We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tamarind Hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Philipsburg
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Sea Palace Resort(Philipsburg)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Belair Beach Hotel(Philipsburg)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
L'Esperance Hotel(Philipsburg)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (63)
Filter reviews
63 results
Traveler rating
27
17
8
5
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
27
17
8
5
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswimming poolsint maartenunitsislandstudio
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 63 reviews
Reviewed December 23, 2010

I stayed at Tamarind hotel for one month in November.

I will list why I thought it was a bad experience:

1) My room was next to a hen house with roosters vaking me up at 4'o clock every morning!!!! The manager didn't tell me this before I moved in, she knew the problem however and offered me to be released from my lease afterwards, which I found a quite ridiculous behavior.

2) It is situated in a container harbour. Even though it looks very pictoresque on the website the surroundings are quite dirty and it is necessary to have a car to go to Philipsburg as there are nothing in Pointe Blanche.

3) It took 3 days to get back the deposit deducted utilities even though it should be a simple procedure.

3) The water did not work on several occasions and the bathroom shower was broken

4) The rooms were only cleaned once a week even though there is a 20 % surcharge for room cleaning.

5) If you wanted internet in your room you had to pay 4 $ dollars per hour and rent a modem from the hotel.

Overall not a hotel I would recommend to anyone as it costed 1130 $ for one montth in a really small studio including all the problems described above.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bagarme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul I, Manager at Tamarind Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2015

In 2011 the current management took over, things have been steadily improving for the better as you can see from the more recent positive comments.

Sincerely

The Tamarind hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2010

My husband and I and our two children (3 and 1) were looking for a long stay apartment in St Maarten which was affordable, centrally located and good for kids. When we first arrived the apartment had not been cleaned and there were cigerette butts and empty beer bottles everywhere. All the beds were dirty and the towels had all been used. We advised the front desk and the cleaners were there in under an hour. We rented a 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom apartment. Unfortuantely the way the hotel is set up there is a horseshoe shapped section and then another straight section. The straight section at the end was where we had our apartment. There was a chicken coop right outside our windows. The roosters crowed most of the day starting at 4:30am. You do get used to the roosters after a few days, but it is something I wish I had known when I booked. If you were staying in the horseshoe shapped part you would have been alright. Another thing to note is there are lots of misquitos here, all the time from what the locals told us. Luckily I had packed repellant for us. The apartments are all fitted with a fridge, a cook top and a microwave - no oven. Upon arrival our microwave and exhaust fan were both not working as well as the radio. We informed front desk and they replaced the microwave and fan within a day or two. The owners were very accomodating and most requests were met with good humour and grace (sink stopper, broom etc). There is a pool at the hotel. A few days it was yucky looking (greenish and not clear at all) but most days it was fine. The hotel is also a residence to some locals and there were always lots of kids around for my daughter to play with, which was nice. The bathroom was a little run down, but everything worked fine. The hotel is located just outside Phillipsburg on the far side of the harbour. The issue with this is that every time you want anything (from a pint of milk, to a paper, to head out to the beach) is that you have to drive by the port (which hosts up to 5 cruise ships each and every day). The closest beach was in Phillipsburg but this beach was definately not the nicest and I think we only ever went there once and not into the water. We liked Orient Beach, Dawn Beach and Simpsons Bay by Marys' Boon. To get to Simpsons Bay and the beaches on the west of the island you have to drive through Phillipsburg and Simpsons Bay which can take anywhere from 40 minutes and up. Traffic on the island is terrible. If you head north to Orient Beach it is about a 20-25 minute drive. To stay at this hotel a rental car is a MUST. There is internet access at the front desk and laundry, but that is all for the facilities.

Overall the hotel staff was accomodating, the rooms clean (cleaned weekly and linens changed), the value could not be beat but renter beware and I can not stress enough to ask for a room AWAY FROM THE CHICKEN COOPS.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank canada098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul I, Manager at Tamarind Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2015

In 2011 the current management company took over what was then a fading tamarind, now in 2015 the hotel as well as the area has so much more to offer, many rooms have been renovated and within 2 minutes walking distance there are now 3 supermarkets, within 10 minutes walk a Chinese restaurant and a very decent sea food orientated restaurant called Chesterfields. We consider the Tamarind to be in the higher end of the budget accommodation market. We are not pretending to be something we are not, what we offer is good decent, safe accommodation with free parking, free wifi, and 24hr desk and security.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2016, traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2015, traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: Nenhuma dica nesse sentido.
  • Stayed: December 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews