We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, beautiful views, lots of shells and white sands - what more could you wish for?” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Great Bay Beach

Great Bay Beach
Book In Advance
More Info
$25.00*
and up
Great Bay Beach Day with Transportation
Ranked #5 of 53 things to do in Philipsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Attleboro, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
188 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Clean, beautiful views, lots of shells and white sands - what more could you wish for?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

This beach is in the middle of Phillipsburg in front of the Holland House as well as some other hotels. The beach is kept very clean, and the water is beautiful. There are beach lounges put out by the hotels - free to guests along with towels (at least at the Holland House). People off the ships for the day can rent lounges and towels along with drinks for a fee.
Staff from the hotels keep the beach clean, and ensure a pathway to the water from the beach. Water wears away at the "shelf" to the water and steps are dug to make the step to the wet sand easy.
The town brings in sand to keep the beach perfect. Small swells come in when the ferry or tenders from the ships cone and go.
It's fun to walk along the beach near the water as there are many shells that come in with the tide. We've seen more shells on this beach than on any other we've been to.
A truly lovely spot for a vacation or just a "beach day".

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank 2goldensmom111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

893 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    443
    319
    104
    20
    7
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Attleboro, Ma.
Level Contributor
154 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“wonderful swimming beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

Enjoy the warm water, after all, this is the Caribbean. A good beach for all to share. Beach umbrellas are available from different vendors for a small price. Jetskis are available. Take care of your skin because you are in the sunny climes. Also please note that if there are several cruise ships at the docks, the tenders tend to make waves. The positive note out of this is you can enjoy body surfing on the waves.
You will not want to leave.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Captcaffeine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Windsor, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Blue Seas”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013

The water was different shades of blue, a little choppy/wavy, and the sand make it hard to walk on. The lounge chairs were very uncomfortable and there was no chairside bar or food service.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank glittergirl73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good for Jetskiing and great swim”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

After brief negotiation I got the Jetski for $40 for half and hour. Usually I pay $35 but that's in Mexico. Didn't mind to pay the $40. I felt like there was a lot of room to Jetski. Swimming at this beach was great. I felt like a kid and didn't wanna come out the water.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank 613_Tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Excellent For Cruisers, Family Friendly and Gorgeous Beach!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

Our family visited Great Bay Beach while docked in St Marteen for the day. We were cruising on the NCL Epic. This beach is an excellent choice for families traveling with young kids and/or seniors. This is because this beach is located so close to the pier where the cruise ships dock. As soon as you get off the ship, you can walk through the port village and in less then two minutes you will see the area to get the water taxi. It's towards the left as you are walking through the port. You can always ask someone to point you in the correct direction. Very easy to find the area for the water taxi. It's only $7 /pp round trip. Great value. You get great views of the beautiful turquoise water and beautiful island! It's a quick 5 min boat ride!
As soon as you get off the water taxi you are directly on the beach! No long walk which is great with kids. Bring a towel, toys for kids and USD cash. As soon as we got off the water taxi some one was asking if we wanted to rent an umbrella and chairs. We got an umbrella, two chairs, and 4 drinks for $25. Which we thought was very reasonable. I would recommend getting off the ship as fast as you can and board the water taxi immediately. This will allow you to arrive ealy to the beach. The beach gets excessively crowded within about 2-3 hrs of the cruise ships docking. We were one of the first ones on the beach so we got a great spot. As the day went on the beach got so crowded that you were almost stepping on people while walking on the sand. This beach has lots of great shells for collecting. Water is warm and beautiful turquoise! We really love this beach! I love the fact that you can see the cruise ships from the beach! It's so nice to look at your cruise ship while you swim in the gorgeous ocean! For people interested in doing a little shopping, all the stores are a 5 minute walk from this beach. So you can easily fit in a little souvineer shopping during your beach time. My mother in law and I did a little shopping while my husband played with our kids on the beach. Its so convenient to have the shops, restaurants etc right beside the beach! We appreciate that it is so family friendly, safe, clean and locals are very friendly! We felt safe and welcome for our entire time on this lovely island. Overall we really enjoyed our first visit to St Marteen and would definately come back to this beach!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank VargaTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Great Bay Beach also viewed

Philipsburg, Sint Maarten
Sint Maarten, St. Maarten-St. Martin
 
Maho, Sint Maarten
Orient Bay, Saint-Martin
 

Been to Great Bay Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing