We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tamarind Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort(Philipsburg)(Great Value!)
$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
L'Esperance Hotel(Philipsburg)(Great Value!)
$145
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$70
$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Vicky's Keys(Philipsburg)(Great Value!)
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pasanggrahan Royal Guesthouse(Philipsburg)(Great Value!)
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alicia's Inn(Philipsburg)(Great Value!)
$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$65
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Internet
Holland House Beach Hotel(Philipsburg)(Great Value!)
$215
$201
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (63)
Filter reviews
63 results
Traveler rating
27
17
8
5
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
27
17
8
5
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswimming poolsint maartenunitsislandstudio
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 63 reviews
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We lived in SXM for 6 yrs. I spent the last month at the Tamarind with 3 children as a little vaca before leaving. My only regret is not doing it sooner.
It is a relaxed atmosphere. A real family place that didn't feel hotelish. More like a little community. We loved it. It is close enough to the action of town without being far enough away to have the peace.
The room was a 1 bed, basic but with everything you need. Clean and comfortable. The staff were easy going and helpful and friendly. My kids had a blast and loved having a pool. I can't think of anything negative. It was an awesome time. Thank you Tamarind staff for making our last month in SXM one we will never forget. Oner day we hope to be back and will be running to The Tamarind:)

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travellers5forever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Just returned from a short break, 10 days, at The Tamarind, the booking was made at short notice and unfortunately the only room available was back onto the farm with the cockerel. However, this room, 12, must have better glazing than the others I've stayed in as I was not woken once by the cockerel. Barking dogs also seem to have lost their voices, even decided to use the balcony for a couple of really relaxing days, so peaceful. The improvement that Paul is putting in place are also making a difference. Hope to be back in St Maarten in November, and it will be to the Tamarind.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed here, due to an unexpected stay on St. Maarten, after our flight to Saba couldn't land there due to dangerous wind conditions. With the Regatta in town, we couldn't stay nearer the airport but we were very happy with this hotel. Small room with an even smaller bathroom, but also kitchenette, and everything was very clean, and the bed was comfortable. The grounds looked beautiful, but we didn't have much time to enjoy them.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank stork90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

My third year at the Tamarind in a 1bdrm apt on the ground floor with a basically equiped kitchen.Some units are owned by individuals who rent them on long term basis ..monthly or more, or short term. Best deal is monthly. A few of us return every year so it is great to visit with familiar people around the pool. It is a quiet place as there is no restaurant or bar on site. There are neighbourhood dogs that do bark & roosters that crow in the early morning. Some people use machines that make white noise to help them sleep.
It is 5min walk to the pier where the cruise ships dock & another 15 to downtown Philipsburg where there is shopping, restaurants, swimming, & casinos. As there are many beaches, restaurants, grocery stores renting a car is a good idea. The staff, Paul & Henny will suggest rental agencies. They are very helpful & welcoming as are the security staff. I always feel safe there so I had no concerns as I travelled solo this year.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dianne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

I stayed at the Tamarind Hotel for the 2nd time from mid Jan to mid Mar 2012 & willL return again in Feb 2013 because it is very affordable especially on long term basis. It is not on the water but is within walking distance to Philipsburg -shopping,restaurants,beach. Location makes exploring the island easy. The grounds surrounding the pool have many lush & beautiful bushes, flowers, & trees. Staff are friendly & helpful. The one bdrm I stay in has a street outside & is a little noisy with morning traffic but other wise is quiet. The unit has fridge, microwave, hot plate & kitchen essentials. There are laundry facilities on site. If you need action this is not the place for you as it is quiet & relaxing. Looking forward to returning in Feb.

Room Tip: if stairs are difficult ask for a ground floor unit
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Dianne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews