We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holland House Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Philipsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Stayed there three days on a business trip. The room was clean quite comfortable. Breakfast was decent and the restaurant/ocean lounge area is very nice and breezy and comfortable with the view of the bay. Good hang out spot if you are on vacation.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank SS-BIM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (821)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

484 - 490 of 821 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2013

A wonderful experience with a simple and good selection of breakfast items, while the view is to die for, literally at the footsteps of the blue Caribbean Sea. Although the breakfast buffet offered hard boiled and scrambled eggs, you could order different style eggs, omelettes and pancakes, and that's what we did. Everyone in our large group wanted something different, and this created absolutely no problem for the friendly waitress.
The buffet included juices, fruit, milk, cornflakes, croissants, muffins, pastry, different types of bread, cheeses, ham etc.
Coffee, tea and chocolate milk were served at the table.
Our group consisted of adults and children, who could safely play on the boardwalk in front of the hotel.
Let me hasten to add that we only used the restaurant and were not staying at the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaribbeanExperienced
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Stayed at this hotel from 6th. to 10th. June and had a blast. The view from the room was breathtaking. The service is excellent and the price is affordable. Rooms are clean, towels are changed daily and the cleaning staff is very friendly. Esther at the front desk was very helpful and friendly. No one can forget Camilla, that little busybody who was always eager to advise us on where to go, how to get there and what we can experience. This hotel is perfect as you are in the heart of the town and besides shopping there are restaurants, churches and casinos everywhere. We felt quite safe walking along the boardwalk at nights. If you want to shop or have a relaxing vacation, then you should try the Holland House Experience. You won't regret it.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are heavenly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sweetee_52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We stayed here the last two nights of our vacation. Our room was nice, very clean. Great location in the town. It was perfect for our last couple of nights. Tons of shopping right outside the door. We wouldn't recommend Philipsburg though for a relaxing vacation.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mappie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Holland House is ideally located if you are doing business in town or just like to shop. The hotel is decent and the staff are friendly. The buffet breakfast is also decent and there is an almond covered croissant that they serve which is worth every calorie if you have a sweet tooth. At the end of a business day, it is a nice location for unwinding.

Room Tip: Ask for a recently renovated room that faces the beach front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mlt1964mba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Stayed for 5 nights in Mid May 2013. Overall had a good experience with the hotel and the island.

Pros - Great location in Philipsburg right on the boardwalk and beach. This is a staple hotel right in the middle of the action. The outside lounge and bar area is a great setup and we spent a lot of time there. Rooms are modern with nice balconies on ocean view room. Had great service on the beach and lounge from Roy and Jeffrey. Pretty reasonable pricing on beer, appetizers and overall dining.

Cons- Service at restaurant was a little poor at times. On 2 separate dining occasions, the staff forgot to put in our food order. Construction was going on at the hotel and we were woken up at 730 am one morning from drilling and tiles.

Overall good hotel. For the location, beware that Philipsburg is very quiet after 6pm if there is not a cruise ship in port. We expected there to be a little nightlife, but it was very tame once cruise ships left. If you rent a car, Frontstreet can be a little crazy for getting parking at the Holland house lot next to the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ryan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Wonderful stay at the hotel, great food and atmosphere... When we checked in they ran the credit card to secure the room, then when we checked out they ran it again saying the first charge is a void. Got home and when the credit card bill came it shows two charges .. $254.71 3/29/13 and the other $183.05 3/30/13 for a one night stay. Wrote to the hotel a month ago and still no reply or refund...

Nice friendly staff that needs more training in customer service.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nycny10025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Philipsburg
2.5 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
5.9 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#2 of 8 in Grand Case
1,817 reviews
2.5 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#2 of 8 in Oyster Pond
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
0.0 mi away
Horizon View Beach Hotel
Horizon View Beach Hotel
#8 of 12 in Philipsburg
120 reviews
1.1 mi away
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holland House Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holland House Beach Hotel

Address: Frontstreet 45 | Saint Martin, Philipsburg 00393, St Martin / St Maarten
Location: Caribbean > St Martin / St Maarten > Sint Maarten > Philipsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Philipsburg
#1 Romantic Hotel in Philipsburg
#4 Family Hotel in Philipsburg
Price Range: $217 - $315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holland House Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located, right on the beach in downtown Philipsburg, the Holland House offers great charm, a unique ambiance and a rich Caribbean experience. Meet the friendly Islanders, relax and enjoy all that St. Maarten has to offer. The hotel is also located on Front Street, where you will find the best shops and boutiques on the island, all still Duty Free! The Hotel offers 54 rooms and suites all recently renovated, an award winning restaurant and wine cellar, a beautiful outdoor lounge deck and a magnificent beach right in front of the hotel with personal and attentive service. It's great to be here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, West Indies, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holland House Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holland Hotel Beach
Holland Beach
Holland House Beach Hotel St Martin / St Maarten/Philipsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing