We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Fun and Exciting Day” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of America's Cup Yacht Racing

America's Cup Yacht Racing
Book In Advance
More Info
$95.00*
and up
St. Maarten 12 Metre Challenge
Ranked #6 of 54 Tours in Philipsburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Visitors can participate in a mini-America's Cup boat race in actual boats from the 1987 competition, including Dennis Conner's famous Stars & Stripes.
Kissimmee, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Fun and Exciting Day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

This was the highlight of the day, were were staying on the Island for a few days and the race was the best sailing adventures we have ever taken. Some of the jobs on the boat are easier than others M. y wife was the time keeper and our friend was the bartendar.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Candy20010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    432
    39
    15
    6
    12
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
chicago
Level Contributor
248 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“The best excursion ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

This was hands down the best excursion I have ever been on and the best value for your money. We were cruising to celebrate my husbands birthday so he got to pick our excursion and when he picked this I was petrified. I was a nervous wreck but ended up having a terrific time and I would do it again in a heart beat. I would highly recommend taking an active roll when you are given the choice. I was a grinder and my husband was handling the ropes at the back of the boat. It made you truly feel like you were contributing and not just a bystander. The crew was terrific and very knowledgable and I learned a lot while I was having fun!
We had several people in our boat that have taken this excursion numerous times because it's just so much fun!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank AKjazzj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norristown, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Excursion”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

I was recently in Cozumel on a cruise and booked the 12 Metre Yacht Race. It was so much fun. The crew (Captain Tom, Danny, and Andre) were great! They were funny, friendly, and patient teaching those participating in sailing the boat. (I had never sailed before.) I was lucky and sailed on Dennis Connor's Stars and Stripes. After the race, there was time to sail around for a bit and just enjoy the yacht & water. This just might have been my favorite excusion! I will definitely sail again.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosiek94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best thing to do on the island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

After a brief introduction to The America's Cup history we were split into teams. If you are lady that DOESN'T want to be the team captain, don't look like it. Then off to the boats to learn your job, and off to race. Free water, sod, or beer on board the boats after the race. It was well worth it.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank Brett H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Experience of a lifetime!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

Our family of five (49, 44, 17, 16, 16) sailed on True North in St. Maarten, beating Stars and Stripes in our race. We had a great time. There are more people than jobs, but they switched us up so everyone got a turn. It was not as fast or exhillerating as we'd anticipated -- there were definitely times the boat went really slow ... Overall, though, it was very enjoyable and we all had a great time. Our hobbies and activities haven't ever provided a chance to learn about sailing and America's Cup, so this was an experience of a lifetime. I hope we have an opportunity to do this again. I would strongly recommend it to everyone -- especially if you have a large group. NOTE: There are drinks on the boat, and rum punch back at the dock. You will not need a swimsuit or towel -- but I can see how you could get a little wet. They'll put your bag, etc. in a spot to keep it dry. Bring some cash for tipping your crew. T-shirts and photos are available back at the dock.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed America's Cup Yacht Racing also viewed

Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Philipsburg, Sint Maarten
 

Been to America's Cup Yacht Racing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing