We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Villas on Great Bay
Nearby Hotels
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort(Philipsburg)(Great Value!)
$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Holland House Beach Hotel(Philipsburg)(Great Value!)
$208
$178
WIOL.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
L'Esperance Hotel(Philipsburg)(Great Value!)
$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$78
$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$128
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Pasanggrahan Royal Guesthouse(Philipsburg)(Great Value!)
$198
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea Palace Resort(Philipsburg)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Internet
Reviews (170)
Filter reviews
170 results
Traveler rating
146
17
3
1
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
146
17
3
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe property managergreat baygas grilloutdoor showerrose mariecommon poolboth bedroomsst maartenisland knowledgerestaurants and shoppingfront streettaxi or busalways felt safeother guestsshort walkwater heatergrocery store
Filter
Updating list...
86 - 91 of 170 reviews
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Stayed April 26- May 7th-2014. I can't say enough about this villa rental. This is the first time my husband & I stayed at a place that wasn't all inclusive. Unless I am with our kids we will not do all inclusive again. This is the way to go. The villa # 2 is beautiful and within walking distance to a million things. The beach and pool were right out front of our villa making it a beautiful view. The island itself is breathtaking l and I need to go back to experience the things we didn't have time for. The property managers - Jim & Gina were the bomb! Wilfred our night watchmen was our late night entertainment. We couldn't ask for more. Thank you Ontario - Canada

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OntCanuk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VGBowners, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Villas on Great Bay, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Hello! Thanks for your great review! On behalf owners and managers let me thank you for your words, we are very happy you enjoyed our place. Jim & Gina are more than managers, they really care about the villas and we owners are so proud to share our caribbean escape. We wait for your next stay at the villas!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2014

We were very happy with our entire experience at Villa #1. The owners do a great job maintaining this wonderful condo. They seem to treat it like a second home rather than as a rental property. It felt like our home as well while we were there. We've been to many other places in the tropics. This is one of our favorites. It is well maintained and well equipped. Great Bay isn't the greatest beach on the island, but even so, it is just fine, and the water, while not crystal clear, is clean, warm and inviting. The property managers, Jim and Gina, are great to deal with. They're more like neighbors than property managers. It is no wonder that this unit is so popular. We love St Maarten and we really love Villa #1.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edgemerian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VGBowners, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Villas on Great Bay, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Hello Perry, thanks for review! You got the point, our villas are really a "home away from home". All owners and managers are a great family that want to share this corner of paradise with guests like you. Guest first is our truly daily slogan. We wait for your next vacation in the Caribbean!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

We returned a week ago from St Maarten and can't wait to return. We stayed 2 weeks in Villa #5 and we were very comfortable. The views were spectacular and weather just about perfect. Property Managers Jim and Gina are fantastic and great sources for information on dining etc. We experienced a Carnival Parade and it was amazing. We did not rent a car this time and did not miss it. Everything is within walking distance and the cab is readily available. This is our third stay at The Villas on Great Bay and will book another stay in the future. Met lots of wonderful people from across the US, Canada and even Sweden. Great fun!!!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank GNorris2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VGBowners, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Villas on Great Bay, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Hello, dear guests... You may run for recurring guests contest! Here at the villas we all are so happy you enjoyed once again your stay in our caribbean paradise. On behalf Jim and Gina too, let me thank you for your great review and wish you a quick return on our island!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

For our annual girls getaway I chose St. Maarten and we were not disappointed. We stayed in Villa #6 which is located directed on the beach front. The two storey unit was perfect. On the first floor there was a powder room, a kitchen with all the necessities of home, a dining area and living room where you could sit and watch the waves. There was a walk out to a lanai with comfortable seating and a table. Directly to the right was the pool area. The second floor had a full bathroom and two large bedrooms with very comfortable beds. I was fortunate enough to stay in the bedroom at the front of the villa with a walk out to a large terrace overlooking the beach and the cruise ships. The beach is very clean and not busy at all. Gina and Jim are the property managers and keep the ground immaculate. Gina also arranged for Jimmy from Leisure Car rentals to drop off a car for the day right at our door and pick it up the next day. She also booked us on a day trip. We were picked up at 8:30 then driven to the port where we boarded a catamaran that took us around the entire island. We stopped to snorkel a few times and had lunch in Grande Case before heading back. Daniel's by the Sea (a short 15 min drive away) and The Greenhouse (located near the dock) are two lovely restaurants with good food. There is also two small stores a couple of hundred feet from the Villas with reasonably priced items. We thoroughly enjoyed our relaxing week away and can't wait to return.

Room Tip: I liked Villa #6 because it was directly on the beach, close to the pool and had the best views of the ocean.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EuropeBound4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VGBowners, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Villas on Great Bay, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

Hello!!! It looks like you enjoyed your stay at the villas! Thank you so much for your great review and the amount of suggestions you leaved for other guests. On behalf the owners and our great managers... We too can't wait to have you back in our caribbean escape!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Could not have asked for anything better! The Villas were absolutely the best place for us, we can't wait to go back! We stayed in Villa # 7 and will request this same Villa on our next visit - there will be more visits! There is nowhere else on the island we would rather stay than at the Villas! The beach is basically your own, you don't have to fight for your spot because there's hardly anyone else around! Perfect. The beach was approximately 16 paces from our door, Perfect! Quiet, lots of space to move around. We started the week heading out for dinner but halfway through the week we just didn't want to leave our 'home'! We visited our local grocery store, which is just around the corner for any groceries we needed. The people are great and felt comfortable everywhere we went. Jim and Gina, the property managers, are wonderful! great people and so helpful!!!! Anything you needed, and questions you may have Jim and Gina are just so great! Thanks Jim and Gina!!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VGBowners, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Villas on Great Bay, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Hello Karen, what a wonderful review! Let me thank you so much, on behalf Jim and Gina and our villas owners. We love feedbacks like yours, we love happy people, we love relaxed people who can fully enjoy our unique Caribbean escape. We wait for you in the next future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews