We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simple, elegant food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mario's Bistro - MOVED

Mario's Bistro
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, Seafood, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Romantic, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Medinah, Illinois
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Simple, elegant food and service”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We came to this restaurant with friends who had previously dined there. They were spot on! The service is impecable, the food is an experience and the portions are large enough to share. We were able to sit next to the water and watch the night-time shrimp boats go by. I agree, this restaurant sets the standard for the island. While it is mainly our one special night out, it is worth every Euro/dollar you spend. Highly recommend this for a highlight of your vacation. Word of warning! Make your reservation as soon as you hit the island. The word is out on how fabulous the place is.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SPEDDoc92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    41
    11
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antigua WI
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Simple, understated and exceptional!”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Untouchable service, great food. I had wahoo carpaccio, was really really outstanding. My main course was shrimp encrusted in crab with a corn and edamame salad. That wasn't that great, but the urgent wine, the ambience all made up for it. Dessert I had a dark chocolate tart that was really fantastic. The person next to me had the beef short ribs with truffle oil and his meal was exceptional. I would definitely go back to this restaurant. I heard you need to book 4 days in advance though, so if you plan on going book ahead! It's worth the effort.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank marita_la
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Lake, Michigan
Level Contributor
72 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Mario's - Great Food - Superb Service - But in Euros”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We booked our reservation 2 weeks before we got to St. Maarten as we were told it's very hard to get a reservation at Mario's. So we were thrilled to dine there. The service was outstanding, they were very attentive and informative. The wine selection was great. The food was excellent, I had the duck & it was very good - I would have liked the skin on the duck to be more crispy (per the description). We had a great water side table. The restaurant is on the waterway (canal?) leading out to the sea. Just one thing to be aware of (and we were, )....long past are the days where dollars are accepted on the entire island...the bill was in Euros - so for a party of 4, each of us got a salad, 2 bottles of wine, and an entree, the bill was $362.00...you can find great (fine dining) restaurants on the dutch side of the island in dollars and save a bit - if that matters to you. We knew the bill would be in Euros- I wanted to eat at Marios and am glad I did.....but the currency conversion stings a bit.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BellaClaire429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, VA
Level Contributor
168 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Perfect As Always”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

This has been our favorite restaurant on the island for years, and it continues to be. As always, our visit in Feb. featured perfect service, a warm welcome, fabulous food, and a friendly but totally professional atmosphere. As far as we're concerned, this is THE STANDARD to which others should aspire!!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank dcgrandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Marios Bistro SXM”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

This restaurant in located on a channell/canal that boats use to exit simpson bay lagoon on the French Side. Thus it allows a nice view with activity and good lighting on said water. The Food/Service and Ambience is Superb.!!! Escargot=veal-pollo-FISH..all fresh and cooked to order,,,The pricing is charged in Euro's with no discount on us dollar to uoro,,So with wine/dessrts (Homemade and decadent :}}}} it cam be pricey. If you want to treat yourself (selves) to a memorable night,,,call ahead. reserve waterfront table and make memories.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mario's Bistro also viewed

Sint Maarten, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Cupecoy Bay, Sint Maarten
 
Marigot, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing