We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Business plus alittle pleasure” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holland House Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holland House Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Philipsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
74 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Business plus alittle pleasure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

The Holland House on the beach at St Maarten - a wonderful place to stay - always a good choice! A Boutique Hotel - not your Westin or Samana, but definitely a GREAT place to stay when traveling to St Maarten for business or pleasure. Right on the beach on the Dutch side, walking distance to Front Street shops and restaurants. Ask for a room with an oceanfront view - you will love the cruise ships afar, the sunsets, the palm trees, the sailboats, etc. The staff have always been helpful and courteous - good food & drinks too!

Room Tip: Upgrade to ocean view room - totally worth the extra $.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yoly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    278
    47
    28
    16
See reviews for
70
364
32
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

The location is Prime, The Food is Gourmet and the Restaurant Manager is of the Finest Caliber , The staff is very Helpful and Professional. The NEW Ocean Bar is Amazing with a great Bartender, Roy who made our beach service very pleasant. This is undoubtedly the best stay in St Maarten The room was comfortable and clean. We will definitely come back again to stay.
Quinn

Room Tip: Rooms with the ocean views are especially great as you are directly on the Ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Donald Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

We had an awesome time at Holland House. Definitely worth the upgrade to a room with a view of the beach and boardwalk. Good food and drink, but slow service in the restaurant and bar in the evenings and yes we know all about island time. If only everyone was as efficient as Roy on the beach, fast and friendly service there!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsdlv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marigot Bay, St. Lucia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Stayed there for 2 night on my trip to St. Maarten. The hotel is on one side facing the beach and the other side the front street with shops. the service is fantastic, staff are so friendly and help full, food is good and the rooms are clean. so if you go to St. Maartin don't bother to look for another hotel just simply book Holland House beach Hotel and your stay will be unforgettable. next time I go back to St. Maartin I will be staying there again and again.

Room Tip: I does not matter what room you have - the they each have their own charm
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julietta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary Esther, Florida
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Stayed a few days there, thought just to book a hotel near the pier, but that turned out to fall in love with the entire hotel, the signature drinks, the tasty food and the warmhearted staff.

A real catch,that's why we came back after 2 weeks sailing.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Okaloosa64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

Love the convenience! Rooms are great, service is awesome. Luciana planned our entire getaway and the staff is super helpful. My recommendation- get an aloe massage on the beach from Norma with the orange hat!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pm3292003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

My husband and I recently celebrated our two year wedding anniversary in St. Maarten. I think that it is important that readers understand what to expect if staying at the Holland House. There are both pros and cons to consider and I will try to evenly highlight both. First off, the Holland House is obviously not a five star hotel. If that is what you are expecting, stay elsewhere. I must admit, from reading the reviews, I expected much more from the basic ocean view room before I arrived. Me and my husband were disappointed when we arrived in our ocean view room. The room was rather small, a bit dated, and had a strange, unpleasant odor. We immediately called down to the front desk to see what could be done about the room. To our surprise, the management upgraded us to the Junior Suite. This room was sooooo much better. It smelled very clean and was very spacious. The balcony also offered a great view of the beach. I realize that this room is much more expensive than the others, but if you are staying at the Holland House and want a spacious, comfortable, and modern room, book the Junior Suite. The regular ocean view doesn't even compare. If you are ok with a small and dated looking room, try the street or ocean view. The Junior Suite has two televisions and an amazing ceiling fan that goes at such a high speed, sometimes a/c was not necessary. The only con to this room was that there was a strange sewage smell that came from the bathroom during the evening on two different occasions. The smell lasted for about half an hour each time, and eventually fully dissipated. This may have been due to some issue within the entire hotel, I am not sure. Overall, this was a very good room. I cannot stress enough, if you are picky about your living quarters, book the Junior Suite!! It is even more modern that the Penthouse Suite. We had an issue with our key during our stay and management offered to upgrade us again to the Penthouse. While it was very large and roomy, it was definitely more dated than the smaller Junior Suite, so we opted to stay in the Junior Suite.

The breakfast buffet was included in our booking and it was awesome. Along with the buffet, we were able to have the kitchen prepare another complimentary item each morning. We mostly asked for omelettes, and on one occasion we had french toast which was delicious. The area where you eat is very nice and offers a great view of the beach and board walk. Ceiling fans were on to keep the area cool. The eating and lounging areas are some of the nicest things about the hotel.

The people at the front desk were great about helping request a taxi for us whenever we needed to go out for a distance. They also sent up a complimentary bottle of champagne on the night of our anniversary, which was very nice.

All in all, staying in the Holland House is all about what you are expecting. Again, if you want a five star experience, you should probably look at the more expensive places on the island. If you are looking for comfort and great access to the beach, boardwalk, and Frontstreet, stay at the Holland House and request the Junior Suite.

Room Tip: I cannot stress enough, if you want to be comfortable book the Junior Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank candice w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Philipsburg
5.9 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
4.5 of 5 stars 1,603 reviews
2.5 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#1 of 7 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 stars 664 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
0.8 mi away
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
5.3 mi away
Sonesta Ocean Point Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holland House Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holland House Beach Hotel

Property: Holland House Beach Hotel
Address: Frontstreet 45, Philipsburg, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Philipsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Philipsburg
#1 Romantic Hotel in Philipsburg
#4 Family Hotel in Philipsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holland House Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located, right on the beach in downtown Philipsburg, the Holland House offers great charm, a unique ambiance and a rich Caribbean experience.Meet the friendly Islanders, relax and enjoy all that St. Maarten has to offer. The hotel is also located on Front Street, where you will find the best shops and boutiques on the island, all still Duty Free!The Hotel offers 54 rooms and suites all recently renovated, an award winning restaurant and wine cellar, a beautiful outdoor lounge deck and a magnificent beach right in front of the hotel with personal and attentive service. It’s great to be here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, West Indies, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Holland House Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holland Hotel Beach
Holland Beach
Holland House Beach Hotel St. Maarten-St. Martin/Philipsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing