We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“it needs help” 4 of 5 stars
Review of St. Maarten Zoo

St. Maarten Zoo
Caribbean, Sint Maarten
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“it needs help”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

what alot of people don't realize is, that this zoo isn't government supported...it runs on skeleton donations and whatever people pay or buy there...So I do believe they are doing a great job with the means that they have, and everyone should pass there and support the animals! The playground is great for kids as well, though make sure to walk with musquito spray...gots lots of water and bush so musquitoes are abundant!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank fam_Pers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    60
    30
    14
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
111 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Cute little zoo”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

A 30 minute walk from Phillipsburg, easy to miss. $10 entry fee, and the place was pretty empty. Lots of birds, some monkeys, took about an hour to do. I had a great time with the peacocks and some monkeys threw apples at my husband, which was hilarious!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank yashinfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
54 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“we love this zoo!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

we make it a point to check out the zoo every year. our kids love to walk around and talk to all the parrots. fun to walk through bird cage. at the end you can pet bunnies, lamps etc. also a great playground. New this year: no more feeding peanuts - now you can buy Animal crackers! We love the irony!!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank EHS216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DonPedro71
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“ok...for what it is”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I took my kids to the zoo because the semi-submersible was closed (Christmas week). There were lots of parrots. My kids liked the playground there. I wanted to get back to the beach, but for what it was (a couple hours of diversion), it wasn't terrible.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank DonPedro71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“kid friendly and small”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

My son enjoyed the monkeys and was able to feed a very tame peacock and some goats. The ride there from the boat was interesting... a nice quiet outing.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Carrie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Maarten Zoo also viewed

Philipsburg, Sint Maarten
St. Maarten-St. Martin, Caribbean
 

Been to St. Maarten Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing