We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Little Bay Beach

Little Bay Beach
Book In Advance
More Info
$200.00*
and up
Sightseeing Cruise to Anguilla from St Maarten
Ranked #4 of 54 things to do in Philipsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
56 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Wonderful Beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed at Belair Beach Hotel which is right on Little Bay Beach. The water is a delightful azure blue and the sand is nice and soft. My husband goes in and swims back and forth between the rock enclosures for an hour or more at least twice every day. I love swimming but can't keep up with him. Even when we stay at another resort, we still come over to Little Bay Beach to swim. Oh and going out on the jet ski is a must for him at little bay beach(I watch and take pictures). The waves are calm and the beach is peaceful and quiet.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Louise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    367
    171
    33
    13
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Atmosphere can be more than you bargained for!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

I like to rank beaches on atmosphere, as sand and water tend to be trivial comparisons to me. The sand and water are nice here, however. The locals operate chairs and umbrellas here and you literally have to walk almost the full length of the beach to find suitable real estate if you're not going to use them. We tried setting up shop in front of some with our own stuff and got chased off. It was VERY frustrating. Once we found a suitable stop a mile down the beach, we were approached with offers for illicit drugs by a local. Awesome! NOT!!! That sure does make you feel safe. Beach isn't exceptionally wide either, so you're pretty close to the streets/shopping area, which is very crowded and rather dumpy in my opinion. This ended up being a miserable day/experience for us. Wish we would've paid the ridiculous cab fee to just go over to the French side and Orient Beach, which I heard is way better and safer!!!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank KGosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great beach - peaceful and quiet!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

This beach is shared between the Belair Beach Hotel and the Divi Little Bay resort. Calm waves and peaceful, quiet and uncrowded.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ConradM5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston SC
Level Contributor
88 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great little bay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

For a small bay it has areas with waves and sandy beaches and other parts with calm water and great snorkeling. Head on out to the floating dock/bar and snorkel around the sunken things... we don't want to give all the surprises away

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank imagineakumal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect Beach!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

Crystal clear water, gentle waves, white sand...what more can any beach goer ask for? Little Bay also has great snorkeling and diving. I also recommend sitting down for lunch and a few drinks at Divi Little Bay's beach side restaurants.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lora T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little Bay Beach also viewed

Philipsburg, Sint Maarten
Sint Maarten, St. Maarten-St. Martin
 
Philipsburg, Sint Maarten
Maho, Sint Maarten
 

Been to Little Bay Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing