We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Villa on Great Bay!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Philipsburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villas on Great Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 16, 2013

The Villas on Great Bay are a treasure in Phillipsburg! From the moment we entered the complex and were greeted by Jim and Gina, we knew we made the right choice. Villa 9 was a dream come true. Comfortable and spacious for the two of us, and plenty of room for more guests. This condo is perfectly located on the beach for all times of day, with sun, shade, privacy and people watching, all available, depending on where you want to lounge. We decided that this was the best spot in all of Phillipsburg. We slept well, ate like royalty, and played happily. Jim and Gina were perfect hosts, and gave us excellent advice about where to visit and what to do. Our rental car came in handy because we wanted to explore other beaches, and restaurants on the French side. But for those hours that we chose to stay at the villa, the beach and the pool were perfect. We had a magical week, loved the island, and met many happy friendly people. We hope to return as soon as possible, and would stay at villa 9 again in a heart beat.

Room Tip: Villa 9 on the beach is perfect!
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Patti L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VGBowners, Proprietario at Villas on Great Bay, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Hello Patty,
let me say, what a review! I wanna thank you so much and I'm very happy you enjoyed my villa, the complex and the island. We absolutely want you back in our little paradise!
See you very soon...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (171)
There are newer reviews for Villas on Great Bay
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 171 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2013

My husband, three children and myself stayed at The Villas for four nights and had a wonderful time! Our accomodations were very nice and casual, perfect for our family to relax and unwind. It was incredible to be right on the beach and also to have access to a lovely pool area! Two of the highlights for our family were the outdoor shower and the comfy beds! The living room area was spacious for our family of five. Lastly, the proximity to Front Street and the restaurants was convent and fun.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Miplant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VGBowners, Proprietario at Villas on Great Bay, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Hello M!
Thanks for your great review. As villa #9 owner I'm so proud that an entire family could enjoy the pleasure of staying in my property and appreciate all his features. I really hope to have you again as the fabulous guest you are. My best wishes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We returned to the Villas on Great Bay again this year and stayed in Villa 1 with another couple Feb 9-16. Two other couples stayed next-door. All I can say is that we loved this Villa and had a wonderful week. The Villa was very nicely furnished, clean, comfortable and well-stocked. We didn't "want" for anything. The owners and managers take pride in their facility and it shows. The recent renovations of the exterior are very nice and I especially enjoyed the new beach loungers. The pictures posted here accurately describe the Villa and if anything they don't do justice for the beauty of this Villa and the location on the island. The view is unbelievable and watching the cruise ships is fun. Managers, Jim and Gina, were very helpful. We enjoyed being able to walk to restaurants and shopping and always felt safe on the island and at the Villa. We definitely recommend this Villa to others and hope to return again someday. Thank you for a wonderful and memorable vacation!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AngieL33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VGBowners, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Villas on Great Bay, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Yes, no picture can do justice of beauty of position of the Villas on Great Bay! Thanks for your nice review on behalf managers and owners. We all take pride of our little piece of paradise because we are owners but we're guests too somewhere else... we just want the best for our guests! Waiting for your next caribbean escape...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We just returned from a week long stay in Villa 9 of the Villas on Great Bay, and can't wait to return again. The location, directly on the beach, just down from the end of the boardwalk, provided peace and a relaxing view of the Great Bay of Phillipsburg. Villa 9 was pleasant and contained all we needed for the week.

Each morning there were the day's papers waiting for us as we had our coffee on the covered patio. Plenty of plush towels were provided and a well-stocked kitchen allowed us to purchase groceries to fix our own breakfasts, lunches, and a few evening meals.

We enjoyed the lovely pool and the delightful turquoise waters of Great Bay each day. Walking the boardwalk allowed us good exercise, and great shopping. We ate several meals at the numerous beach bars and restaurants along the boardwalk.

We needed no car to get around. We took the bus to Marigot one day and a taxi to Sonnys grocery to make our food and liquor purchases. We also enjoyed the day catamaran trip around the island with snorkeling and swimming stops. The tour company picked us up at the front gate.

Gina and Jim were great help. Owners, Louis and Claudette, generously let us tour their newly renovated villa. The entire Great Bay Villas has undergone updates that make it a standout on the beach. You could choose to visit with other guests or enjoy your privacy.

Having done several cruises, we wanted something different and our stay at the Villas on Great Bay was by far our most memorable vacation yet! Thanks so much, Jim, Gina, and owner, Luca, for making our stay perfect!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Roanie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VGBowners, Proprietario at Villas on Great Bay, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Hello Roanie2, you described the perfect life every villas guest can do!
As owner of villa #9 am very proud to read reviews like yours and I wanna thank you because your kind words give sense to all my efforts to make any villa stay as the best caribbean escape possible. On behalf all owners, let me say that our whole complex is a real hidden gem in St.Martin, especially after major renovations we made in the last summer season.
We can't wait to have you back as guest, ciao!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We spent 4 miserable days at another place just up the beach from the Villas, and during a walk down the beach we discovered this little gem. Everything about it was perfect - right on the beach, the amenities it provided, it's proximity to shopping and dining. I spent every morning watching the sunrise from my terrace or upstairs balcony. The magnificent blue of the caribbean just steps from my door. The managers are helpful in every respect - from the basket of goodies that welcomed us to providing help in arranging transportation, tours, or activities. If you come Sint Maarten this is a must stay kind of place.

Room Tip: ask for the Villas on the beach - particularly 7,8 or 9 - they private and closest to the beach
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VGBowners, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Villas on Great Bay, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Hello George,

on behalf all owners let me say we're very happy for your "discovery"! We just finished a major renovations program and are very pleased that you had the possibility to enjoy our complex hospitality and managers assistance. Now you know where we are, we wait for again in the next future. Spread the word!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We had a wonderful time while staying in St Maarten at villa #9 at the Villas on Great Bay. The villa was beautiful and very clean. The owner and property managers were very helpful with anything we needed even directing us to a safe place to rent a car from. The villa has a lanai upstairs and down where you can sit and relax and watch the cruise ships come and go. It is a very pretty setting and you can be as busy as you want with all of the beautiful beaches to choose from on the island or just relax on the lanai at the villa with a good book. You can even swim right outside your door or take a quick 10 minute walk down the beach to Phillipsburg! We did lots of beaches, shopped, ate, drank, and did a day on a small catamaran and saw lots of huge yachts. Fun trip!!! Would recommend Villa #9 and St Maarten to others and would definately stay at this same villa again. The owner and property managers were great to deal with. Thanks Luca, Jim and Gina!!! :-)

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Ze777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VGBowners, Proprietario at Villas on Great Bay, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Dear Ze,
it looks like you had the perfect vacation we want for all our guests! Thanks for your nice words, on behalf me and our fantastic managers Jim and Gina who made a fantastic job (as usual).
See you soon back in our little piece of paradise! Ciao, Luca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

This place is the BOMB! The view is to die for! The condo is very homey and kitchen was full of useful items. The grill was brand new and we grilled out 3 times during our stay. The location of this gem is PERFECT. It is RIGHT on the BEACH! I mean...its right there! We loved the pool area and enjoyed sunning oursleves each day. I don't know how, but they keep that pool crystal clear...it was never dirty-always so clean! We loved walking down the board walk to front street and enjoyed shopping and then stopping for a nice drink! We rented a car and drove the whole island. They drive kind of crazy over there, so be careful! There is a roaster next door...we named him Bob, and it took us a bit to get used to him...but i'd be lying if i said, i didn't miss him a bit now that i'm home! You won't be sorry is your rent this great villa. We are certain, we will be back!
Thank you Doug!

Sincerely,
Charles and Donna Wittkopp

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VGBowners, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Villas on Great Bay, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Charles and Donna,
thank you so much for your kind review. We want the best for our guests and we like you enjoyed your vacation in our little piece of paradise. We wait for you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Philipsburg
0.6 mi away
Holland House Beach Hotel
Holland House Beach Hotel
#1 of 12 in Philipsburg
815 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sea Palace Resort
Sea Palace Resort
#6 of 12 in Philipsburg
228 reviews
0.7 mi away
Belair Beach Hotel
Belair Beach Hotel
#4 of 12 in Philipsburg
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Pasanggrahan Royal Guesthouse
Pasanggrahan Royal Guesthouse
#5 of 12 in Philipsburg
262 reviews
5.8 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
1,815 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas on Great Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas on Great Bay

Address: Front Street 211, Philipsburg, St Martin / St Maarten
Location: Caribbean > St Martin / St Maarten > Sint Maarten > Philipsburg
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Philipsburg
Price Range: $234 - $355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villas on Great Bay are located on Great Bay Beach in a quiet residential neighborhood of Philipsburg, the Dutch capital of St. Maarten, and about 20 minutes’ drive from the island airport. Within easy walking distance you’ll find restaurants, world class duty-free shopping, casinos and nightlife, and the lively boardwalk.We are a small, gated property with a security guard on duty throughout the night, and an on-site property manager to ensure your vacation is hassle-free. Each of our villas is privately owned, but each has the same basic layout – two bedrooms upstairs (some with ensuite bathrooms) and 1½ to 2½ bathrooms, a fully equipped kitchen, private lanai, and each comes supplied with linens, including beach towels. Our nine beachfront villas have spectacular views of the Caribbean Sea, while the remaining two overlook our tropical gardens.We know how to make your visit to our beautiful island everything you’ve hoped for and expected. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villas On Great Bay Hotel Philipsburg
Villas On Great Bay St Martin / St Maarten/Philipsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing