We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“beachfront” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villas on Great Bay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Philipsburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villas on Great Bay
Certificate of Excellence
canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“beachfront”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2012

Right on the beach in Philipsburgh Stayed in recently renovated unit #2 Very helpful manager on site. Two bedrooms with king beds and 2.5 baths. You can walk along the beach about three minutes into the boardwalk and town. Very close to groceries. You will want a car for dinners out at night. Would reccomend Simpson bay for dinner, and Grand Case is a must to go one night. There is one night a week in Grand Case with a small mardi Gras parade, and of course, if you dont go to Sunset Beach, you will have missed

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thebeever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    17
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
58
67
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2012

We stayed in Unit #1 from March 3rd to 13th, 2012. The property is gated and has 12 units in total. The unit we stayed in is two storeys and is an end unit, which we liked because it provided extra privacy. It has two large bedrooms and one and a half bathrooms. There is a king bed in one room and queen bed with private deck in the other. The whole unit was nicely renovated and it was beautifully decorated, lots of white and turquoise blue colours, it felt like a beach house. Everything seemed new with a fresh kitchen (fully stocked), beautiful bathroom upstairs with a great shower and double sinks. There is plenty of room for 2 couples or a family. We were impressed by the modern amenities like a large screen TV and wireless Internet. Not that we spent much time inside, but there is a large AC downstairs and one in each bedroom. We had no problem staying cool when we wanted to and just needed to use the AC in the bedroom at night.

The view of the great bay was amazing with the beach literally at your doorstep. Each day we saw the cruise ships dock in the nearby town of Philipsburg. The town gets a good flood of tourists during the day and with it comes an entertaining beach side experience on the main boardwalk. There are lots of restaurants, bars, casinos and shops all throughout the town. Unbelievable prices on jewellery, alcohol, tobacco, perfumes, purses and shoes and very good deals at the bars. Also, there was this great convenience store located just outside the Villas, less than a block away called Suki's. It was busy every time we went there but I can see why as the store carries lots of the everyday necessities.

The island itself was great too. We heard that the island is 37 square miles and has 37 beaches! We visited some of them during our stay and loved the white sand and turquoise water. Most beaches offered a deal such as 2 beach chairs, umbrella and some drinks for a daily rental at really reasonable prices. A tip – make sure to take some buns or something to the beaches to feed the fish, great fun! Lots to check out, see and do. The time that we enjoyed most though was sitting out on the lanai at the Villa.

With fantastic views, a great location and a beautifully appointed home, this Villa on the Great Bay was a real gem and we'll definitely be back. We can't wait for our next visit!

Room Tip: Unit #1 has been recently renovated
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fuzzes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2012

Villas of Great Bay is a fantastic location to stay in Philipsburg. This is our 4th time back and it gets better and better with each visit. We had the privilege of staying in Villa #1 which has been recently renovated by very motivated new owners. Villa #1 is an end unit and right on the beach. Nothing is better than opening the sliding glass doors on the upper level in our bedroom while laying in bed and having a view through palm trees that overlooks the water. Relaxing on the new very large patio just outside the living room or bedroom and watching the Cruise Ships come in each day but yet far enough away that you don’t have to be in the hustle and bustle of all the people. Actually you can see the ocean from any room on the first floor. We were there with another couple and had plenty of room to move around but also privacy if we wanted. The new bathroom is to die for. Very large with a double sink and an open walk in shower. There is a skylight in the bathroom that just makes the bathroom so bright and open. The kitchen is very well equipped and we also enjoyed cooking on the gas grill. Everything has been renovated with very high end quality. The four of us enjoyed laying by the pool and just watching the view. The other renters of the Villas are very friendly if you want to socialize but you also have privacy if you want it. You can walk into town in about 10 minutes from the beach or take about 20 minutes by sidewalk on Front Street. Mangers Frank and Sandy will help you with anything you need from car rental, restaurants, shops, and beach suggestions. Frank delivers a newspaper to your patio each morning so if you choose you can still keep in touch with the outside world while vacationing. We could go on and on we were very happy satisfied renters for 11 glorious days. This is a place that you will want to return to time and time again. We definitely would ask for Villa #1 again. I shouldn’t be saying that because I want it available the next time we come. We don’t want too many people finding this wonderful place. Dean and Robin - Pennsylvania

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PaulandDanita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2012

We all know that the enjoyment of any vacation trip depends mostly on who you're with, not where you are! But if you have someone you love, you'll love going to this place. The villa is awesome- far, far better than any hotel room- huge, new, pretty, so so comfortable in every respect, and opens up right onto the beach. We were the first people to stay after the total renovation, and everything is so nice. The managers, Frank and Sandy, are so sweet, you'll want to take them home with you! The short walk on the beach to all the restaurants and shopping is just right and so entertaining (10 minutes). The villa has everything you could ask for, and the WiFi is fast and dependable. The kitchen is so well supplied, I cooked great breakfasts with ease, and even grilled-out one night. The food market is just a half block away, and well supplied. In all our trips, we have never stayed anywhere as nice and comfortable! The view onto Great Bay with the multiple cruise ships is beautiful, and they bring to the shopping area all types with all languages- so entertaining.
Our week at Great Bay was wonderful. You must take the $2 bus to Marigot (French Side) and enjoy another totally different culture (great bakery). My wife and daughter were charmed by the whole trip, and so will you be.

Room Tip: Villa #1 is nicely private, and just completely renovated!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2011

We just spent a week in St Maarten's with Frank & Sandy...what great, loving people they are. The Villas are very fortunate to have them, and the guests will always have a better time there because of them!

We have been friends with them for over 15 years & they are family. We can ALWAYS count on them, because they are people of integrity.

We miss you guys & could always use your skills here if you ever get tired of the heat!

Grace & Dave

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GRACE A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C-town
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

Great management, Frank was waiting out side for us to arrive. He gave us a tour of the grounds and then showed us to our room. Frank then took the time to tell us about local hot spots. Everthing from grocery shopping, dinning, adventures and shopping. He also gave us coupons for some local restaurants. The villas are beautiful, clean and very well kept. Great location as well, it is with in walking distance of downtown. View was also awesome, from your patio you can look out over Great Bay and watch the cruise ships come and go. I can't say enough good things about this place and the people there. I hope to stay with Frank and Sandy again soon.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank raiderfan32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2011

July/2011
Frank, Sandy, we cannot thank you enough for everything you did for us while staying at the Villas. We had an absolutely superb time and if we're lucky enough we will definitely return again. Your kindness and help was definitely above and beyond the call of duty. The owners of the Villas should count their lucky stars to have you managing their piece of paradise. From the moment we arrived until the moment we left we felt totally relaxed, safe and knew we only had to ask you for anything we needed (from general information to umbrellas to charcoal!) and you were more than willing to accommodate!

Once again, thank you so very much for making this vacation a fantastic one!

Dan and Dolores

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank frydo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Philipsburg
0.6 mi away
Holland House Beach Hotel
Holland House Beach Hotel
#1 of 12 in Philipsburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pasanggrahan Royal Guesthouse
Pasanggrahan Royal Guesthouse
#5 of 12 in Philipsburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sea Palace Hotel
Sea Palace Hotel
#6 of 12 in Philipsburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
0.2 mi away
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
0.6 mi away
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas on Great Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas on Great Bay

Property: Villas on Great Bay
Address: Front Street 211, Philipsburg, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Location: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Philipsburg
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Philipsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villas on Great Bay are located on Great Bay Beach in a quiet residential neighborhood of Philipsburg, the Dutch capital of St. Maarten, and about 20 minutes’ drive from the island airport. Within easy walking distance you’ll find restaurants, world class duty-free shopping, casinos and nightlife, and the lively boardwalk.We are a small, gated property with a security guard on duty throughout the night, and an on-site property manager to ensure your vacation is hassle-free. Each of our villas is privately owned, but each has the same basic layout – two bedrooms upstairs (some with ensuite bathrooms) and 1½ to 2½ bathrooms, a fully equipped kitchen, private lanai, and each comes supplied with linens, including beach towels. Our nine beachfront villas have spectacular views of the Caribbean Sea, while the remaining two overlook our tropical gardens.We know how to make your visit to our beautiful island everything you’ve hoped for and expected. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villas On Great Bay Hotel Philipsburg
Villas On Great Bay St. Maarten-St. Martin/Philipsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing