We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Caribbean food. Curry and jerk chicken rocks!”

The Jerk & Roti Hut N.V.
Ranked #42 of 103 Restaurants in Philipsburg
Cuisines: Caribbean, Jamaican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
60 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Caribbean food. Curry and jerk chicken rocks!”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

I was wanting to have curry chicken and jerk chicken done right. Well, we bought ALL the meat dishes because we wanted to taste everything. And, it was all AMAZING! My 12 year old ate all the chicken stew. The Roti was a great side to dip into the amazing sauces in all the dishes. We even bought the johnny cakes.
It might look like a place you would be unsure of but, you can rest assure that the food is fantastic and extremely reasonable! They even do breakfast too.
This place is on our list of restaurants we will be eating at every year!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank franrmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    9
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Jamaican Style Cuisine ... "tasty as can be."”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Was in Saint Maarten ... 11/29 thru 12/08/2013. The Jerk was under renovations when we were there last year, but it was worth waiting for. Not only is there a fresh, bright attractive sign outside to welcome you, inside was also redone with nice open space for the customers comfort, mainly take-outs, but can catch a seat for quick snack; plus the food is just as delectable, good, and tasty as before (not like many restaurants that cut corners to cover costs, to increase profit margin) ... but rather, kept or even improved on the genuine taste (Jamaican) ... rich in flavor. we bought food and stored in our two bedroom with spacious kitchen accommodations at the Royal Palm Resort at Simpson bay. Just loved it! Cant wait to go back ...

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LovewaterBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Outstanding!!!”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

There is a real great gem on the main street #66 Bush Road Cul-De-Cae. This small restaurant serves the best chicken roti I have ever had. Among other items to enjoy Curry Goat and Jerk Chicken. The staff is fast and efficient and very friendly. It was very yummy. The owner was attentive to our thoughts on the enjoyment of our food and full of knowledge on what the island has to offer for things to do. The prices are great and you get a fair sized portion. This a definate must if you are ever in St. Marteen.N.A

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank caribbean2Kitchener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjie1975, Manager at The Jerk & Roti Hut N.V., responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Thank you very much for the review and see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great food with great service!”
Reviewed November 28, 2013

we like to stop at the little local bars for a drink and lunch and this was one of our best stops on St. Maarten, the food had a taste to remember and the price was right, exellent clean place!!! keep up the good work we will be back

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dale w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Oaks, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food!”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

My husband and I have been going to the Jerk on every visit to Sint Maarten and since it was downtown Phillipsburg across from the police station. On our recent visit we visited and at first we were concerned that it had a new owner. But our initial concern was short-lived. All I can say is WOW! The food was delicious, especially the curry goat! The portions were generous and the desert was absolutely fantastic. It was great to see some of the waitresses were still there. The waitresses who helped us were so very pleasant, accurate and courteous, at each visit! We loved the service with a smile, local jerk, great oxtail stew, and lots of spicy food, escovitch fish prepared in creole sauce, and sweet tooth that is out of this world; Unfortunately we found that the new addition of roti to the menu needs some improvement as we are used to great roti from Singh's Roti in Queens, NY. So we look forward to better roti on our visit next year. The Jerk and Roti Hut N.V. is definitely the place on St. Maarten to get great local food. Keep up the great jobs guys, I will surely recommend you to everyone.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Triniusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Jerk & Roti Hut N.V. also viewed

Philipsburg, Sint Maarten
 
Philipsburg, Sint Maarten
 

Been to The Jerk & Roti Hut N.V.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing