We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Boardwalk is a Tourist Trap”
Review of Boardwalk

Boardwalk
Book In Advance
More Info
$390.00*
and up
BeerCycle Tour in St Maarten
Ranked #6 of 56 things to do in Philipsburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: shopping, dinning, cultural, romantic walk
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase
Mobile, Alabama
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The Boardwalk is a Tourist Trap”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

The Boardwalk is a Tourist Trap and the next street over is dangerous. I watched a "security guard" for one of the jewelry stores walk across the street to the off side of a tourist's rental minivan and check the 2 doors to see if they were unlocked. When he saw me, he walked back across the street and started being a "security guard".

Every store that I entered, the shop keepers would follow me around the store to make sure I wasn't stealing. In one store I had 4 people watching me and asking if I needed anything else.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Ryan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,381 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    651
    526
    165
    25
    14
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice walk from cruise ship port”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Instead of getting our walk in on the ship, we decided to get off the ship and walk to the end of the board walk. We began our walk at 8 am so the board walk was practically empty of people. Once we got to the end of the board walk, we walked over to the next street and walked back. Again, the street was empty except for the merchants setting up for the day. This was a great way to see the touristy side of St. Maarten without the crowd. It took about 75 minutes to do the round trip at a leisure pace.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
362 reviews
157 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Pretty view, small beach”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

A small stretch of beach runs along one side of the Boardwalk, restaurants and a few shops along the rest. It is a pretty stretch but not the prettiest section of the island. However, for the cruiser that isn't looking to travel far from the ship, it is a nice place to spend some time with plenty of restaurants with great views. Also easy access to the shopping on Front Street and surrounding streets which is far better than along the Boardwalk.

There are bathroom facilities but the public ones had no toilet paper. Other, apparently private ones, cost per use. While there are plenty of options for chair and umbrella rentals, bring your own towels if you plant to visit the beach.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Anna911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East York
2 reviews
“Boardwalk”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Like a mini Atlantic City. Lots of shops and bars Too bad it was not more securely linked to the hotel and lit up more at night.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bruce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
143 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“It was nice and pleasant and a nice stroll for a boardwalk”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

If you have been on boardwalks this is nice, clean and pleasant. You can stop and sit, buy food, ice cream, get a beach massage, visit the restaurants and shops and as a board walk goes it as nice as they come.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mounque B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boardwalk also viewed

Philipsburg, Sint Maarten
Philipsburg, Sint Maarten
 
Maho, Sint Maarten
Sint Maarten, St. Maarten-St. Martin
 

Been to Boardwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing