We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great way to end a Vacation”
Review of Mario's Bistro - MOVED

Mario's Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Eldred, New York
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Great way to end a Vacation”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

I have been to St. Martin numerous times and always end my trip at Mario's. In my opinion this Is top notch. I have read many reviews that this is a tourist trap and overrated. I tend to disagree. They always have wonderful specials. The night I went, baby chicken special was fanatastic, plus the veal and duck. You have to factor the service, probably the best on the island. Didier is the greatest host you will ever encounter. So friendly and geniune. Wow. This guy makes you feel so comfortable. Definitely come. Only setback is the Sandy Ground region, away from everything and tough to park. Other than that make sure you visit. Make sure!!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GREGG1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    41
    11
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
amsterdam
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very good , make reservations”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We walked in here and asked for a table for 2 the waiter automatically assumed we had reservations, when he realized we did not he politely told us they are booked for the next few nights. I made reservations and we came back a few days later. Food and service was perfect. On the higher end of the budget but definitely well worth the wait and money. A must while in sxm

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bikeamsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittstown, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best in St. Martin!”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Best in St. Martin! A must if you looking for great food and service! Staff is wonderful and food is outstanding. Very clean and trendy.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank farmerrj77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“My most favorite restaurant on the island!”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We have been going to Mario's Bistro for years and it never disappoints. Didier's warmth and Mario's outstanding recipes with beautiful presentations keep us coming back. One of us always gets the cream of carmelized onion soup and the roast duck. The onion soup is very flavorful, sweet and very different from the French standard. The roast duck is beautiful - crispy skin and no fat with roasted garlic and topped with a few homemade potato chips. The best duck I've ever eaten. This last visit I had the baked pistachio-crusted mahi-mahi. It melted in my mouth! For dessert we had the divine baked pear tart. It was made with a delectable pastry crust. If you want a real treat, invest in the Mario's Bistro Cookbook. It comes with wonderful step-by-step instructions and wine pairings. No, I do not get a commission - I just love the restaurant! Reservations are necessary and they are only accepted by phone - no email reservations.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Traveler4106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“well done”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

doesn't disappoint. you can always get a good meal here with great service. everything was cooked perfectly. staff was very attentive and the owner makes his rounds of the table to say hello and make sure you are happy.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank janey303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mario's Bistro also viewed

Sint Maarten, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Cupecoy Bay, Sint Maarten
 
Marigot, Saint-Martin
Marigot, Saint-Martin
 
Marigot, Saint-Martin
Marigot, Saint-Martin
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing