We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Beach Bar”
Review of Honky Tonk Bar

Honky Tonk Bar
Ranked #13 of 104 Restaurants in Philipsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $18
Cuisines: Pizza, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Description: Lively restaurant/bar right on the Great Bay Beach. Beach chairs and umbrellas available. Home made Pizza, burgers, seafood, snacks, 4 types of Nachos, and Cold Draft Beer.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fun Beach Bar”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stopped here for lunch and drinks--bartender was great, had a fun time and great views of the water

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank ErinN2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    41
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“The Ultimate Beach Bar!”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Simon and his staff provide the best beach bar atmosphere, food and service in Phillipsberg!! How great to sit under an umbrella on a beautiful beach in your bathing suit enjoying the BEST guava-coladas and cold beer! The food here is fantastic! Great burgers, pizza and sandwiches. Didn't get a chance to try more on the menu but this will be a regular spot for us whenever we're in St Maarten!!!! Great menu!
Happy hour is 11am to noon. Be warned though, they close around 4/5pm most days so this is a lunch or early dinner spot. Would love to see them open until 8!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bladegrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshkosh, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“good experience”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Simon is awesome! Great food (we had the salads) and rum punch is delicious! Great service, too! Awesome laid back feeling :) Super close to our hotel and the beach

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kate F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forsyth, Georgia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Cheeseburger in Paradise”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

My husband and I spent the day on the beach in Philipsburg on a cruise recently. The Water Taxi from the pier is a quick excellent way to get to the main drag ($7 all day access) Our goal was to use the taxi to go back to the ship for lunch - never made it - instead we found Honky Tonk on the beach (being from Georgia - it appealed). We enjoyed walking the boardwalk checking out all the shops and local handmade items - and when we found a casino right in line of the shops - my husband yelled "bingo!!" Last part of the day was "beach time" and we got two chairs and umbrellas outside the Honky Tonk for $15 for the day. Then we headed to Honky Tonk for some awesome cheeseburgers (maybe it was the atmosphere - maybe it was the sun - but they tasted super good!) My husband hung out at the bar with "Simon" the bartender who entertained as he kept up with the crowd - and I headed to the beach. We love St. Maarten, having visited twice and can't wait to visit again. Where else can you get off the ship - and have beach - beach attractions, food, shopping and casino's all at your fingertips-- it's a wonderful port!!

I would caution that the undercurrent is strong and there is a steep dropoff right where the waves break for people with children - so be careful -

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tec55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Food, Drink and So Much More...”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We ate here for breakfast and lunch almost every day during my stay in St. Maarten. The owners or at least the two guys behind the bar who run around with more energy than you can muster, know how to treat folks right. Standard beach bar fare done with a flair. Polite service from the wait staff and they know how to pour a pint. If you've eaten/drank here, you'd know what I'm talking about. On this stretch of beachfront bars/grill, this is by far the best of the bunch. From the burgers to the greek salad to the poppers, I can go on and on. When the cruise ships are in, it's always packed and the music is loud...you can't beat that!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BklynFamilyof4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Honky Tonk Bar also viewed

 
Philipsburg, Sint Maarten
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 
Philipsburg, Sint Maarten
Philipsburg, Sint Maarten
 

Been to Honky Tonk Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing