We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best tour ever!”
Review of Pirate Tours

Pirate Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Explore St Maarten/Saint Martin in a modern day Pirate Tours Speedboat that rips through the water with grace, style and comfort. The Captain will navigate the blue Caribbean waters to explore the beautiful beaches and reefs that both the Dutch and French sides of the island have to offer. Come seek the hidden treasures and jewels of the Caribbean with us. The Pirate Tour trip provides a boat excursion that is not just sightseeing the island of St.Maarten and Saint Martin, we also bring you to Creole Rock and Tintamarre, only reachable by boat. There you will get the opportunity to sun on the white sand beach or strap on your fins and mask to snorkel with the green and hawksbill turtles native to this Caribbean paradise. Once hunted close to extinction, Tintamarre is now part of the St.Martin Nature Reserve and we ask that you not “ride the turtle” as we wish to preserve the beauty and serenity of the area. Fins, Mask and Snorkel are supplied by the boat but feel free to bring your own if you have the equipment. Lunch, Drinks & transportation Included This trip departs every day at 10:00 a.m. returns at 4:00 p.m. from Waterplay Marina in Philipsburg.
Matthews, North Carolina
1 review
“Best tour ever!”
Reviewed February 5, 2014

My husband and I have been on the island for 11 days for our honeymoon. This tour lead by captain Chris was by far the best day we had here! He is so knowledgable about everywhere we went, and was so much fun! We had about 7 other people with us, so it was very comfortable, not overwhelming or crowded. He supplied us with beverages all day on the boat, lunch on an amazing beach , all included with our tour. We had the opportunity to snorkel at two different locations, where we saw sea turtles and beautiful tropical fish. I will absolutely take this tour every time we come back to our time share in St Maarten! Thank you for an amazing day captain Chris!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ashley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    224
    5
    3
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Captain Chris your the best”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

this tour is a must do , you get the biggest bang for your buck , we had an awesome time and will be back next year, Make sure to ask for Capt Chris , he made our trip the best, Thanks Chris

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank muskokagold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunset Beach. NC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hold on to your hats!”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Great high speed trip around St. Maarten but hold on to your hats and belongings. Snorkel with the turtles, eat a world class creole lunch, snorkel with the eels, stop on Pinel Beach and see airplanes landing and taking off within a few feet from the boat. Exciting and exhilarating adventure at high speed!!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Seahorse_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swartz Creek, Michigan
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best Tour Ever”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Just got back from the Tour, my second time. We had Captain Tyrell, and he showed us a great time. This is by far the best tour for the buck. You meet at 9:30 and done at 3:30. Much is experienced and the best lunch ever. I ordered ribs again and they were scrumptious. ! We were a party of 5 and there were 12 on the boat. Ages went from 7 or 8 to the mid 50's. We snorkeled with Sea turtles, and saw many different kinds of fish at 3 different stops. You only need to bring your sun screen, and a bathing suit, and money as you do stop at an island with a very cool shop, and it is great to end the trip with a nice tip for the captain.
Got a lot interesting history also. I would highly recommend, but it fills up fast, so book ahead.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorhees, New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Had a great day!”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Climb on the Pirate Tour and hold on tight! This was a great day with a great guide. As the other reviews caution, the boat (which has nothing to do with pirates, by the way) is a high-speed powerboat that does about 55 mph at points. You will find yourself holding on for dear life and bouncing up and down. You (and your camera and clothes) will get wet! (But your guide can put everything in the hold that you need to keep dry.) The speed allows the tour to cover a lot of ground during the day. We started with a quick tour then on to Tintemarre Island. We snorkeled there, but, unfortunately, there were very few turtles. We then headed to Pinel Island for a quick stop of this tranquil and beautiful island. Then on to Creole Rock for more snorkeling. Our next stop was in Grand Case, where we lunched at a scenic little restaurant (Enold's?) on the beach. We then headed back to Phillipsburg, with a tour of the high-end properties in the Lowlands and a quick stop near the airport in Maho to watch the planes take off.

A word about the high speed and bouncing: as a group of four near-60 year-olds, we enjoyed the ride. However, be warned that anyone with back problems should think twice about taking this ride.

Our guide/captain/waiter was Fab, a young French native. He pointed out all the highlights, told us a few local stories and gave us all a great experience. There were only about 11 of us on the boat, so it was much more personal. (As an aside, he also featured a great selection of classic rock on the sound system.) He was extremely accommodating and a great host.

A warning: there is no bathroom on the boat, so make sure you take advantage of the facilities on Pinel and in Grand Case.)

Perhaps the only negative about the day was the "bar" on the boat. This consisted of beer, water and soda. For those who do not favor beer, there's not much to drink. No wine, no rum punch, nothing.

We had a great time on the Pirate Tour. If you're okay with the speed and bouncing, it will be the highlight of your St. Maarten trip.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank 4Jersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pirate Tours also viewed

Philipsburg, Sint Maarten
Philipsburg, Sint Maarten
 
Philipsburg, Sint Maarten
Philipsburg, Sint Maarten
 

Been to Pirate Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing