We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Time at Flamingo Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Flamingo Beach Resort
A TripAdvisor Member
Youngstown, Ohio
121
Reviewed July 16, 2005

Stayed here in July 2005. We were supposed to have a 1 bedroom but it was on the hill away from beach. After 2 tries we agreed to settle on a Studio instead on the top floor over looking pool and ocean. Room was very adequate for just the 2 of us. Hotel is somewhat dated but we had no real complaints. Couch was pretty beaten and AC was noisy but all appliances appeared newer and functioned fine, king size bed was firm and shower was roomy with good pressure. Pool was nice and beach was fine though no one would confuse it with Grand Cayman or Aruba. Water not as clear and underwater bottom could be steep and had numerous surprise toe breakers. Being Summer getting a Palapa or lounge chair was never a problem. Staff was for the most part friendly and helpful, especially Melissa upstairs, always a smile and eager to assist. Lots of Beaches, restaurants, casinos and shopping in the area and around the island. A car is a great help with many outlets to choose from. We used Hertz, but would skip next time. Loved The Peg Leg restaurant along with Pineapple Pete's both busy even in off season and just down the hill in Simpson Bay. Front Street in Phillipsburg was good for shopping although pretty much the std Caribbean clothes and jewlry fare. Front Street is "the place" to buy liquor though. Not sure why but prices there were not to be found elsewhere. Marigot on the French side was very pretty and good for pastries etc but shopping was pricey. Same was true for St. Barts visit. Nice to see but expensive and very quiet. I wouldn't waste a vacation day to visit St. Barts again. All in all I wouldn't say any one thing in this vacation was outstanding but we came home having had an overall nice time and both agreed we would like to return to St. Martin and the Flamingo Beach.
Oh and a good deal for staying in touch is to rent a cell phone from East Caribbean Cellular in Simpson Bay near hotel. $40 got a $50 card and the phone for a week. ~.30/min anywhere around the island and to the US. A great deal compared to any other alternative for staying in touch with those back home.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
21  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,290)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,126 - 1,132 of 1,290 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
228
Reviewed July 5, 2005

My wife and I stayed at the Flamingo from June 24, 2005 through July 4, 2005. This was our 3rd visit in three years. As usual the stay was outstanding. It is hard for us to understand why we like the Flamingo so much. We vacation 5-6 weeks per year and normally stay in private villas that are much more luxurious.

I believe that it is the combination of laid back atmosphere and the people that stay there. We have been going there around the same time and since this is a time share resort that originally sold fixed weeks, we see many of the same people when we return. That is very nice.

Regarding the property: The rooms are very nice and are scheduled to be remodeled starting in August of this year. Try to not get a room up on the hill (the rooms are actually great but you have to walk down to get to the beach) or overlooking the parking lot. All of the other rooms, regardless of suite, 1 bedroom or 2 bedroom are excellent.

The beach is beautiful, the water is calm and we swim and snorkel right off the beach every day. It is very conveniently located to restaurants, movie theaters, casinos, shopping, etc (a car is essential). We have looked at numerous other resorts on St Maarten, including the "top rated" such as La Semana, but we always return to Flamingo. It suits us perfectly.

Stayed: July 2005
25  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Marshall, Wisconsin
120
Reviewed July 5, 2005

20  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2005

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Kevin77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
New York, NY
11
Reviewed June 23, 2005

Stayed: June 2005
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Manchester England
119
Reviewed April 24, 2005

  • Stayed: January 2005
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2005

21  Thank sds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Philipsburg
0.2 mi away
The Villas at Simpson Bay Beach Resort & Marina
0.2 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
3.4 mi away
Horizon View Beach Hotel
Horizon View Beach Hotel
#7 of 12 in Philipsburg
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#1 of 8 in Oyster Pond
764 reviews
1 mi away
Mary's Boon Beach Hotel and Spa
2.6 mi away
Mercure Saint-Martin Marina & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flamingo Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Beach Resort

Address: Billy Folly Road 6 | Pelican Cay, Simpson Bay, Philipsburg 29572, St Martin / St Maarten
Location: Caribbean > St Martin / St Maarten > Sint Maarten > Philipsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Philipsburg
Price Range: $96 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Flamingo Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful white sand, sparkling blue waters, sunny skies - where else can you find all of this but in Saint Martin/Saint Maarten in the Caribbean? When you stay at Flamingo Beach Resort, you will have all of this, and more. Here you can have the most relaxing vacation of your life, or enjoy some of the many outdoor adventures in the area. If you love water sports, you can go windsurfing, swimming and snorkeling. See the scenery on horseback, or go for a hike along the many trails. You will never be bored while you are staying here, unless of course you simply want to sit back and do nothing, which you are more than welcome to do. Just imagine spending a week or longer just lying around on the beautiful beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Flamingo Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo Beach Hotel Philipsburg
Flamingo Beach Resort St Maarten
Hotel Flamingo Beach
Sunterra Flamingo Beach Resort
Flamingo Beach Resort St Martin / St Maarten/Philipsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing