We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great location, friendly staff.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holland House Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holland House Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Philipsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
86 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great location, friendly staff.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

Stayed at this hotel before a Windstar cruise. Had lovely room overlooking the beach. The staff was very helpful and friendly. A great breakfast. Just outside the open veranda is a boardwalk along the beach. Lots of fun local bars and restaurants with good local music and night life. Would definitely stay here again. But, not cheap.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank retiredhikers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    292
    49
    29
    16
See reviews for
74
379
34
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

We have stayed at HH 3 times for 10 days each the last 3 years in February, and another time in SXM in December. We vacation four times a year and Holland House is are absoiute FAVORITE! I can't believe anyone can give a negative review. From the moment you arrive until you leave all the staff from Esther at thr front desk, Vern the beach boy, the BAR staff Tory, and the great evening mgr.all are the best and have gone above and beyond inn welcoming us and assisting us.

First of all this is a BEACH HOTEL! This is a landmark, one of SXM firsts I think. The characterr is amazing., No, it's not a Marriott, AND THAT'S THE BEAUTY OF IT! Very island. Yes, the elevator is small, who cares? The beds are great, showers are beautiful. We never experienced any noise at night, nor filthy streets, or unfriendly people. The wait stgaff in the restaurant were great as well. Walking distance to everything, but we do take taxis to nightlife and in general in the evening. There are severaL VERY Good restaurants iin walking distance. The walk from the cruise ships is a nice walk if you are up to it, but if not they do have a Tender. We can't make it this month due to work, but we are going for 10 days in April and cannot wait. We have met many weonderful people at the Holland House who return year after year. The weather is also always perfect. You will not be disappointed.

Overall, you can see that the majority of people, give this hotel an excellent rating. I guess the sayhing "you can't please everybody" is true, but the Holland House certainly goes the extra mile to please.Picky from Connecticut.

Room Tip: Depends on how much you want to spend. Street view good bargain wasn't noisy. Like third floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PICKY387
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

The positives - nicely remodeled. Clean rooms, very comfortable. Public spaces were nice.
The downside - almost non existent beach service. I would order something, 30 minutes later I'd see the guy and he had forgotten it. Hours later saw him again, still without my order. The front desk was rude and incompetent. I had to go to the front desk every time I wanted to sign some thing to my room. The Bar staff was just downright disrespectful. The manager ended up giving me a bottle of booze just to apologize. Its a very nice gesture but I'd rather just have good service. There was an overall tone to the place that the staff doesn't enjoy the service industry. I would see them drinking alcohol on duty or eating fast food in the lobby areas. It was just strange. Avoid this place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Kungfoolery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

I really wanted to like the Holland House Beach Hotel, but this place has a lot to work on. Despite having a beautiful website which makes the place look like a trendy boutique hotel, the truth is the place is a cheap motel that had an Ikea facelift. The lobby has so much potential -- it is open air and has both a bar and the front desk, but the staff didn't seem keen on cleaning the space, garbage was left in the open for hours and the furniture was falling apart. Rooms are okay but the facelift they had a few years back is quickly giving way to chipped furniture and peeling paint. Not going to say for certainty that there were bedbugs, but we had two rooms and each of us had bites that developed during our stay; another reviewer mentioned this and i would simply say, please be on alert if you decide to stay. By far my biggest complaint is the staff -- they are poorly trained and the european management seems intimidated and unable to curb the poor work ethic and an obnoxious attitude the pervades the ranks. The staff seems more interested in entertaining their friends, who swarm the hotel, than to assist guests with even simple requests (like getting a drink or checking in). I want to over communicate on this point -- there were a few good eggs in a heaping pile of bad ones, but simply put, the management has no control over their property. Restaurant is expensive but good, I recommend at least one meal there, even if you're not staying at the hotel. If you are taking a cruise, my honest suggestion is to find another hotel and take a taxi to the port, this hotel is half a mile walk to the port...and not a scenic one. If you're looking for a beach vacation, Great Bay in front of the property is a nice swim and the hotel does offer a nice beach atmosphere, but there are other nice beach hotels on the island. For those thinking Phillipsburg is a destination -- it's not, as soon as the ships leave, place turns into a grave yard and you'll need to taxi to Grand Case, Marigot or Maho.

Room Tip: Beach rooms have an awesome view but the hotel often plans loud events on the patio, definitely inqu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Eclipse908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surf City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
121 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

Holland House is the perfect place for a pre or post cruise stay. We stayed before our Windstar cruise and booked a street side room, which was fine. Loved the large enclosed veranda. The bar/lounge area with comfortable seating overlooking the boardwalk and beach has a great ambience. The breakfast included was great. There is a buffet and you can also order additional items from a menu. The french toast was the best I've had in years. The beach offers chairs and umbrellas for guests and service was provided by a pleasant young Dutchman. The hotel is only a short walk to the cruise terminal, but water taxi or regular tax is available. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would choose Holland House again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank njbeachbum56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MN
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

The location is great, right on the beach. At one point they had to shut off our water and when we got back at 10pm there was a note saying we had to move temporarily across the hall. All the next day we kept checking back when they asked and it wasn't until 4pm that we could finally get back in our room. No compensation for the inconvenience.

The staff for the most part was friendly. We had pre-paid our breakfast for the week. The breakfast crew did manage to successfully ignore us a couple of times, so never got coffee. Went to the buffet, ate and left. The food in the buffet was good.

One thing I didn't care for is there was music playing all the time in the open air restaurant and bar area, often competing with music playing along the boardwalk. It would have been nice to sit and listen to the ocean.

Room Tip: Our temporary room was on the ocean side. It was ok except for the perpetual music and I was REALLY...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GeenaMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
165 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

We had an excellent 8 days at the Holland House. Right on the boardwalk next to the beach.
Rooms are big enough, bathrooms even more spacious. We were at the 4th floor, no noise at all and a great sea view!
Clean rooms and excellent beds, almost as good as at home.
Friendly and helpful staff at the reception, who arranged for a ferry transfer and car rental during our stay.
The private beach, including chairs and service (if you like to have a drink or lunch) was excellent.
Note: as soon as the cruise ships leave port (around 6 pm) the village of Philipsburg will be almost empty and all shops will close. During the evening, there is not much going on.
Most restaurants will stay open till 9 pm, so an early diner is recommended.
The hotel restaurant serves great food for lunch (inside or at the beach) and diner. Note: it is a bit pricey. Breakfast was also OK.

Room Tip: Request for a sea view room on the 3rd or 4th floor to enjoy the nice view over the bay and see all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KristaTheNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Philipsburg
2.5 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#1 of 7 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
5.9 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
0.8 mi away
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
2.8 mi away
Oyster Bay Beach Resort
Oyster Bay Beach Resort
#2 of 7 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holland House Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holland House Beach Hotel

Property: Holland House Beach Hotel
Address: Frontstreet 45, Philipsburg, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Philipsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Philipsburg
#1 Romantic Hotel in Philipsburg
#4 Family Hotel in Philipsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holland House Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located, right on the beach in downtown Philipsburg, the Holland House offers great charm, a unique ambiance and a rich Caribbean experience. Meet the friendly Islanders, relax and enjoy all that St. Maarten has to offer. The hotel is also located on Front Street, where you will find the best shops and boutiques on the island, all still Duty Free! The Hotel offers 54 rooms and suites all recently renovated, an award winning restaurant and wine cellar, a beautiful outdoor lounge deck and a magnificent beach right in front of the hotel with personal and attentive service. It's great to be here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, West Indies, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Holland House Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holland Hotel Beach
Holland Beach
Holland House Beach Hotel St. Maarten-St. Martin/Philipsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing