We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Superb French restaurant!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mario's Bistro - MOVED

Mario's Bistro
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, French, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Superb French restaurant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

What a wonderful restaurant -- and what a surprise to get world-class French cuisine on this little Caribbean island! The menu is short with an emphasis on sea food but poultry, beef, and pork are also available. The food is perfectly prepared, beautifully presented, bursting with flavour. Service is efficient and friendly. The restaurant overlooks a canal so try to get a seat next to the water, especially if you want a romantic setting. This place is not cheap but it is well worth it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Martha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    41
    11
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aston, PA, USA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent in every way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

Food, service and ambiance are all excellent. Get a table by the water and watch the boats go by and see the fish swimming in the canal. Staff is attentive from your server to the bartender. The owner circulates the room and even gave us a complimentary after dinner drink. We have been to St. Maarten's 20 times and this is now one of our favorite ones.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Madelyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yardley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

We have been here 5 times and each visit excellent. The food is delicious, well made, and quite a fusion of cuisines. Service is attentive, warm, and helpful. The restaurant has tons of charm and casual elegance. Definitely one of St. Martin's best, which is really saying something considering the number of great restaurants here. Can't wait to return.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manlius, New York
Level Contributor
135 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Best Dinner on St. Martin”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

Mario has done it again. Every time we eat here it is wonderful (probably once or twice a year since its opened)!. I usually like to try new things, but I can't help but order the Pad Thai. It is like nothing you've ever eaten at a Thai restaurant. With succulent duck and shrimp it is magnificent. The rest of my table usually orders more exciting and different things. No one ever goes home unhappy. While the food is delicious beyond belief, the presentation is just pure artwork. Mario is just a genius and his partner, Didier, who is the host of this marvelous restaurant, is warm and friendly and so gracious. The overall service by the waitstaff continues to be the best. The waiters are attentive and there is no rushing you out. I love this place- my absolute favorite on St. Martin and if I had to recommend only ONE restaurant on the Island, this would be IT! And considering I feel it's the best, it's definitely not the most expensive. Yes prices are high, but after dining elsewhere on the Island I know it is competitively priced for fine dining.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gemaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, New Jersey
Level Contributor
40 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Completes the "Must Eat" Hat Trick of SXM”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

Three dinners you must have in St Martin: Ti Bouchon, Pressoir and Mario's Bistro. We've been going for six years, and the front of house is the same -- Didier is the maitre'd and runs the front, Mario is running the kitchen. Reservations are a must as they try to do "seatings" at 6 and 9 (more like 9:15).

I can only give accolades to Mario's red sauce from the pretext of eating a lot of red sauce -- we live in the NY area, we visit a lot of Italian restaurants, and red sauce (gravy) is a staple -- we put it on meat, on shellfish, on bread, on just about everything except ice cream. Mario's red sauce is up there in the Gravy Pantheon. It really is -- there aren't many dishes that my wife will try to recreate (using Mario's cookbook and a lot of practice), but Mario's sauce is worth the effort.

Mussels with red sauce. Must-have appetizer. Keep the bowl of sauce and mop it up with some of their bread. Aspire to be Bobby Baccala in real life. It's that good.

We've had a variety of fish, shrimp, veal and duck dishes, and they have all been outstanding. It's a good combination of sauces and flavors, and the right combination of Italian influence and French approach. The half duck is pretty outstanding, and the veal scallopine approaches the red sauce in epic wonder and reputation.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank snowmanonfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mario's Bistro also viewed

Sint Maarten, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Cupecoy Bay, Sint Maarten
 
Marigot, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing