and unhelpful---front desk staff.

The bed looked almost like a rollaway, although, it seemed pretty comfortable. The room just sort of had that 'buggy' feel, but I tried to not stress over it. Bedding was worn and old. Hotel old and worn and needs some serious TLC. It is getting some overhaul, just not sure what they are rehabbing. TV only has 1 channel that is not in French and that is CNN. No clock.

Sunday morning we had breakfast in the restaurant that was included in cost....fruit, bread (GREAT croissants!!), runny eggs, bacon..it was adequate.

Now...here is where I WILL NEVER GO BACK...Sunday morning taking a shower, after I get all lathered up, I look up to see a roach climbing on the inside of the shower curtain. That was it for me. I spent the rest of the day feeling like something was crawling on me!! YUKKY!!!

We spend 2 weeks every year in St Lucia, so I do not buy the argument that they are in tropical places...I have never seen one there in the 13 years we have been going.

In the hotel's defense, there is a good view and it is an easy walk to Marigot and to the wharf which has several good restaurants for dinner.

All in all, for the amount of money I paid ($415 US) this place was a disgrace and I would never stay here again. I have even notified the cruise line that they definitely need to change their hotels!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xsnowman99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stayner, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2012

Saint Martin is, for me, the perfect vacation getaway. Lots of places in the Caribbean have gorgeous beaches. Not many have clothing-optional ones, and none that I know have a town as chill, swank and pleasurable to hang out in as Marigot. Hotel Beach Plaza is ideally located for doing just that. I have sayed there five times.

it is a small, European-style and very comfortable hotel where oceanview is worth every penny. First class rooms, very comfortable beds. The 7-breakfast 3-dinner meal plan is perfect for experiencing off-resort cuisine that is widely regarded as the best in the Caribbean. Do not expect rafts of activities or a great on-location beach. Over forty exist on the island. By all means possible, rent a car. This hotel is for the independent traveler that enjoys being immersed in the destination, not insulated from it.

That said, the main French-side town of Marigot is less than a five-minute stroll away. The marina district is lined with elegant cafes and restaurants. An excellent moderately priced restaurant there is the Fish Bar. Extensive opportunities for shopping with a full selection of French wines and cheeses as St. Martin is fully integrated with France. Favourite beaches are Cupecoy and Baie Rouge.

Other island highlights not to be missed are lolo barbecue lunches in the gastronomic village of Grand-Case, a drive to the top of Pic Paradis, rum punch while watching planes land overhead head at Sunset Bar.

For such a small island, Saint Martin/Sint Maarten packs a powerful punch. Hotel Beach Plaza is the perfect base to experience the full breadth of it.

Room Tip: Oceanview all the way. Island view is non-descript.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annapolis, md
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2012

Our third stay at Beach Plaza in the past 5 years confimed the benefits of a nice balcony with great view over Marigot Bay, and short walk to dozens of excellent restaurants. However, the very basic, minimally adequate room showed signs of wear with paint peeling, rust on bathroom fixtures and balcony railing, and general disrepair. Definitely past due for a rehab. Front desk staff seem to have missed the part about how easy it can be to smile, seem friendly and be helpful. Be aware that the "beach" is about 200 ft. long, and narrow: not exactly a destination, but ok for a few days to enjoy the scenery, food and 3 nearby pastry shops that are wonderfully French.

Room Tip: Spring for the extra cost of an oceanfront room. Also: in late February 2012 some major road cons...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wlb692
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, Connecticut
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2012

stayed 2/8/12-2/11/12 and the place is worn out and seen better days. looks like it is headed for liquidation. minimum service (poor) at front desk and no help with luggage. front desk service is poor and very minimal. also strange set of events when using amex card. pay cash.

Room Tip: island view rooms mean they are on a busy street with construction taking place. avoid island view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1960duke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
485 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 459 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2012

Several years ago, while on business in Marigot, I stayed at this hotel. It was great then and so I decided to take my wife there as the second part of a three part 15th Anniversary celebration. The third part was a Wind Star Cruise on their large sailing yacht "Wind Surf" which departed from Phillipsburg. On arrival, we did have a problem with our reservation which had been arranged through American Express which subs out these types of reservations through Travelocity. Although we had booked, and prepaid, and had confirmation of an Ocean View room with balcony, the hotel staff advised that Travelocity had confirmed only a street side ("island view") room which sells for a lot less than the beach side! Fortunately, I was able to provide them with a copy of my confirmation from American Express and they moved us into an ocean view room in the second building well away from the main building. The copy of the reservations from Travelocity that they gave me stated "DO NOT REVEAL TRAVELOCITY NAME TO GUEST". Fortunately, the staff were very helpful in resolving the problem caused totally by Travelocity!

Once the room issue was resolved, we did find the room to be comfortable, the balcony a great place to sit and look out to sea (and to Anguilla) and from which to watch all of the passing yachts. The hotel is centrally located to the marina and the nearby shopping district.

Breakfast was good with various fruits, cheeses and breads along with the standard eggs (friend, scrambled, boiled, etc).

Room Tip: Make certain to confirm your reservation if made through American Express!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank photoguy66degrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marigot
1.5 mi away
Mercure Saint-Martin Marina & Spa
4.0 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,661 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
4.9 mi away
La Playa Orient Bay
La Playa Orient Bay
#4 of 8 in Orient Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sonesta Ocean Point Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Beach Hotel

Property: Le Beach Hotel
Address: Baie de Marigot, Marigot 97150, St. Maarten-St. Martin (Formerly Hotel Beach Plaza)
Location: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Saint-Martin > Marigot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Marigot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach Hotel is ideally located in front of the Caribbean sea, on a small beach of fine, golden sand at the heart of the Marigot Bay. The area offers a shopping mall, fine restaurants and a variety of nightlife entertainment. All 144 rooms and suites are spacious and fully equipped, with views of Marigot and the mountains, or sea views. Enjoy our restaurant/bar located by the swimming pool and facing the Caribbean sea.. Get ready for the perfect holiday with our dedicated activity desk, musical animation, beach bar, beach and pool entertainment, and solarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Fastbooking, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Le Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Plaza Hotel
Beach Plaza Marigot
Le Beach Hotel St. Maarten-St. Martin/Marigot

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing