We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“unsure of the negative reviews”
Review of Sea Palace Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sea Palace Resort
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Philipsburg
Covington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“unsure of the negative reviews”
Reviewed March 24, 2012

with the addition of the boardwalk, the sea palace stands as the premier hotel/condo on the waterfront. many have given dismal reviews. i have found that the sea palace stands equal with all of the surrounding commerce. what sets them apart is the service and sincere friendliness of the staff. i will include alex, joe and myra, yes the front street closes around six pm when the ships pull out but the overall atmosphere of the island and the locals is friendly. say hello and walk around to see how they live, ride the bus, wish them good day. blend in and your vacation will be phenomenal. visit and eat at the lolo's in grand case. take a tour with happy herald. shop for groceries at the local market,off Back Street). there is so much to do that doesn't cost a lot. again, the location cannot be beat, staff is great. the timeshare owners care about the sea palace. say hey to les and irene, wonderful people to talk to and know the island. check out the pictures.

Room Tip: if you can get 501, 502 or 503, balconies without roofs and oceanview. great neighbors
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank mark59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    74
    45
    22
    22
See reviews for
56
87
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Erlanger, Kentucky
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

My husband and I just returned from St. Maarten we stayed at the Sea Palace through our Plan with Tan timeshare. Best location on Great Bay area. Everyone at Sea Palace was very nice Joe will go out of his way to do anything to help you. You must go to the Greenhouse down by where the ships come in happy hour from 4-7 1/2 off appt 2 for 1 drinks also great food!! We had breakfast at Harbour View twice not a great looking place but the food was good. If you want to go to Simpson Bay or Maho Beach take the bus (van) they run all day until 10pm only 1.50 to 2.00 dollars each way. If you like to have a drink Guavaberry Pina Colada is a must.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank mojo531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2012

We asked them to set up an appointment for SCUBA diving; three days later they approached me wanting to know what I wanted to know. They had a detailed piece of paper I wrote with what I wanted to know about each SCUBA shop. I told them my cousin got it arranged for me 2 days ago.

Service - They did our laundry. The housekeeper did a wonderful job.

We had a room facing the ocean; we liked it. Ot was quite spacious.

One night they blared music for the locals to enjoy.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KathleenFras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binghamton, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2012

Used some points to book a studio & my Platinum RCI membership upgraded us to a 1 bedroom ocean front aptartment with terrace. (no extra charge) Beautiful view of the beach as well as cruise ships coming & going. Staff very friendly, rooms nice & clean, all appliances worked, Master bedroom had ample closets, tv, private bathroom with a bidet, overhead fan, & air conditioner. Living area had bathroom, full kitchen with proper amount of dishes, glasses, utensils, fridge, stove top, microwave, toaster, etc. Relatively new furniture included 2 pull out sofas, chairs, dining table, 4 chairs, 2 stools tv, & air conditioner. Sliding door opened to ocean view terrace, about 6'x15', big enough to hold the 2 chaises & 2 chairs that were provided. Bonus-Howard Chiu, the manager of the Chinese restaurant attached to the resort, rented us a parking space across the street for the week ($50). That is a great deal. There is a 30' wide concrete walkway abutting the beach that goes from the resort all the way to the port, probably more than a mile long, which provided a perfect venue for walking, jogging, bicycling, etc. Beach towels, as well as umbrellas & beach chairs, were complimentary to guests of the resort. Nice perk. Couldn't find a decent bakery, U.S. type milk, or grocery store in Phillipsburg so we drove to the Grand Marche on the way to Simpson Bay for our needs. They have just about everything we needed. Serafina's bakery in Marigot was a 10 minute drive & definitely worth it. The best pastries on the island. Great for coffee, breakfast & lunch. Traffic going toward Simpson Bay can be a problem because of a large pothole that caused a ridiculous backup. Hopefully, they'll have it fixed soon. Our favorite restaurant this year was Le Moulin Fou behind Cheri's Cafe in Maho. Superb! if you like creole, try Rosemary's for goat stew, oxtail, fish, etc. It's attached to the outdoor market in Marigot. Fun & good. We will return to the Sea Palace anytime.

Room Tip: Ocean front apartments are the 1 bedrooms. The room numbers are 01, 02, 03, as in 201, 302, etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank john b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2011

Needs updating. There are a few rooms facing the ocean that may be okay the room that we stayed faced roof tops, the balcony was screened in with no view and if you rent a car you are on your own to find parking and there is very little. Toilet leaked and TV did not work on arrival but was fixed by the staff. The location is good with access to shops and restaurants on boardwalk. The staff was nice and helpful with easy access to the beach, water is cloudy as I found with much of the island was unable to find good beach snorkeling. I traded a time share for the sea palace but did not receive an equal value. Would not stay again .

Room Tip: if you stay get a room facing the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Leo1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Philipsburg hotels

Albany, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

The Sea Palace has a great Caribbean feel to it. It doesn't have a pool. But who needs a pool when you have the ocean! We have a pool home, so thats not a big deal to us. We spend most of our time at the beach or exploring all of the wonderful beaches on the island. There is so much to see on the island. On Monday Happy Harold will take you on a tour of the island for a very low price. He makes it so much fun!! This is a must do! The staff is the most wonderful & friendly staff you could ask for! The Pink Pearl always has great meals!
It's not the most exquisite timeshare but it's clean and has everything we need to make us happy! We look forward to our stay every year at the Sea Palace! It's our home away from home! You can't beat the view and location! As far as someone stating the housekeeping was not up to par....NOT TRUE! They take out the garbage EVERY day. They change your sheets and towels as stated in the book that they give you explaining when things are done. If you need clean towels, just ask. We have never had a problem with the housekeeping and we've never seen any bugs. Just remember when you read these reviews, there are people out there that NOBODY can please and are always complaining!!They could probably find problems at a 5 star resort as well. Lighten up and enjoy your vacation at the Sea Palace!
We just booked our flights for our upcoming trip and once again VERY excited to get to "our island"!

Room Tip: rooms with -01 -02 or -03 at the end are ideal
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank goodpenny22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Milford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2011

Where to begin???

Rooms need updating badly, bathrooms dirty and falling apart. The bed we slept on killed my back. We stayed 2 nights and had to find other accommodations. It's a shame because the staff was helpful and friendly. The beach area was beautiful, but we had our kids with us and the hotel is not in the best area of town. We moved to another resort.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Philipsburg
0.4 mi away
Holland House Beach Hotel
Holland House Beach Hotel
#1 of 12 in Philipsburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pasanggrahan Royal Guesthouse
Pasanggrahan Royal Guesthouse
#5 of 12 in Philipsburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sea View Beach Hotel
Sea View Beach Hotel
#9 of 12 in Philipsburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
2.6 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#2 of 8 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
0.8 mi away
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Palace Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Palace Resort

Property: Sea Palace Resort
Address: Front St 147, Philipsburg, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Location: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Philipsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Philipsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea Palace Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Sea Palace Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Palace Philipsburg
Hotel Sea Palace
Sea Palace Resort St. Maarten-St. Martin/Philipsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing