We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Clean, Safe, Convenient to Port” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holland House Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holland House Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Philipsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
146 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Clean, Safe, Convenient to Port”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

Philipsburg's Holland House Beach Hotel is an excellent choice for a pre- or post- cruise stay. Located about a 15 minute walk along a beachfront "boardwalk" to the Wathey Cruise Terminal (OK with small bags, but a short $10 cab ride with large bags is better), the hotel is very clean and safe. The building itself is a bit older, but the rooms are spacious. A beach with chairs and umbrellas is just outside the "boardwalk" entrance. The onsite restaurant (La Oceana) is surprisingly good and relatively inexpensive, as is the house bar for small plates and usual run drinks. The included breakfast was ample and good, consisting of a buffet as well as grill options. Staff is friendly and helpful.

Safety at night on the nearby streets and on the boardwalk apparently can be an issue, at least we were so cautioned by our cab driver and several locals. Happi;y, Holland House has visible and courteous security on the premises and we experienced no concerns.

Check out is 11:00am, with little (or no) opportunity to remain in your room. The hotel, however, will be happy to store your luggage while you explore Front Street or the Boardwalk's shops, bars and restaurants until your departure. Regarding timing, keep in mind that the elevators are few in number and small. Accordingly, you may have a bit of a wait unless you choose the stairs.

Price-wise, Holland House Beach Hotel is a very good value and I would not hesitate to stay there again.

Room Tip: Best priced rooms are cityside and are very quiet. Ours was third floor, over the entrance. Best vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    292
    51
    29
    16
See reviews for
74
380
34
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

I enjoyed my stay at Holland House. This was my first trip to the island so I wanted an easy base for exploring - this fit the bill. Front Street is very vibrant and safe and the ferry to St Bart's is just down the boardwalk.

The hotel itself is well maintained. The included breakfast was abundant but just ok - the hollandsise on the eggs Benedict didn't quite taste like hollandsise.

The beach behind the hotel isn't really a "relaxing" beach. It's an active boardwalk and it is a working harbor so there are cruise ships parked there most of the time. If you're looking for a getaway beach type setting this is not it.

Having explored the island now I'd probably stay in Grand Case next time to be close to all the good restaurants on the French side.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lexaopi9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto, canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

Stayed for six nights at the Holland House and overall, was very pleased. Our room was clean and comfortable with a great view of the beach. Maid service was excellent. Breakfast was included in the room rate and was excellent with lots of options.

What is stopping this hotel from being excellent is the service. There seems to be a culture of indifference among most of the workers there. This includes front desk staff, bar men and women and about half the restaurant staff. While we did encounter some pleasant and helpful staff, it was more of an exception than a rule. The restaurant manager was awesome, but unfortunately his staff don't follow his lead.

That being said we still had a great time. The restaurant is expensive but the food is very good. Try it once and then find better value elsewhere. Grab a free beach chair in front of hotel, but get your drinks from one of the other establishments on the boardwalk as it is much cheaper. I paid $10 USD for 6 Heinekens, in a bucket on ice, right next to the hotel.

Spend the extra cash and get a beach view room.
Save cash by taking a filthy bus rather than taxis to see other parts of the island. It's fun and cheap. $2 gets you pretty much anywhere.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamesHoliday007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

the location of Holland house is ideal on the beach front and in front street where all the duty free shopping happens.

A bit far from the airport and night life but its great for a vacationer and some one who looks for goof duty free deals.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VJ G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colts Neck, New Jersey
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Let me first say according to our housekeeper, Holland House is almost always sold out and overhearing people on the beach I realized many are repeat customers. However, it is not perfect and much depends on your expectations. Lovely open air lobby right on the beach is nice but not as swanky as it appears on web. The food at the restaurant (open air on beach) is excellent and our dinner service was fine (make reservations). Very nice breakfast is served in same restaurant (2 comps per room, after that $19 pp) however breakfast staff were on what we referred to as "island time". Coffee is slow, no one checks to see if you need a refill, and trying to get staff's attention is rough. Front desk staff were hit or miss. Our server on the beach (his name sounded like Roy but prob spelled differently) was very friendly and efficient. Perhaps the reviewer who had a poor experience on the beach had his sub on the one day a week Roy is off. Rooms were clean - no bedbugs because that's first thing I check in every hotel room. Only complaint was sometimes room not cleaned until late in afternoon. We did NOT have ocean view. In fact we never opened the curtains because the only time we were in room we were there to shower, change or sleep. Rooms were nice though could use some drawer space. Mini-frig, safe, coffee maker , hair dryer, iron etc. If you need ice, you have to take your bucket to the lobby bar.Was told to always put stuff in safe. Elevator slow and tiny. Use stairs. If you have someone w/ bad knees etc, request room on first floor so u only have one flight. My biggest problem with the hotel was the location. The entire town operates according to the cruise ship schedule. All the restaurants, bars, shops, boardwalk kiosks etc close down as soon as that cruise ship pulls out. The bustling streets turn into dark empty alleys. Beside the hotel restaurant (which is not cheap) there is The Hard Rock, The Greenhouse and L' Escargo which puts on dinner burlesque shows. That's it - very quiet at night. Ditto in the morning if the next cruise ship isn't due to arrive until early afternoon. There are tons of restaurants on the island as well as night life but you must take cab which is adds at least $40 to your dinner tab. As far as rental cars go, forget it, there is no parking here.

Room Tip: The housekeeper let us check out the suite across the hall with ocean views. Lovely, but the exact s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nehobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Pretty little hotel in the center of Philipsburg. Its not a big beach resort. Its perfect for couples and friends without children. The restaurant and breakfast are great. The service was very good all over. Beach service by Roy was nice and friendly.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jerseyrussia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Spent four great night here a few weeks back. Best location and hotel if you are catching a ship or wanna stay in Philipsburg. Hotel is literally right on the beach and is in the middle of all the shops. The Holland House had a very European feel to it and also feels like one of the properties on Ocean Drive in South Beach Miami. Rooms were clean and updated and service was very good. Do ask for ocean view.
Only drawbacks is that the area does close down at around 6pm when the ships depart. Taxi to others like Grand Case can be expensive so it's best to rent a care if you plan to stay multiple nights and explore the island.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chau81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Philipsburg
2.5 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#1 of 7 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
5.9 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
0.8 mi away
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
2.8 mi away
Oyster Bay Beach Resort
Oyster Bay Beach Resort
#2 of 7 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holland House Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holland House Beach Hotel

Property: Holland House Beach Hotel
Address: Frontstreet 43, Philipsburg, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Philipsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Philipsburg
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Philipsburg
#4 Family Hotel in Philipsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holland House Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located, right on the beach in downtown Philipsburg, the Holland House offers great charm, a unique ambiance and a rich Caribbean experience. Meet the friendly Islanders, relax and enjoy all that St. Maarten has to offer. The hotel is also located on Front Street, where you will find the best shops and boutiques on the island, all still Duty Free! The Hotel offers 54 rooms and suites all recently renovated, an award winning restaurant and wine cellar, a beautiful outdoor lounge deck and a magnificent beach right in front of the hotel with personal and attentive service. It's great to be here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, West Indies, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Holland House Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holland Hotel Beach
Holland Beach
Holland House Beach Hotel St. Maarten-St. Martin/Philipsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing