We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Paradise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Great Bay Beach

Great Bay Beach
Book In Advance
$25.00*
and up
Great Bay Beach Day with Transportation
Ranked #5 of 55 things to do in Philipsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Stanford-Le-Hope, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

We arrived in Pillipsburg on the Adventurer of the Seas and took a water taxi from the dock into the town and after spending what seemed like an eternity for us two men we finally made our way down to the beach where we were met by a beach tout i will call him for the want of a better term, he offered us a they do sun loungers on the beach, a really reasonable price as it turns out $10 for two loungers at a parasol.as it was late in the season the beach was virtually deserted, the four of us and about fifty yards down the beach another couple, strange as we had just got of the ship with about 2,500 other passengers. This being our first time in the caribbean we thought this beach was paradise, despite the numerous beach vendors trying to sell their wares a polite no thank you sent them on their way without any hassle. Our beach tout returned his name he told us was Nelson then offered us beers and cocktails and as it would have been rude to refuse we had a bucket of 6 red satripes and two rum punch cocktail for $18 bargin. Needless to say after one cocktail each the ladies was a bit squiffy, unfortunatley after a few hours it was time to get back to the ship to start the next leg of our Trans-atlantic cruise, but we are looking forward to going back to spend some more quality time on Great Bay beach in the near future.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank stupot51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

790 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    394
    279
    91
    19
    7
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
225 reviews
81 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“beautiful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

great view of the cruise ships, you can easily walk to philipsburgh via the beach. Lots of various activities along the beach

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Namaste24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
44 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“lovely beach.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

It was a nice beach right in front of our hotel.. Most days you were able to swim, and you could see which cruiseships were in the harbour that day. Nice view of Saba.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank DublinHennie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philipsburg, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Oh boy, the Fun to be had”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Great bay beach is the most popular beach in St-Maarten. If you come on a cruise ship day, IT IS HAPPENING! So many people, so much to do and the entertainement is off the hook!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank FunAndRollSegway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Havasu City, Arizona
Level Contributor
138 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Least expensive beach break with A+ ratings!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

This was my 6th time a cruise landed me in St Maartin and our 3rd time going to Lizzy's. We have been to Orient Beach, Pinel Island, rented scooters, ATV's and even a car. We finally found the best to offer at low cost. Get the all day water taxi for $6pp. This allows you to bring purchases back to the ship, eat for free and return to the beach. When you exit the water taxi, the beach is both on your right and your left. There will be many hawkers who try to lead you to chairs as they make money from the store fronts. Don't allow this as you get a better deal by telling them "No Thank you" and finding the seats yourself. Walk to the left down the beach about half way down you will find Lizzy's. There we got 2 beach chairs, an umbrella, a water float, 2 Red Stripe beers and two shots of flavored rum and free WiFi...all for just $12 total,,,NOT per person. Last year it was $10. I sat on the beach and swam in beautiful water. My husband sat up under Lizzy's covered open porch, listening to music while enjoying $1.50 beers after our feebees. He checked his emails and work messages. There is also a big water trampoline that was free and plenty of jet skis to rent along the beach. We went early to get the best chairs,went shopping a little, went back to our ship for lunch and returned to our chairs by the water for the remainder of the day. The shopping in the next street over and you can access it right next to Lizzy's up the side street, We met wonderful people and they watched our chairs and things. This is by far the greatest island stop for a non expensive excursion...don't miss it!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
14 Thank Donnamar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Great Bay Beach also viewed

Philipsburg, Sint Maarten
Maho, Sint Maarten
 
Philipsburg, Sint Maarten
Orient Bay, Saint-Martin
 

Been to Great Bay Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing