We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Relax And Put Your Feet Up"”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Philipsburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villas on Great Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 19, 2008

A friend had recommended that we consider The Villas for our visit to St. Maarten. Our stay was an absolute delight.

While The Villas offer every amenity coupled with a spectacular view of Great Bay as well as close proximity to all of the shopping on Front Street in St. Maarten, it is the management of The Villas that will cause us to return.

In large part, the daily efficiency of and resulting relaxation at The Villas is attributable to Josh, and his wife Zoe. From their initial personal welcome to The Villas, a morning greeting from Josh during his personal rounds of newspaper delivery, some great advice on dining and travel throughout the island as well as their ongoing hospitality, all of these little extras made our stay on St. Maarten that much more memorable.

Do we recommend a stay at The Villas? Absolutely. Relax and put your feet up. You will be well looked after.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank travelveteran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (170)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 170 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2008

We just booked 3 nights in November 08 again. This will be our second stay at this little villa complex. Though you are really amidst the myriad of shops on Front Street, you still get a sense of quiet and peace, at the end of the street, where these are situated. The place is immaculate, well appointed and completely comfortable. Josh is always there to welcome you, help you with whatever you need, give you great recommendations, and even lets you check your email in the little reception area. The price of the units are probably less than what you would spend for just a room. It's a no-brainer. Can't wait to return in November.

Stayed: November 2007
2  Thank Lorrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2008

My wife and I just spent a wonderful week at the villas on great bay. It has a lot of wonderful attributes--great location for walking into Phillipsburg--wonderful view of ocean and cruise ships--secure--great location to explore from--and the price is reasonable. Josh, the property manager also does a wonderful job of making your stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank jerryp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2007

We recently returned from staying at the Villas on Great Bay, what a wonderful place to stay. They are right on the beach which in the off season is rarely crowded, you pretty much have it to yourself. The townhouses are immaculate, and nicely laid out. There is a living room/dining area, kitchen and half bath on the first floor in addition to the covered patio area that overlooks the bay. On the second level there are two bedrooms, one is facing the water with a veranda off of it and a full ceramic bathroom. The manager, Josh is the nicest guy you will ever meet, very personable and helpful in giving you directions to anywhere you want to go on the island, he also gives great recommendations on restaurants to dine at. Josh was also helpful in arranging a car for us, Donicio (car rental manager) was right there at the airport when we landed with the car, he escorted us to the Villas in another car which was great as you can sometimes get lost when in a new location. One of the great things about the Villas is you can walk into Philipsburg for dinner or shopping, you can either walk on the beach or go out the back of the Villas and walk on the street. Having breakfast on the second floor veranda in the morning and seeing the cruise ships dock across the bay will forever be a great memory for us. Places to eat are either within walking distance on the beach in Philipsburg or a short drive away, right on the beach is the Greenhouse, great food and ask to be waited on by Chris, she was a doll! Also try Pineapple Petes for the best Lobster Thermidor ever, Josh recommended it and he was not wrong. Le'Escargot in Philipsburg is wonderful for a special meal (pricey but worth it) the owner and his wife have been there for 25 years and treat their customers with such hospitality you feel at home from the moment you walk in.
For a fun afternoon go down to the Sunset Beach Bar (Maho Beach area)and have lunch and watch the planes land, they have the scheduled landings on a surfboard chalkboard, make sure you take a camera as the photos are amazing when the planes land. The island is only 37 miles around so you can take a day and drive around the whole island and see many different beaches, they all have a different personality and each is spectacular. Traffic can be a problem but you just have to take the bull by the horns and jump right in and take your place in line. For grocery shopping go to Le Grand Marche, just like your grocery store at home with one exception, they have international items you will never find at home. If you shop there the bag boys are not employees of the store so make sure you tip them for helping you with your groceries. One thing we found out is the grocery stores do not sell any kind of pharmacy items, you need to go to a pharmacy for those, I needed something for mosquito bites and could not get it there. There is a pharmacy right in Philipsburg, again you can walk there on the beach. This was our first trip to St. Maarten and as soon as we were on the plane heading home we were ready to go back, its a wonderfully friendly island that just beckons you to come back!

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank debbh_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2007

This is the 2nd time we have stayed at Great Bay Villas. The oceanfront villas are the best. Short walk to Phillipsburg via the brick road or the beach. Close to restaurants and the management are the best. Arranged a car rental both times at a wonderful price. Great view of the beach, Great Bay and the pool. Hope to go back for a whole month. 1 or 2 weeks isn't enough. Food, liquor prices are some of the best in the Carribean with an amazing selection. Shop at the Grand Marche for best selection. New airport is very effiicent complared to the old one. Fun beaches to visit and bargains on jewellery. Day trips galore and super scuba diving operation Scuba Fun at Dock Maarten.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank PFischer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2003

Townhouse Villas are now named Villas on Great Bay. Wonderful place to stay. Twelve villas, manager uses one, all are two bedroom, two bath.
Great view of Great Bay Harbor from nine of them. Have stayed there three times and love the place. Have no qualms on staying on Front Street!

8  Thank sxmgroupie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: Villa 9 wegen Alleinlagecam Rand dervAnlage
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2015, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VGBowners, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Villas on Great Bay, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philipsburg hotels
0.6 mi away
Holland House Beach Hotel
Holland House Beach Hotel
#2 of 12 in Philipsburg
830 reviews
0.6 mi away
Horizon View Beach Hotel
Horizon View Beach Hotel
#8 of 12 in Philipsburg
123 reviews
0.6 mi away
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
0.6 mi away
Alicia's Inn
Alicia's Inn
#1 of 3 in Philipsburg
82 reviews
1 mi away
L'Esperance Hotel
L'Esperance Hotel
#7 of 12 in Philipsburg
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas on Great Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas on Great Bay

Address: Front Street 211, Philipsburg, St Martin / St Maarten
Location: Caribbean > St Martin / St Maarten > Sint Maarten > Philipsburg
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Philipsburg
Price Range: $250 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villas on Great Bay are located on Great Bay Beach in a quiet residential neighborhood of Philipsburg, the Dutch capital of St. Maarten, and about 20 minutes’ drive from the island airport. Within easy walking distance you’ll find restaurants, world class duty-free shopping, casinos and nightlife, and the lively boardwalk.We are a small, gated property with a security guard on duty throughout the night, and an on-site property manager to ensure your vacation is hassle-free. Each of our villas is privately owned, but each has the same basic layout – two bedrooms upstairs (some with ensuite bathrooms) and 1½ to 2½ bathrooms, a fully equipped kitchen, private lanai, and each comes supplied with linens, including beach towels. Our nine beachfront villas have spectacular views of the Caribbean Sea, while the remaining two overlook our tropical gardens.We know how to make your visit to our beautiful island everything you’ve hoped for and expected. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villas On Great Bay Hotel Philipsburg
Villas On Great Bay St Martin / St Maarten/Philipsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing