We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic location, we loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sea Palace Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sea Palace Resort
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Philipsburg
California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Fantastic location, we loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

If you are use to 5 star accommodations, being served with a silver spoon etc this may not be the place for you. Let others who just want to have fun make the reservations at the Sea Palace. If you want friendly, nice and accommodating staff, have a wonderful view and a great location this is your place. Joe and his staff will do their best to make your vacation the Best. The Sea Palace is what St Maarten was before all of us tourist found the island. There are newer more modern properties on the island. We have stayed at them and can assure you that your visit at the Sea Palace will be great. The rooms are very comfortable, nicely decorated and clean (not a Caribbean bug in sight). The staff is very friendly and helpful. There is a Chinese restaurant in the hotel. Not great food but it fills a hole. Just turn left at the front door of the hotel and there is more shopping and casinos than you can imagine. Watch the sail boats and cruise ships float by from your room. There is something for everyone in St Maarten.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ninad42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    73
    45
    22
    22
See reviews for
54
86
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montes Claros, Brazil
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2011

Sea Palace Hotel is well located, in Philipsburg capital of the Dutch side of the island. Maybe this was the best feature of the place.
The very first impression of the hotel (not a resort at all) was very unpleasant. The main entrance is not very charming and there are big red and shinning letters from the Chinese restaurant, which shares the space with the hotel (it is from a third part). It’s odd…
The room was old as well as the furniture. However, it was very complete with all necessary items to spend the week. The hotel there is no swimming pool, breakfast, restaurant onsite or parking lot. In my opinion these was really faulty.
Neighborhood is ok for shopping. Lots of boats programs leave from there and the beach is really nice. However, do not go out by yourself after 7pm. It is not a very safe area. Call for a cab.
The best of the hotel is the location. The staff was friendly and helpful.
I would definitely come back to St. Maarten, however, not in Sea Palace.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbpsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Philipsburg hotels

Norristown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2011

We booked through our TAN travel club and arrived alittle early. The staff held our luggage for us so we could explore the Boardwalk & beach. Our room was ready at the scheduled checkin time and were given our room key, lockbox for valueables and advised on securing our rooms and belongings when out or at night and settled in. Our room overlooked Front Str. but luckily we had the eastern corner of the 4th floor and still had a nice view of Great Bay (ocean). We ate at the Chinese restaurant on the first floor "Pink Pearl" and it was very good! After our first night we inquired about a different (firmer) bed do to a touchy lower back. The next day we returned from a walk on the beach to find the staff delivering a new bed!!!! "Outstanding" Monday's activity meeting was a big plus and we highly recommend "Happy Harold's Island Tour" as well as the Prickly Pear catamaran trip.
Captain Jack's Beach Bar & Grill was our second home during our stay too "check-it-out" ""There's alot more to St. Maarten then air-traffic over Maho Beach"" So explore!!!!!!

Room Tip: Secure your valueables in the lockbox, deadbolt
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank skulduggerypub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Mill, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2011

We stayed at the Sea Palace in February. Had a great time on the island. The hotel is not particularly fancy. A bit older, but nice enough. We stayed in room 201, which faces the beach. The view was great. I think units _01 through _03 face the beach. Others face the side or the street. Furniture in our unit was nice. Large balcony, although no privacy as there is not a wall between balconies. If you like to shop, this is the place to stay. Right in Philipsburg with all the stores, and several restaurants from which to choose. The beach is also nice. We enjoy visiting other beaches on the island, and this is where the Sea Palace can be a bit problematic. They do not have on-site parking, so moving a car and then finding a parking place when you return could be difficult. However, we talked to Howard in the Chinese food restaurant on the first floor of the hotel and he rented us a parking spot in the lot right across the street for $7 per day. Not bad, and this worked out great. Hotel has free wireless internet. Our unit had a kitchen with stove, but no dishwasher. No pool on site, but the ocean is only a few steps away. Televisions in each room. All-in-all, a decent spot, as long as you are not expecting the Ritz.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lakewalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2010

Likes: Staff is very friendly and accommodates issues ASAP. Outside of hotel is beautiful but hotel located in the middle of residential area and can be missed if driving too fast. Liked the complimentary breakfast on day one which explains all the tours. This is an opportunity to meet other guests. The evening receptionist Mr. Limbert was always very pleasant and friendly. Loved Lizy's restaurant that hosts Karaoke. Met wonderful people there and had a blast. No fault of the hotel but the beach was rough and most people spent time tanning vs. going into the water. Absolutely love the boardwalk behind the hotel and felt pretty safe my entire trip. Like that stores were in walking distance and so we were able to go grocery shopping. Love seeing the cruise ships with tourist from other countries. Taxi is $18 from airport to hotel and you can get there in about 15-20 minutes minimal traffic. I would definitely go back to St. Maarten but not stay at this hotel. It has great potential but they must take it to another level,. We returned home one day earlier that expected



Dislikes: Upon check in, I was giving a terrible room on the 5th floor were the lights, doors, phone and toilet were either broken or did not work. Requested another room the next day and was moved to the 2nd floor which was much better. I had a view and three porches but the minute I saw the roach on my bed, in the kitchen and bathroom, I knew I would not stay the entire trip. Once front desk was notified, they offered to switch my room but I declined as I had just moved the night before. I requested an exterminator which came later. I spent the entire trip sleeping either on the couch or the pull out bed in the living room. Difficult to sleep sometimes at night because of the neighbours noise or activities. WIFI does not work that well as they just installed about two weeks or so ago.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank anycher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conway, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2010

Very nice location , but sad to say it was so poorly maintained , it was diffcult to appreciate the location. The week we stayed there, we were only able to get one good night good sleep. We were not able to sleep in the main bedroom at all we had to relocate to the pull out bed in the main living area the first night at 2AM.Therfore after the first night we had to resort to the pullout bed in the main living area . The noise from neighboring units and AC units was horrible.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mgibson04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburyport, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2010

I knew in advance there was no parking at hotel, so we found a pot hole to park in down the street. Then as we unloaded the luggage a unsavory character wanted money to ensure the safety of the car. It's a rental I said and he would not get any money from me. By the end of the week we were missing two hub caps.
So the Sea Palace was dated but adequate and has a beautiful views of Great bay and the beach. The boardwalk is lined with good restaurants / bars. Front street is lined with jewelry stores etc. which reportedly offer good deals. So again the beach is beautiful but the neighborhood felt unsafe to me, especially with kids.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dkells4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Philipsburg
0.4 mi away
Holland House Beach Hotel
Holland House Beach Hotel
#1 of 12 in Philipsburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pasanggrahan Royal Guesthouse
Pasanggrahan Royal Guesthouse
#5 of 12 in Philipsburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sea View Beach Hotel
Sea View Beach Hotel
#9 of 12 in Philipsburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
2.6 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#2 of 8 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
0.8 mi away
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Palace Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Palace Resort

Property: Sea Palace Resort
Address: Front St 147, Philipsburg, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Location: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Philipsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Philipsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea Palace Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Sea Palace Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Palace Philipsburg
Hotel Sea Palace
Sea Palace Resort St. Maarten-St. Martin/Philipsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing