We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great bar right on the beach….”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Honky Tonk Bar

Honky Tonk Bar
Ranked #12 of 100 Restaurants in Philipsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $18
Cuisines: Bar, Caribbean, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Lively restaurant/bar right on the Great Bay Beach. Beach chairs and umbrellas available. Home made Pizza, burgers, seafood, snacks, 4 types of Nachos, and Cold Draft Beer.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great bar right on the beach….”
Reviewed April 1, 2014

The Honky Tonk Bar is right on the boardwalk and on the beach. We stopped here on our cruise and spent the whole day on the beach. The Honky Tonk Bar has happy hour from 11-12 every day and the beers are $2. The food was really good and reasonable prices. The bar tending staff were really cool and lots of fun.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    41
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Turner Valey, Alberta
Level Contributor
280 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
“Excellent value and great atmosphere”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We have never tried this restaurant before and it was a great find. We stopped in for lunch and my husband and I both had nachos. He had the seafood nachos and I had the chicken. The portions of the nachos was perfect for the value and we have never had nachos with the right cheese/meat ratio before. It was excellent! The atmosphere was very good as was the service. We will definitely be back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leahsxm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine, Minnesota
1 review
“Good food and music.”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

We heard the music from Front St. And decided to give it a try. Nice setting on the beach and boardwalk of Great Bay Beach in Phillipsburg, St..Maarten.
I ordered the deep fried shrimp which was an appetizer. It was fabulous. Deep fried coconut batter shrimp with a spicy dipping sauce. Very good and reasonably priced. I will go back again and encourage others to try the Honky Tonk Bar.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank terri_325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“" Worth the Visit"”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Simon, the owner, is friendly, hard working and passionate about pleasing his guests! We had breakfast and lunch there and couldn't have been happier with the food and the beautiful view.Staff was great too!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Faz44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookline, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Cold beer, good bar food”
Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

We have enjoyed St Maarten for at least 7 times over the years starting in the early 90s. Front street has grown with the cruise ships, so we were happy to find cold beer good bar food, a nice view, at the "far end" of the "board walk".

We especially liked the BLTs that had almost too much bacon. Simon and his wait staff were friendly and let us sit and enjoy for literally hours.

For good bar food and inexpensive drinks on the boardwalk in Philipsburg, this is our go to place!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank herbhs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Honky Tonk Bar also viewed

 
Philipsburg, Sint Maarten
Philipsburg, Sint Maarten
 

Been to Honky Tonk Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing