We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Recently renovated hotel in a perfect location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holland House Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holland House Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Philipsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
236 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Recently renovated hotel in a perfect location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

The hotel has a perfect location on the first street where all the shops are and the back to the boardwalk of Great Bay. The rooms are renovated and very clean. I got a very nice king size bed with very comfortable pillows. Not the best beach in the island but very clean with comfortable beach chairs. you can take advantage to order drinks from the hotel bar while in the beach.

The hotel has an excellent restaurant (ocean lounge) that serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. Food is quite expensive but very tasty. They have a good selection of starters, main dishes and desert as well as good wines.

The hotel is around 20 min from the airport (with no traffic) and taxi fare is around 20 USD. To take a taxi to the boat ferry to Pinel island is around 30 USD and the taxi to Marigot is around 20 USD. If you take a taxi from french to dutch side will always be more expensive as the fares are in euros.

There is no pool, gym or spa in this hotel. However you could use the spa in Divi little bay resort. Taxi charges 8 USD and it takes 7 min to get there.

Some inconvenients: There was a problem on the balcony door that didn't open. Since I was staying for a few days, I didn't bother to report the problem. The front desk was not very helpful on finding me a boat trip. Anyway it was not their fault that boat trips run only when there are cruises around and the city is pretty much dead on Sunday.

Room Tip: Tip1: the street view room is pretty much the same size as the ocean view room. Unless the view is i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank viajero2203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    292
    49
    29
    16
See reviews for
73
379
34
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Half Moon Bay, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

We have never been crazy about the Dutch side of the island but this place may have changed our mind. Huge room overlooking a great beach (complete with lounge chairs, unbrellas and nice young men who cheerfully deliver cocktails). The restaurant and bar are first class - GREAT food and excellent service. The hotel has a euro vibe and a hip look with patio seating and a great sound system. AND they have a wine cellar with a really great selection of international wines - included some from California. You don't even need a car - walking to great restaurants and shopping is easy. LOVED IT>

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MizFlint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, TN
Level Contributor
292 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

We had a group of 6 stay at the Holland House for one night, while waiting for a flight over to St Barths the next morning. My husband and I have stayed there one other time and found it to be very nice. It is located in the downtown area of Philipsburg and very close to all the shopping and outdoor market. You will have to take a taxi from the airport, which is about a 20 minute drive...IF the traffic is not too bad. If you hit it at rush hour...expect a much longer cab ride. Once you reach the hotel, you will find the front of the hotel very unassuming, but once you enter into the open air lobby, you get a completely different feel for the place. The view out back is wonderful of the beach and the lobby bar is right there. Outside there is also a great area to just sit..have a drink and kick back. The rooms are very nice with wooden floors and comfortable beds. The rooms are done up rather European-like...with more basic furniture and more sparcely decorated room..but still very nice and clean. The room we were in had a tub rather than a shower, which was a little dicey to shower in. You have to have pretty good footing while getting in and out. Don't try this after sitting at the bar for awhile! :) The entire group decided to sit outside and enjoy drinks until dinner time and found the waiter and waitress to be absolutely wonderful. Once dinner time came around, we stepped over to the Holland House restaurant, which also faced the beach...for a wonderful dinner. They have one of the best caesar salads I have ever had. Again..the staff was wonderful. In fact, the staff all over the hotel...from the front lobby to the maid service were really great. We enjoyed our one night at the Holland House and would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gldnpupper27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willemstad, Curacao
Level Contributor
115 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

This is the place to be in the city. You can shop til you drop. On the back there is the beach and sea where you can swim. enjoyable atmosphere. The promonade is on the back where you can make a nice stroll. Good staff and nice bar to have a drink. Great location for the breakfast. Parking may be a problem however we were allowed to park on the front (but I think that is an expection). Rooms are clean and large but take the beachview room as it has a wonderful view! At night the surroundings are quiet though. Restaurants are closed (but you can eat in the hotel). At night it is better to drive or take a taxi to Maho where there is nightlife and great restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Curtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

Although we did not stay at this hotel, we were regular guests in their loungebar/terrace, and the service was excellent. The waiter and waitresses were all very friendly, and because we were there almost every day we got a free cocktail. The customers were very nice too and we got to meet a lot of nice people. I would certainly recommend to have a nice cocktail in the bar.
We had a great time all over the island of St Maarten and all different nationalities mix very well,
and we could not have met any more nice people anywhere..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DublinHennie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

Located in the center of the shopping strip the Hotel provides easy walking access for shopaholics to local stores as well as high end stores as Cartier, Colombia Emeralds etc, while the "allergic to shopping" can sit back and relax in one of the most turquoise colored beaches. Don't be in a rush to get in and out of the Hotel via car--traffic in the downtown areas during working hours in St Maarten is slow and laid back as "dont worry, be happy--you will get there when you get there"...Recently redone, rooms are elegantly zen simple. Everyone is Island friendly.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jaime M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basseterre, St. Kitts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

I had to attend a family event in St. Maarten and decided to stay at this hotel due to its prime location. After visiting the website and could not get to book the room, I called and was not disappointed. The receptionist was not only friendly but very informed. I was unable to book online due to the fact that there are a certain number which they available for that purpose. So, I got to stay. Me, my mother and 2 sons stayed for two nights. We were allowed an early check in which was great. The room was not quite ready so we went for breakfast at the restaurant. Breakfast was tasty. The setting of the restaurant was very relaxing and the oceanview spectacular!!!! The room was well appointed and spacious. The beds, as my eldest son said, were the most comfortable ever!!!!! Lounging at the bar is a must. The Holland House did not disappoint me at all. I selected this property based on location only and I was pleasantly surprised. Oh! there was also complimentary breakfast!!! nice touch!!! This included both buffet and kitchen items. I will not hesitate to stay here again. For its location, it was great!!! Truly an oasis in the city..

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chadol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Philipsburg
2.5 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#1 of 7 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
5.9 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
0.8 mi away
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
2.8 mi away
Oyster Bay Beach Resort
Oyster Bay Beach Resort
#2 of 7 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holland House Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holland House Beach Hotel

Property: Holland House Beach Hotel
Address: Frontstreet 45, Philipsburg, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Philipsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Philipsburg
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Philipsburg
#4 Family Hotel in Philipsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holland House Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located, right on the beach in downtown Philipsburg, the Holland House offers great charm, a unique ambiance and a rich Caribbean experience. Meet the friendly Islanders, relax and enjoy all that St. Maarten has to offer. The hotel is also located on Front Street, where you will find the best shops and boutiques on the island, all still Duty Free! The Hotel offers 54 rooms and suites all recently renovated, an award winning restaurant and wine cellar, a beautiful outdoor lounge deck and a magnificent beach right in front of the hotel with personal and attentive service. It's great to be here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, West Indies, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Holland House Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holland Hotel Beach
Holland Beach
Holland House Beach Hotel St. Maarten-St. Martin/Philipsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing