We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the trip”
Review of Mario's Bistro - MOVED

Mario's Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Groton, CT
Level 6 Contributor
332 reviews
196 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Worth the trip”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Mafrios is not near many hotels but it has great food and a vew of the bay and channel. Make a reservation and ask for a table by the water.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    41
    11
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Why go to Grand Case?”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We found Mario's by accident as it had been suggested we visit a nearby restaurant. When the menu there did not look as appealing, my husband mentioned he had read about Mario's and read it had been excellent, but reservations needed to be made in months in advance. We took a shot and stopped in. We were greeted by Didier, the host and business partner to Mario who creates the menu. An 8:00 reservation was a no show, so we were in luck and were seated promptly. I cannot tell you what an amazing dining experience it was. The restaurant is located close to Nettle Bay and sits on a dock over a river (I believe) where you can see fish swimming below you. My husband and I are well seasoned foodies and the food here was impeccable. Without a doubt, this beat our meal in Grand Case where most restaurants are considered to be the epicenter of Saint Martin's culinary hub. What completed the meal was our host for the evening, Didier. He was personable, down to earth, and made our last night in St. Martin very special. He even sent us off with a glass of champagne at the end of the evening. He really made us feel welcome. We will be back to visit Didier and Mario's when we return. Thank you Didier! Bottom line: Excellent, carefully prepared food, wonderful and prompt service, beautiful and romantic setting...this should be your special occasion spot when visiting the French Side. Parking available in front of the restaurant.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rosiez3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our visit to Mario's. The service staff were very attentive, the food was delicious and Didier made everyone feel very welcome. A must to for our next trip.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mms51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alr4444
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Consistently fantastic food and 5 star service!”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

The staff is very friendly, extremely efficient and helpful in deciding between all the amazing menu items in addition to the wonderful specials they regularly offer. I think it's nice to have a table on the water, but not totally necessary as the restaurant is intimate and the tables "not on the water" are only next to the tables by the water. Overall, the atmosphere and food is amazing at any table. Highly recommend this as one of the best restaurants in St. Maarten and worth the drive from other areas of the island.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank alr4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medinah, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Simple, elegant food and service”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We came to this restaurant with friends who had previously dined there. They were spot on! The service is impecable, the food is an experience and the portions are large enough to share. We were able to sit next to the water and watch the night-time shrimp boats go by. I agree, this restaurant sets the standard for the island. While it is mainly our one special night out, it is worth every Euro/dollar you spend. Highly recommend this for a highlight of your vacation. Word of warning! Make your reservation as soon as you hit the island. The word is out on how fabulous the place is.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SPEDDoc92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mario's Bistro also viewed

Sint Maarten, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Marigot, Saint-Martin
 
Marigot, Saint-Martin
Marigot, Saint-Martin
 
Marigot, Saint-Martin
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing