We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Philipsburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villas on Great Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 31, 2009

This was absolutely our best trip ever and we travel 3-4 times a year. We usually do all inclusive vacations and decided to try something differeint. I surfed the internet and found this wonderful villa complex and must say I have found a gem. We will be returning an for more then the two weeks we stayed this year. Location was absolutely perfect. We felt very safe at all times. Josh who manages the villas knows his stuff and is always on hand to answer questions and help you plan a day if need be. He has two wonderful dogs names Sammy and Sash both females and this really made our vacation as we are big dog lovers and these two are big sucks. We really did feel that we were at our home away from home. The villas are two storey, ours had 1.5 bathrooms with a full kitchen, living dining room area and a walk out from the bedroom and from the lower level into a private lanai. What more would anyone want. It was truly paradise. We enjoyed breakfast in always and had food on hand to make lunch if needed. We always walked the beach after 11am and returned mid to late afternoon after visiting many shopping and bar establishments during our walk. We sometimes had a great appetizer mid/later afternoon that filled us into the evening and then maybe enjoyed a snack or something later on if required. A little grocery just steps from the villa that offered everything that you would ever need to buy to put into the villa. We walked further down to a larger grocery for more variety. Josh will give you directions to a great bakery for good pastries and croissants for morning breakfast to enjoy with your coffee while you read the paper that he delivers daily to keep you abreast with the news if you want. The pool was so relaxing and we like our pool warm and this pool was refreshing getting in but once you were in I am sure it was 80 degrees. The gardens are gorgeous and the guests that arrive are both interesting and friendly. Someone always different but we enjoyed everyones company. We were in villa 6 and it is very tastefully decorated. We did have the opportunity to view other villas and they are all well decorated to each individual owner and each one truly a gem whether you are right on the ocean or enjoying a villa in the gardens with just a short maybe 15 steps to the waterfront. It is very peaceful and I enjoyed watching the ships come in every day. Many visitors to the island but most people are very friendly. If you decide to book any of the 12 villas on this property I am sure you will not be disappointed...as I said earlier this was AWESOME....no words can really describe one of the best vacations that we have ever experienced. Thank you Josh and Zoey for your hospitality and to allow us to enjoy your dogs as if they were our own. Cheers to both of you and we will definatgely see you next year....Patti Wyborn, Barrie, Ontario

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank patti4141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (171)
There are newer reviews for Villas on Great Bay
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

157 - 163 of 171 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2009

We stayed at the Villas for one week, sharing the 2 bedroom condo with another couple. We were happily surprised - the condos are in good condition and the common areas are well maintained. The manager, Josh,goes out of his way to make your stay enjoyable.
This is a small, quaint, friendly condo complex for a very reasonable price. What more could you ask?

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aumanNorthCarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2009

Just returned from 11 days staying at the villas on great bay and had an amazing expirence. Josh the villas manager was more accomadating than words can express. I would highly recommened anyone to stay there over anywhere else. the location was perfect. The views were spectacular, I am missing them already as I write this. We were within walking distance of many shops, resteraunts, bars & casinos. Anyone cosidering staying in St. Martin shouldnt consider anywhere else to stay. The Villas make you feel like you are at home. I will never stay in a hotel or resort again. Once again I cant say enough about the villa manager Josh..trust me you wont be disappointed. He surpassed all are expectations!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank todos08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2009

We just returned from a week at The Villas on Great Bay in Philipsburg it was perfect. Josh, the manager, was waiting for us outside. The Villas have there own parking, so this is never an issue. If you have been to St Maarten you know this is an issue on the whole island. We were shown directly to our villa and it was perfect. Very clean, separate air in each room, every small appliance you could want, big fluffy towels, including large selection of beach towels. The units are large and the view is spectacular from the living room. Every morning we went out early with our coffee, picked up the paper Josh had delivered, and watched the cruise ships come in. There is an over abundance of lounge chairs or tables and chairs, lots of shade, a pool that is perfect temperature and rarely used. Since I had only traveled all inclusive before I was used to having to get up at dawn and save chairs, what a wonderful change. One of the biggest benefits to staying a the Villas is that is is 2 steps to the beach and the ocean is great to swim in just in front of the units. You can walk to town (over 170 jewelry stores), quite a few restaurants in walking distance also. One down side is after 6pm Phillipsburg closes down. For any real night life (other than the GreenHouse restaurant, excellent restaurant with 4-7 happy hour) there is not a lot to do in Phillipsburg, you must drive to Simpson Bay, which at night only takes 10 minutes. Josh is very helpful and knows the island well, grocery shopping is just like home (slightly higher prices on most things) and very close. Security is a huge issue on St Maarten and the Villas have it covered, with a private guard in the evenings and well locked gates and units. Although locals were quick to talk about crime and safety we never once felt unsafe and had no problems anywhere on the island. It is easy to visit the whole island with short drives. We found each beach or town to be unique and have its own personality, everyone must do a Lolo in Grand Case, a bakery in Margot and have the planes fly over your head in Maho. (The restaurant at Lottery Farms is the best hided treasure on the island for lunch) I would go back to St Maarten any day. Value for dollar The Villas are the best buy on St Maarten.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sarniatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2008

A friend had recommended that we consider The Villas for our visit to St. Maarten. Our stay was an absolute delight.

While The Villas offer every amenity coupled with a spectacular view of Great Bay as well as close proximity to all of the shopping on Front Street in St. Maarten, it is the management of The Villas that will cause us to return.

In large part, the daily efficiency of and resulting relaxation at The Villas is attributable to Josh, and his wife Zoe. From their initial personal welcome to The Villas, a morning greeting from Josh during his personal rounds of newspaper delivery, some great advice on dining and travel throughout the island as well as their ongoing hospitality, all of these little extras made our stay on St. Maarten that much more memorable.

Do we recommend a stay at The Villas? Absolutely. Relax and put your feet up. You will be well looked after.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank travelveteran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2008

We just booked 3 nights in November 08 again. This will be our second stay at this little villa complex. Though you are really amidst the myriad of shops on Front Street, you still get a sense of quiet and peace, at the end of the street, where these are situated. The place is immaculate, well appointed and completely comfortable. Josh is always there to welcome you, help you with whatever you need, give you great recommendations, and even lets you check your email in the little reception area. The price of the units are probably less than what you would spend for just a room. It's a no-brainer. Can't wait to return in November.

Stayed: November 2007
2  Thank Lorrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2008

My wife and I just spent a wonderful week at the villas on great bay. It has a lot of wonderful attributes--great location for walking into Phillipsburg--wonderful view of ocean and cruise ships--secure--great location to explore from--and the price is reasonable. Josh, the property manager also does a wonderful job of making your stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank jerryp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Philipsburg
0.6 mi away
Holland House Beach Hotel
Holland House Beach Hotel
#1 of 12 in Philipsburg
815 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sea Palace Resort
Sea Palace Resort
#6 of 12 in Philipsburg
228 reviews
0.7 mi away
Belair Beach Hotel
Belair Beach Hotel
#4 of 12 in Philipsburg
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Pasanggrahan Royal Guesthouse
Pasanggrahan Royal Guesthouse
#5 of 12 in Philipsburg
262 reviews
5.8 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
1,815 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas on Great Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas on Great Bay

Address: Front Street 211, Philipsburg, St Martin / St Maarten
Location: Caribbean > St Martin / St Maarten > Sint Maarten > Philipsburg
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Philipsburg
Price Range: $234 - $355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villas on Great Bay are located on Great Bay Beach in a quiet residential neighborhood of Philipsburg, the Dutch capital of St. Maarten, and about 20 minutes’ drive from the island airport. Within easy walking distance you’ll find restaurants, world class duty-free shopping, casinos and nightlife, and the lively boardwalk.We are a small, gated property with a security guard on duty throughout the night, and an on-site property manager to ensure your vacation is hassle-free. Each of our villas is privately owned, but each has the same basic layout – two bedrooms upstairs (some with ensuite bathrooms) and 1½ to 2½ bathrooms, a fully equipped kitchen, private lanai, and each comes supplied with linens, including beach towels. Our nine beachfront villas have spectacular views of the Caribbean Sea, while the remaining two overlook our tropical gardens.We know how to make your visit to our beautiful island everything you’ve hoped for and expected. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villas On Great Bay Hotel Philipsburg
Villas On Great Bay St Martin / St Maarten/Philipsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing