We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holland House Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Philipsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night after a round-trip cruise. It is a beautiful, modern hotel on the beach in Philipsburg. The beach is excellent, although the view is of the harbor and not of the open sea. The main pedestrian promenade is between the hotel and the beach. The highlight of this hotel is their restaurant. It is almost on the beach, so the atmosphere is very romantic, and the food was superb. We had both dinner and breakfast there. After being incommunicado for a week, we also appreciated their free Internet terminal in the lobby. On the opposite side of the hotel is the main road, with all the (touristy) stores you may want. Our room was on the street side; it had an enclosed balcony, which acted as an amplifier for all the street noise. We slept well anyway, probably because it rained in the evening and few people were out in the street. When I took the (walk-in) shower, the bathroom quickly flooded. I called the hotel maintenance, and they immediatly fixed the plugged drain. I wish they had fixed it before our arrival, but the response was quick. I recommend this hotel for short stays, but if you intend to spend a lot of time on the beach, look for quieter locations ourside the city.

Room Tip: Choose a sea-view room as the street side may be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank entropy71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (821)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

491 - 497 of 821 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2013

Check in staff busy chatting amongst themselves when we arrived. Initially allocated street view when we booked ocean view but this was quickly resolved. The rooms are OK, comfortable beds and nice bathrooms. The lift is very slow and stairs are a little tricky as the steps are narrow so take care using them (especially after a few drinks). Breakfast was above average but one lunch at the restaurant was enough to make us want to eat elsewhere. The biggest problem for us was the location. Phillipsburgh is busy during the day when the cruise ships are in but a ghost town after they leave. When we asked about an ATM for taxi fare on check out when it was still dark, the security guard drove us as it wasn't considered safe. We are unlikely to return to St Maarten but if we ever did we would stay at the Westin as there isn't much about the island that appeals.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

This older but yet very nice hotel is right smack in the middle of shopping on Front Street in Philipsburg in St. Maartin.

The staff were very nice and the lobby / lounge / restaurant were excellent.

The elevator is small, but expected for an older hotel.

Recommended, and I will stay there again when I return to the island in November, 2013.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for an ocean view room, which looks out over the bay and port.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rlpnva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

I liked this hotel. The location was great, it overlooked the beach, but we did encounter some less than stellar service. The bartender located at the bar in the lobby wasn't the most pleasant person. Never cracked a smile and seemed annoyed by our presence. I don't know if he had a general dislike for Americans or if he just had somewhere else he'd rather be but as the first staff member we met after checking in...he left much to be desired. Other than that, we had a nice stay. The room was clean, the view was nice as well. We probably will try another hotel out next time just to get a change of scenery and maybe encounter nicer staff.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crtnymc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We (2 adults) stayed one night, flying in from Miami to pick up a cruise ship departure. The hotel is right on the beach and close to the pier. We selected a junior suite which was a good size with a balcony overlooking the sea. Arrived at 10pm (just as restaurant was closing). They rustled up a couple of club sandwiches. Front desk service not special. Fabric of hotel is OK and commensurate with beachside location - but don't expect luxury. Room (+ club sandwiches!) was c$400 which we thought expensive relative to our 13 hour stay - but may be competitive with other island rates. Can't fault location or room - reflected in rating - but we'd explore other possibilities for a longer stay.

Room Tip: Sea view essential!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Palmeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

This hotel has great food and nice service. The best part of the hotel is that you can sit and view the beach from the restaurant. The beach is so close, if you don't want to sit in the restaurant they have an open bar area and a nice lounge/couch area just to hang and watch the people pass on the boardwalk. The have internet so if your from the ship and want to visit for the day its perfect and the prices are very affordable.

Room Tip: Did not stay in the room only a day visit. My Tip is sit under cover - its get very hot this time of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miike2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one night the evening before our cruise. The location was very convenient to the cruise port. We had a huge, modern suite overlooking the beach. The hotel itself was very nice, but we found the area to be very touristy and not well suited to an upscale boutique hotel. I can't imagine staying here for a week, but it was perfect for what we needed.

Room Tip: We really enjoyed our Junior Suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank courthorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Philipsburg
2.5 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
5.9 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#2 of 8 in Grand Case
1,817 reviews
2.5 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#1 of 8 in Oyster Pond
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
0.0 mi away
Horizon View Beach Hotel
Horizon View Beach Hotel
#8 of 12 in Philipsburg
120 reviews
1.1 mi away
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holland House Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holland House Beach Hotel

Address: Frontstreet 45 | Saint Martin, Philipsburg 00393, St Martin / St Maarten
Location: Caribbean > St Martin / St Maarten > Sint Maarten > Philipsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Philipsburg
#1 Romantic Hotel in Philipsburg
#4 Family Hotel in Philipsburg
Price Range: $217 - $316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holland House Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located, right on the beach in downtown Philipsburg, the Holland House offers great charm, a unique ambiance and a rich Caribbean experience. Meet the friendly Islanders, relax and enjoy all that St. Maarten has to offer. The hotel is also located on Front Street, where you will find the best shops and boutiques on the island, all still Duty Free! The Hotel offers 54 rooms and suites all recently renovated, an award winning restaurant and wine cellar, a beautiful outdoor lounge deck and a magnificent beach right in front of the hotel with personal and attentive service. It's great to be here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, West Indies, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holland House Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holland Hotel Beach
Holland Beach
Holland House Beach Hotel St Martin / St Maarten/Philipsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing